We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come hungry!”
Review of Borough Market

Borough Market
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$72.84*
and up
Independent London Markets Tour with Private Driver
Ranked #17 of 1,633 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An amazing food market dating back to the 13th century.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
305 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Come hungry!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you don't find yourself carrying a multiple of bags/boxes of delicious treats after visiting this market, I worry for you. There are simply too many temptations here! From meats and cheeses, to brownies and pies, milkshakes, fish and chips, cheesecake, curries, pizza, . . . .the problem is not finding something to eat; it is how to choose among so many options. I got an absolutely heavenly brownie at the Cinnamon Tree Bakery and took two steps and decided I had to get a chocolate raspberry slice at a different bakery. If you plan to eat a meal at the market be forewarned that there is not an abundance of places to sit. We eventually made our way to the yard of the nearby church and found a patch of grass for an impromptu picnic. My daughter and I had fish and chips (we splurged and had the halibut which was very fresh and good) and my son had a pie and a milkshake and a piece of cheesecake, and also got a loaf of bread and hunk of cheese for later. He's 19 and taking full advantage of his metabolism! My husband had roast pork with crackling and my other daughter had a chicken burger. We also got some fresh fruit - raspberries and blueberries - to share. Many vendors will offer small samples of their products and everyone was friendly. There are also craftspeople selling their wares so you can get some unique gifts if you are in the mood to shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,880 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,164
    2,348
    303
    40
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Ohio
Level Contributor
183 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“I love markets!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It's mostly under cover so it's a good spot to duck into if the rains start. Right across from the tube station and near other attractions like The Shard. You can get some already cooked food here - it's not just raw things to buy like at a grocery. Coffee, tea, etc and sweets if you are just passing through are readily available as are more substantial lunches. I personally just like the feel and energy of markets even if I don't want to eat anything. This particular market, has all food (some flowers etc but mostly food). If food is not your thing there are plenty of other London markets that will make you happy. Signs also announce free WiFi.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bszweda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“So so good.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is one place my youngest daughter and I just love to go every time. It would not be unfair to say that this is arguably one of the best food markets in Europe. Seafood, meats, fruit, veg, cheeses, cakes, chutneys, coffee, preserves... you name it and you'll have it. Can't ever tire of this place. Go there often and it never fails to surprise with something new and exciting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sam-zk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So many fresh produce!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Went there on Friday around 930am and the shops aren't busy yet, except one cafe with a long line and everybody waiting for their morning boost. Lots of fresh produce and street food. Keep your stomach empty to sample the food this market has to offer, such as paella, fresh oysters, pastries, candies, cookies...so much yummy food. I also bought some berries and peaches and they were soooooo juicy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissycream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
201 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Foodie heaven”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The quality and wide selection of foods makes this a foodie heaven and you can get stuff here you will struggle to find elsewhere.
However, it is very touristy and also quite expensive.
There are lots of "eateries" in and around the market.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimbosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borough Market also viewed

 

Been to Borough Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing