We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food for miles”
Review of The Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Victoria
Ranked #134 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Food is fresh and delicious. A welcome antidote to formulaic chain restaurants. I had the tastiest ravioli at a recent birthday supper. Welcoming interior, relaxed lounge chairs for morning coffees and at night I'm always comfortable as a lone woman if I arrive first.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angkor999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for a few nights recently:

Rooms:
Comfortable, clean, in a nice separate block, no frills. For GBP130 a night I would have loved/expected to have seen a bottle of shower gel in the shower rather than the gym style dispenser.

Setting:
Stunning, temple sheen is a beautiful residential area and you are a v short walk from Richmond Park. Having a car is advisable as taxis are rare (but can be called) in the vicinity, and it is a decent walk to local transport links. The pub itself is lovingly restored inside, with a stunning conservatory and lovely small (partly covered garden with a small childrens play area).

Food:
Stunning - the chefs are highly skilled and just understand cooking, from a beautiful plate of ham, cheese and honey, to an aged sirlion steak as good as I have had anywhere and cooked to perfection, lamb burgers were succulent with great sides, and a gorgeous tasting pea soup. Scrambled eggs at breakfast were sublime. Also has a great reasonably priced wine list with some real gems on it.

Service:
Slight disappointment. It wasn't that the staff weren't knowlegable or occaisionally friendly, it just seemed that they were lacking someone with sharper eyes pointing out who they needed to serve, when, and why. Nobody should be left sitting, on their own for 5 mins, or waiting for water for the same amount of time. This happened on a couple of occaision during the stay, so it wasn't a one off. And upon asking for butter at breakfast I don't thing it is acceptable to be given the, partly used, dish from the next table!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 888SAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The place feels very homely and the food menu is excellent. The rooms were on the small side with small TV's - ambitiously priced at 130 gbp. It's a bit of a hike to any transport - they will get a cab for you, but you can't always guarantee it. The self service breakfast was excellent - until you wanted something cooked from the menu -The staff in general were not customer focused, lacked attention to detail and it was hard to get served - mornings and evenings. Once we managed to order it, the cooked breakfasts were good. Dinners: The steak was excellent, corn on the cob with chilli butter v nice, lamb burger and pea soup excellent.
The place is extremely popular (rightly so given the food quality) locally and is very busy most of the time.
My only gripe would be improving customer care and encouraging the staff to care about customers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongCallisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Greg and the team gave us the perfect wedding reception. The revenue looked fab already and all we had to add were some flowers, storm lanterns and a couple of personal bits and pieces. The food was according to our mate James, "by far the best food I've ever had at a wedding - the cheese board was out of this world". But what really made it special was the service. Everyone from the team got into the spirit of the day and couldn't have done more for us. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Victoria is in a quiet area with no passing noise late at night. A clean, well equipped room with REALLY comfortable bed - I had an exceptionally good nights sleep.

This is a perfect base to explore Richmond, Kew, Twickenham, Wimbledon & Hampton Court. Richmond Park is literally at the end of the road - an ideal place to work up an appetite before dinner in The Victoria.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast is included in the price of the room. This is a small hotel, so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding in nearby Syon park, the room was clean and well presented. The food and service during our stay was excellent, highly recommended. We stayed in a spacious double room with a great shower most comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Some friends and I stayed here for a concert at Twickenham as it was easy to get to on the train from Mortlake (a 5-min taxi ride from the hotel).

We were in the two twins and also in a single. The rooms were fine although the one on the ground floor had a very dirty carpet by the door and the towel rail was leaking rusty coloured water on the white towels. The downstairs room also suffered from being near the kitckens so there was a fair bit of noise late at night and early in the morning. We were waken early by the planes going over, though - 6:15am to be precise! So take some ear plugs...

On the positive side the food is amazing. In the summer they offer a BarBQ - the spicy lamb burgers were fabulous as was the spit roast chicken and the hake. And the thrice cooked chips were gorgeous. Breakfast was continental (unless you paid extra) but there was a great selection and all that we really needed.

Room Tip: Avoid the downstairs room as you get a lot of noise from other guests coming in and the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shegoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVic7rt, Owner at The Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Firstly, we would like to thank you for coming to stay with us at The Victoria. The issues you experience regarding the dirty carpet and the towel rail leak is very disappointing for you and us as we try our best to ensure all areas are maintained to a very high standard.

We immediately closed off this room and had the carpet steam cleaned and a plumber in to fix the leak, which had not been highlighted to us earlier. Due to the fact that this is the only room external to the main hotel building, as a standard practice from now on, we are going to have this steam cleaned on a far more regular basis.

Unfortunately the Heathrow flight path occasionally gets changed so planes fly via the South West and this is something we have no control over, however this is not a consistent pattern.

We do hope that you choose to come back and stay with us again, and please quote your TripAdvisor review and we will arrange a suitable discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Richmond Gate Hotel
#8 of 14 in Richmond
1,029 reviews
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond
1,562 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#292 of 1,077 in London
1,373 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#28 of 573 in London
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria

Address: 10 West Temple Sheen, London SW14 7RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £97 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria is a public house and dining room with hotel rooms set in a leafy residential area by Richmond Park. All seven hotel rooms, refurbished in May 2011, feature: Queen sized beds • en-suite shower rooms • Egyptian cotton bedding • Wi-Fi access • Flat screen television • IPod docking system • Complimentary tea and coffee • Complimentary mineral water • Preferential restaurant reservations during your stay. The refurbished pub and dining room have some charming new features and some original old features which have been lovingly restored under the ownership of critically acclaimed Chef Paul Merrett and Restaurateur Greg Bellamy. Enjoy delicious food in our conservatory dining room, with sumptuous wine from our extensive list. Relax with a pint and a steak sandwich in the pub. Chill at the weekend with brunch or a roast, while the children enjoy the outdoor play area. Gossip over coffee with home-made cake or unwind with a summer BBQ in our beautiful garden. After all that, you’ll need a good night’s sleep in one of our popular en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing