We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My impression”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olympic House Hotel
Ranked #814 of 1,069 Hotels in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My impression”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for ten days it was okay close to the Paddington station and shops in Oxford street which was good for me and the room was clean although small.they need to improve on their breakfast. It was a little boring and no free wifi facilities. Will stay when next I come back to london except I find a better alternative.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    119
    111
    40
    36
See reviews for
98
102
43
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located very conveniently - easy walk to the tube and Paddington station. That's where the good bits end. The rooms are tiny and dark. Our room for a family of four had no room for suitcases. It was so small, that you would need to leave the room to change your mind. On a positive note, the dark room does help improve your night vision. And the tiny room facilitates family cohesion.

If you need to use an iron, it will be provided in a common passage. And when you finish, you have to hand it in to reception- in case you run away on the underground with a hot iron I suppose.

Customer service is appalling. The hotel appears to be owned by a rude couple, who do not seem concerned about repeat business; after all there is a sucker born every minute. Payment is demanded before you see the room- gee, I wonder why??? We heard the lady owner yelling at someone over the phone. I am assuming that this was her trying to promote the hotel to potential customers. Basil Fawlty would be hotelier of the year compared to this lot.

The owner sits at one end of the dining hall every morning, watching guests eat what is a very meagre breakfast. We found this quite intimidating. If you are late, you will not get a table. And you will miss out on the packaged croissants.

if you want air con, you have to pay ten pounds in advance, and it is switched on from reception. There are no temperature controls in the room. In case you run away with the remote, I suppose..

I did not look for a Gideon's bible, but you can bet that if there was one, it would have been chained to the floor.
Wifi is another ten GBP a day.

I have never experienced such joy as the day we checked out. That relief was alone worth the price of admission.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Direstraits2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Kirkwood, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I should have listened to the other reviews. The hotel is in a great location but there are many other hotels in the area that are cheaper and nicer than this one. The room was dingy and tiny. It did not have coffee or tea in the room. And, when we were departing the front desk staff was yelling a guest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I recently spent 6 nights at the Olympic House Hotel. It is very close to Paddington Station, so close to Heathrow and tourist sites in London. Buses run nearby. Hotel is recently remodeled, public areas look fine. I stayed in a small room with a twin bed, and ensuite bath. Fine for one person. New fixtures in bath. Breakfast was adequate. No coffee service in room. Many restaurants nearby. There were families staying there. Breakfast ladies very pleasant. Front desk pleasant, too. Got the room through Hotwire, was very satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gladys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over a weekend in London. The location if very convenient as it is easy walking distance from Paddington Station. After that, there is not much going for this place. The rooms are small, free wifi is not available, and the free breakfast is probably as bad as you will get at a hotel in Europe. For the price, there are much better options in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zenon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Wasn't expecting much from this hotel, just a place to sleep for three nights, however the lack of customer service made it very un-welcoming and uncomfortable. You could not get a hello or smile from any of the people working at the front desk. They seem to be very easily overwhelmed, especially the night staff. Rooms are very small. Its clean, but with water stains on the ceiling. The mattress on the bed was horrible. The bathroom was the size of a closet. But the bottom line is if the service would have been better, we would not have complained, but it came to the point that we were thinking of checking out and going next door. The Hotel is close to the underground, but very far from everything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I suppose that it is fair to compare it with an average international standard rather than the low standards of that area.

It is not a hotel, but can be considered as an average hostel, with almost no in-room facilities. Low quality beds and linens. The room size was extremely small ( 2.5 times the size of a double bed) this means that if there are two people staying there with more than 2 pieces of luggage, they might not fit. It is barely sufficient for sleeping (horizontally ) at night .

I was given a room in the basement with the above description. The kitchen staff will start making noise at around 6 am. The doors are not sound proof and any noise outside the room will disturb.

Breakfast was a basic one. boiled eggs, butter, jam, bread, milk, coffee, cereal and juice (artificial flavoured).

The owners of this hostel have made every effort to make it cheap for them. That also includes changing the clock in the kitchen to be 15 min ahead that lets them cut from the breakfast time they promise!!

Room Tip: avoid rooms in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peyman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#695 of 1,069 in London
353 reviews
Chrysos Hotel
#668 of 1,069 in London
463 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#425 of 1,069 in London
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tudor Court Hotel
#822 of 1,069 in London
629 reviews
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
#684 of 1,069 in London
329 reviews
Ashley London
#887 of 1,069 in London
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic House Hotel

Property: Olympic House Hotel
Address: 138-140 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #814 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympic House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior tourist class hotel; located north of the Hyde Park area; within walking distance to many of London"s main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Olympic House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel London
Olympic House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing