We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster Court Hotel
Ranked #918 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Port Laoise, Laois, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Don't stay here ! We went for a couple of days from Ireland. 1. Very hard to find, called for direction to the hotel the receptionist hadnt a clue. 2. Cigarette butts all over the front entrance. 3.4 floors to room using stairs no lift. 4. Room was filthy no view. 5. Urine in the shower, brown stuff on the wall in the bathroom. 6. No hot water in the shower. 7 . Wires sticking out wall paper peeling windows broken.8. Breakfast consisted of tea and toast thrown at you by the girls who were rude to everyone. This B and B not hotel ! should be shut down, health and safety would have a ball! ! ! Over the top charged for it too , have spent the same amount in hotels in different countries and have never been so disappointed.

Room Tip: You can do so much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    69
    109
    76
    158
See reviews for
87
94
79
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Ok you're in London and it's not that easy to find a cheap hotel to stay in however you can definitely find a better hotel at the same price that maybe isint in that prime location however a metro stop away.

There's no lift so you'll have to carry your bags up the stairs, the wifi's poor, the rooms are pretty small and really hot. The shower is outside the bathroom and the toilet's flushing is equipped with a shredder ... yes a shredder that sounds like you're being shot at with an ak-47.

Breakfast's poor and held in a very small room in the hotel's basement.

Anyways location's good with walking distance from Hyde Park, Marble Arch, Lancaster Gate, Oxford Street and Paddington Station

Will definitely look for alternatives next time I visit London.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

location:


I cannot fault the location of the hotel; it was ideal for what we wanted.


It is situated just minutes from Paddington tube station, which is the one we used, but Lancaster Gate is also nearby. Me and hubby were down in London for the triathlon events in Hyde Park - the Park was only a few minutes walk away


The hotel has many cafe's and restaurants nearby.


Hotel:

breakfast: is advertised as a continental. What you get is a rack of toast [which you can get more of if you ask] and help yourself to tea/coffee/orange/cheese/ jams. It doesn't seem a great deal but I cannot complain as i don't generally eat a lot anyway so it did me.


rooms:

we were in room 54 which is on the 4th floor. There is no lift and my hubby had his bike so I was a bit worried about getting it up/down. But It worked ok; the bike thankfully was light. The receptionist, on the day we got there, did offer to move us the next day [they were fully booked on our arrival so couldn't do it then]. But we were ok being on the 4th floor so didn't press the matter.


There was tea/coffee making facilities/tv. The bed was comfortable; the sheets and towels were clean and changed daily.


we were advised that we were not en suite [some rooms were but some weren't. However when we first got to the room we found there was a shower cubicle in the corner of the room. My hubby used it once but said he wouldn't have again as the water was freezing. The nearest shower room to us was just opposite which we both used which was fine.

in general:

the staff were great, were really helpful/friendly


the hotel overall was ok, I would stay again but it could do with being renovated

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolphin028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, Lancs,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Hotel is perfectly situated for exploring central London but that is the only positive I could find to say about this hotel - and I use the term hotel lightly, personally I would liken it to a hostel for the homeless! The room was shabby, small and had a shower in the room which wasn't partitioned off for privacy (just as well me and my pal who I shared the room with know each other very well!). There are fourty rooms in the hotel and I could only find two toilets to service everyone, and the toilets were dirty and shabby. The breakfast was mis sold as Continental when there was only toast on offer and a communal pot of stewed tea - yuk! I would advise if you are on a tight budget and are looking for value for money try a travel inn/lodge/premier inn as they offer much better value.

Room Tip: Just don't go here full stop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley, North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed all over the country and this is the worst place I've ever stayed. Everything is really really basic ie ripped wallpaper, rotten windows - I could fit my finger right inside. Electric socket was dangerous, needs proper electrician and hse inspection.
To say you get breakfast is embarrassing - white bread toast only with jam, with rank tea/coffee - you'd get better in prison.
It was laughable, no wonder they wanted you to pay up front.
Good points - hot shower, cleanish and close to hyde park and paddington station.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Quite simply, DONT STAY HERE?, im not a fussy person, but this place is absolutely awful, my girlfriend and i travelled from Aberdeen, to see the proms at the park, and being canny aberdonians, we took a chance at the reasonable price for a hotel in a nice and advantageous location, arrived and left within an hour, horrible tin shower cublicle in the room, dingy surroundings and a climb up to the fourth/fifth floor, was the final nail in the coffin for this "hotel"? its such a shame because this has a nice facade, and in wonderful location, but enter at your own risk and i urge you to rethink before booking, The reception lad was pleasant and simply said "you get what you pay for", well its up to us not to pay at all! Simply DONT GO and line someones pockets for no effort in customer satisfaction, try around the corner and stay at either the Lancaster - Best Western or the Corus, only a bit more expensive but increase your enjoyment of your stay 10 FOLD... really consider or just dont consider this place

Room Tip: Another Hotel - Another Room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#407 of 1,067 in London
1,044 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#787 of 1,067 in London
614 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#560 of 1,067 in London
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Columbus
#486 of 1,067 in London
496 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Court Hotel

Property: Lancaster Court Hotel
Address: 202-204 Sussex Gardens, London W2 3UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #918 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lancaster Court Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking central London's 630-acre Hyde Park, the family-run Lancaster Court is set along a tree-lined street in the heart of central London. With parking and WiFi, this listed Victorian building is just 2 minutes' walk from London Paddington Railway Station with its Heathrow Express Service. Individually designed, each room at Lancaster Court features a flat-screen Freeview TV and tea and coffee making facilities. All en-suite shower rooms have a hairdryer. In the mornings, guests can enjoy complimentary breakfast. For lunch and evening meals, there are numerous restaurants, bars, and cafes within a 5-minute stroll of the hotel. With a free luggage storage facility, Lancaster Court is also only 5 minutes' walk from Lancaster Gate Tube Station. Many of London's top tourist attractions are easily accessible after a 15-minute Tube journey, including iconic Westminster's London Eye, the Houses of Parliament, and historic Westminster Abbey. Westminster Borough is a great choice for travellers interested in parks, theatre and monuments. We speak your language! Hotel Rooms: 40 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Court London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing