We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place”
Review of Mahdi Restaurant - CLOSED

Mahdi Restaurant
Cuisines: Persian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible place”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We had the worest experience ever in this restaurant, I went yesterday with my friends and it was a bit crowded but we found a table, suddenly because we had the son of my friend the welighter came and asked us to move to another table with same size for no valid reason..
Mostly this was because we had a child and the weighte was afraid to disturb other clients !!!

Helpful?
5 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    6
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant as ever”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband are regulars here and never disappointed. The mixed grill for two is enough to feed an army, and I have never been disappointed by the starters. Amazing food, quirky atmosphere, always busy - great food!

Helpful?
Thank Camultie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just Lovely - Exceed expectations”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Went for a on the way to New Years Eve Meal. The location of this restaurant just steps away from Finchley Road station made it ideal for us. The food and service were just fantastic - we totally over ordered so heed the other reviews on here around the size of the portions - there is no way you will leave this restaurant hungry. Order less and enjoy more :) All of the food was amazing whether it was kebab, stew or rice it was enjoyed by many of our party who were tasting Iranian food for the first time.And as for value for money - incredible. Why only 4 stars.... well it needs attention in the toilet to make it really lovely ! but this is a minor detail as the star by far is the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Totallycd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We went rather late for dinner, after 9 pm, maybe even closer to 10. It wasn't our original destination but we were exhausted and hungry to we took a chance. We were not disappointed. The service was good, (I know previous reviews stated otherwise). The food was delicious and the portions very generous. We were thrilled we had a microwave at our hotel, and it was better the next day!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coquija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 886 helpful votes
“Made me realize what Iranian food can be about”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to this restaurant. We didn't have very high expectations as there weren't lots of customers but we enjoyed everything. The tea was delicious and served in a beautiful teapot, the general decor was really special, the portions were huge, the prices fair and the service friendly. I was particularly pleased as I haven't had a lot of experience of Iranian food and this made me want to try more. There was no problem with us taking away some of the food we couldn't finish.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mahdi Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing