We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olympic House Hotel
Ranked #808 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Pros:

Cleanliness
Location

Cons:
Extremely bad behaviour of staff, just like as if you are in grade 5 and your teacher starts cursing you on doing such a bad thing which you haven't even done.

Breakfast was just ok.

Don't provide iron if they are not in a mood of it.

Will charge 10 pounds per day for wifi.

Will never recommend again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumtaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed as a family. This hotel offered family rooms so we booked it. The receptionist was very good when we arrived. We did not see her after that and everyone else on reception was rude or disinterested. We were in London on the hottest day of the year. The room had air conditioning but you had to pay 5 pound for 24 hours to use it. We paid the money and reception turns the air on downstairs. After a while the room was so cold I phoned down to see if they could turn the fan down and adjust the temperature. I was told no. In the end we asked them to turn it off and sweltered instead of being frozen. Waste of 5 pounds. They also charge for wifi so we did not use it. Breakfast was very ordinary. Several nearby places in London St. were good for dinner. We would. It go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamF47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent five nights- 2adults, 2children. Expectedly, the room was on the small side which was okay. Beds fairly comfortable, but would have felt so much cleaner without filthy quilts. Very conveniently located to public transportation- short walk to Paddington Station. Quick breakfast spots closeby(Bagel Factory 2blocks away). Hotel breakfast was awful. On our first night, had a great dinner at Hotel Indigo restaurant(cannot recall name) across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dionne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I wish we read the reviews before booking. The customer service is very poor and bordering on being outright rude. Hotel guests are treated as a nuisance. Everything has an extra charge. The breakfast is not that great unless you like burnt toast. I would not go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I wanted more than a budget hotel, so I paid more to stay here. This place has no amenities unless you count a bar of soap, a hand towel, changed every second day, a small lumpy bed in a very noisy room. The staff were unhelpful and messed up my reservation.
If all you want is a budget hotel in a good location there are blocks of identical converted row houses at a much better price next door. At least that way you would know to arrive like at a camper, pack everything you need including earplugs.

Room Tip: A room at the back wound be quieter, the lower rooms are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kepler N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and son stayed at this hotel and it was spotless. The room was a good size for 3 people and the bathroom was also spacious. Fantastic location, close to the train station and underground. Some good pubs nearby and also a great Italian restaurant. Love this area of London. Breakfast was average though and Wi-Fi was expensive. Will stay here again due to great location and cleanliness of hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I just got back after a 5 night stay at Olympic House Hotel and I have to agree with a lot of the previous reviews. The location is great half way between Paddington and Lancaster Gate stations (both very easy walking distance), the room was a good size (for London) and the entire hotel is immaculately clean, but the breakfast was adequate at best and the previous descriptions of the service as "disinterested" was spot on. I'd like to think of myself as a pretty low-maintenance guest, but a bit of fruit and a choice of protein at breakfast would have been nice, and some eye contact and an attempt at a smile at check in would have been welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haligonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#822 of 1,076 in London
633 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#504 of 1,076 in London
517 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#429 of 1,076 in London
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stylotel
#615 of 1,076 in London
782 reviews
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
#651 of 1,076 in London
354 reviews
Castleton Hotel
#904 of 1,076 in London
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic House Hotel

Address: 138-140 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #808 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £64 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympic House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior tourist class hotel; located north of the Hyde Park area; within walking distance to many of London"s main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympic House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel London
Olympic House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing