We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone should stay here at least once- will teach you to appreciate every oter hotel you have stayed in or are likely to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olympic House Hotel
Ranked #825 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everyone should stay here at least once- will teach you to appreciate every oter hotel you have stayed in or are likely to visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located very conveniently - easy walk to the tube and Paddington station. That's where the good bits end. The rooms are tiny and dark. Our room for a family of four had no room for suitcases. It was so small, that you would need to leave the room to change your mind. On a positive note, the dark room does help improve your night vision. And the tiny room facilitates family cohesion.

If you need to use an iron, it will be provided in a common passage. And when you finish, you have to hand it in to reception- in case you run away on the underground with a hot iron I suppose.

Customer service is appalling. The hotel appears to be owned by a rude couple, who do not seem concerned about repeat business; after all there is a sucker born every minute. Payment is demanded before you see the room- gee, I wonder why??? We heard the lady owner yelling at someone over the phone. I am assuming that this was her trying to promote the hotel to potential customers. Basil Fawlty would be hotelier of the year compared to this lot.

The owner sits at one end of the dining hall every morning, watching guests eat what is a very meagre breakfast. We found this quite intimidating. If you are late, you will not get a table. And you will miss out on the packaged croissants.

if you want air con, you have to pay ten pounds in advance, and it is switched on from reception. There are no temperature controls in the room. In case you run away with the remote, I suppose..

I did not look for a Gideon's bible, but you can bet that if there was one, it would have been chained to the floor.
Wifi is another ten GBP a day.

I have never experienced such joy as the day we checked out. That relief was alone worth the price of admission.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Direstraits2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    118
    110
    39
    35
See reviews for
96
100
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I should have listened to the other reviews. The hotel is in a great location but there are many other hotels in the area that are cheaper and nicer than this one. The room was dingy and tiny. It did not have coffee or tea in the room. And, when we were departing the front desk staff was yelling a guest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Carmel, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I recently spent 6 nights at the Olympic House Hotel. It is very close to Paddington Station, so close to Heathrow and tourist sites in London. Buses run nearby. Hotel is recently remodeled, public areas look fine. I stayed in a small room with a twin bed, and ensuite bath. Fine for one person. New fixtures in bath. Breakfast was adequate. No coffee service in room. Many restaurants nearby. There were families staying there. Breakfast ladies very pleasant. Front desk pleasant, too. Got the room through Hotwire, was very satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gladys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over a weekend in London. The location if very convenient as it is easy walking distance from Paddington Station. After that, there is not much going for this place. The rooms are small, free wifi is not available, and the free breakfast is probably as bad as you will get at a hotel in Europe. For the price, there are much better options in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zenon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Wasn't expecting much from this hotel, just a place to sleep for three nights, however the lack of customer service made it very un-welcoming and uncomfortable. You could not get a hello or smile from any of the people working at the front desk. They seem to be very easily overwhelmed, especially the night staff. Rooms are very small. Its clean, but with water stains on the ceiling. The mattress on the bed was horrible. The bathroom was the size of a closet. But the bottom line is if the service would have been better, we would not have complained, but it came to the point that we were thinking of checking out and going next door. The Hotel is close to the underground, but very far from everything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I suppose that it is fair to compare it with an average international standard rather than the low standards of that area.

It is not a hotel, but can be considered as an average hostel, with almost no in-room facilities. Low quality beds and linens. The room size was extremely small ( 2.5 times the size of a double bed) this means that if there are two people staying there with more than 2 pieces of luggage, they might not fit. It is barely sufficient for sleeping (horizontally ) at night .

I was given a room in the basement with the above description. The kitchen staff will start making noise at around 6 am. The doors are not sound proof and any noise outside the room will disturb.

Breakfast was a basic one. boiled eggs, butter, jam, bread, milk, coffee, cereal and juice (artificial flavoured).

The owners of this hostel have made every effort to make it cheap for them. That also includes changing the clock in the kitchen to be 15 min ahead that lets them cut from the breakfast time they promise!!

Room Tip: avoid rooms in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peyman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was satisfied to have spent 5 nights in the hotel it's clean and tidy, the stuff is good. To pay the wifi was not satisfying . Breakfast was good. It was near to most places to be seen in london just walking buses near the hotel . the service in the restaurant was good only the croissant was not fresh I didn't like

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nawal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#783 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Queensway Hotel
#858 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chrysos Hotel
#656 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
The Omega Hotel
#636 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#401 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic House Hotel

Property: Olympic House Hotel
Address: 138-140 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #825 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympic House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior tourist class hotel; located north of the Hyde Park area; within walking distance to many of London"s main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympic House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel London
Olympic House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing