We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overbooked and Revolting”
Review of Warwick House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warwick House
Ranked #799 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Midlands, England
1 review
“Overbooked and Revolting”
Reviewed 9 September 2008

I arrived at the hotel at 11pm only to be told that the single on-suite room I had booked was not available and that I should spend the first night in a 'basic single' with no toilet, no shower, no washbasin and no TV with musty dog-blankets on the bed.

After complaining bitterly that this was totally unacceptable and that I didn't feel like sleeping in a room the size of a box (2m x 3m) and walking down two sets of stairs and along public corridors to get to the bathroom, they checked to see if any other nearby hotels had any vacancies. They didn’t, so after more complaining that there was no way I was going to pay for something I was not getting, I was offered the first night free and was assured I would be moved to a better room the following night.

The following night I was moved to a room with had a tiny on-suite, an inside door lock that didn’t work and a window that would not shut (lucky it was September, not December).

In addition to that all the facilities were shabby, did not appear overly clean and were in desperate need of refurbishment.

I would strongly advise anybody to stay well clear of the Exhibition Court Hotel or 60 Warwick House as it is called on some booking websites.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DrN0_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
5
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2008

I cannot believe how bad my experience was with hotels in London. I was first of RUDELY told that my reservation at Ascot Hotel was lost/overbooked so I had to stay at Exhibition court who knew NOTHING about the switch. Our room was cramped (to the point where we could not open the door), dirty, over heated, and I got terribly sick no doubt due to the germs/filth of the room. My sister was visiting me from Canada so we booked a day out in London then a show at Les Mis. We left our room at 10:00 am and came back at 23:00... When we came back to our room we were appalled to see OUR ROOM WAS LEFT OPEN BY THE CLEANER... ALLLLLLLLL DAY! Over 12 hours! We had passports, money, etc. We were shaking and very upset. All the front desk would do is say they would talk to the cleaner and brushed off the situation. Please learn from this experience - Do not stay at THE ASCOT HOTEL or THE EXHIBITION HOTEL.
Thanks

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Sandra4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2006

Hotel was close to Earls Court which is ideal for concerts however the Shower was either too hot or too cold and so you could only use it on the transition between the 2 temperatures, bathroom was on a slope, bedside lamp didn't work, room was on the 3rd floor with no lift, door didn't lock properly, tv only had 4 channels when advertised as satallite, holes in the plaster in the walls and the ceiling, plug socket hanging off the wall. We had requested a smoking room and were told that the room was smoking but there was a smoke detector on the ceiling and so should smoke by the window. Overall an interesting experience which we will definately not be repeating

  • Liked — Checking Out
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank magicflyingbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2006

This is an unmitigated dump. The floors and walls were filthy. The bathroom stank of urine. The window didn't close. The room was unbearably hot at night and the shower only had cold water in the morning.
Avoid this place unless you are accostomed to living in a sewer.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank HibernianM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2006

The most terrible hotel. We were moved fro The Ascott. And had to stay in a room in the basement, without heat and a door out to the garden that could not be locked. The worst hotel I have ever seen!
Only one advice stay away from it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away from this hotel
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbtt327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2006

I early June 2006 me and my pal went to England and the great Download Festival. We decided to take the last day of our trip in London and booked a room at Exhibition Court Hotel 3. We got a cheap room at the rate of £40 for one night. When we arrived at the hotel there seemed to something wrong with the booking, but they took a copy of my confirmation and it was all ok (they even let a couple of our friends stay in another room at the same cheap price, without booking in advance).

I must say I didn't know what to expect after reading some of the reviews here at tripadvisor. But we took our chances, mostly because it was so cheap.

We got a room on the 4th. floor and there was no elevator. The room was much better than expected. Clean sheets and generally cleaned everywhere. Yes, you could say the carpets were worn, but that was ok at the rate we payed for the room.

The room had ensuite facilities which weren't that bad. The shower was ok, but I couldn't figure out how it worked. Somehow I got water, but it changed from hot to cold water now and then. The toilet was placed below the sink, but it was completely possible to sit on it.

The rooms got pretty hot during the night, since there was no airconditioning, but again what should you expect at the rate. There was a small 12" fan in the room and it help getting some circulation in the air.

The personell was friendly.

All in all this hotel was ok to stay at for two guys for one night after a festival. But I don't think I will bring my wife to this hotel.

Ps. there is a 24hr. Tesco right down the street. They have all kinds of food and beers. And it always nice to have something to fill the fridge in the kitchenette in the room.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kongsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 November 2005

Absolutly horrible. No lights in the room (only one lamp for the full, room), no blankets (even if you ask for. They only smile, say yes, and do nothing), unbearable stink, awful atention, dirty spots in walls and ceiling, the breakfast is repugnant, the windows do not close properly, the central heating was only a legend and the stove only runs (diying) during 30 minutes... There is nothing good to tell about this dirty hole, but we are far now. My advice: RUN AWAY FROM THIS FILTHY SEWER AS FAST AS YOU CAN.

Ah. They are very clever people.We've booked the room online in the Exhibition Court 3 (presumibly better than this puddle [--]) but when we arrive it was closed and we was sent to the EC1. But they apply us the rates of the EC 3. Ole, ole, ole!!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Beaver Hotel
Beaver Hotel
#743 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#429 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#567 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#528 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#559 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Earls Court
The Paramount Hotel
The Paramount Hotel
#148 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick House

Property: Warwick House
Address: 60 Warwick Road | Earl's Court, London SW5 9EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #799 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Warwick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing