We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Hygiene and very low quality food ingredients.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahdi Restaurant - CLOSED

Mahdi Restaurant
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Poor Hygiene and very low quality food ingredients.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hygiene levels are poor and primitive. The food quality is well below average with cheap ingredients used. The koobedeh kebab smells like a public toilet.
This restaurant does not serve any alcoholic beverages as they follow an Islamic ideology.
Also the buffet they have can be expressed with one word: repulsive.
The food is shockingly bad, and an embarrassment to Persian food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MasterDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    6
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you love lamb, eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect from Iranian cuisine, but I was delighted. I had a platter with a minced lamb kebab and a lamb filet kebab, which came with rice, grilled tomatoes, and salad. I had a glass of the Iranian tea as well. Everything was delicious. The decor is beautiful. You recline on embroidered cushions while you eat.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KnitterCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Would agree with previous reviewers - this place is a real hidden gem. Admittedly as a vegetarian there isn't that much choice as far as main courses go (they tend to do one daily vegetarian special) but it's testament to the quality of food and atmosphere of this place that I always try and eat here whenever I'm visiting London (plus of course you can always choose a selection of starters to have as a "mezze" main course - much more choice veggies on this part of the menu).

The food here is just delicious - you're always provided with amazing complimentary bread served with a smile and portions are really generous. The decor is gorgeous and staff are incredibly hospitable - as a lone traveller they always make the effort to chat to me and seem genuinely interested in what I've been up to and what I think of my meal.

Recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoobylouStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Persian food - lovely interior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

The beautiful interior of this restaurant along with comfortable seating makes this a bit of a hidden gem - The quality of the meat dishes (mix grill, koobideh) and the sahbzi are wonderful and good value :) Also the tea is lovely and the naan very warm and fresh :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank akeshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Different and very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Recommended by "a man in the pub" not always a good - not always the best start to any review. However, the Mahdi was a very pleasant surprise. decor was very opulent - authentic Persian? Who knows I live in North Wales! Looked good to me ;-) Menu is meaty mainly baby lamb and chicken - we had freshly cooked bread, humus and stuffed vine leaves to start - delicioso! After we decided on the mixed grill which comprised of lamb & chicken kebabs with fresh lamb chops and aromatic rice with saffron - next time I'd go for 1 portion of rice and the other I'd swap for salad otherwise there is too much rice. Tasty, plentiful and fresh - 2 coarse meal for 2 with water (no booze served here) £40.00 - not bad at all especially for London

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mahdi Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing