We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster Court Hotel
Ranked #917 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Worst hotel ever”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Due to my work I have stayed in hundreds if not thousands of different hotels all around the Uk and Europe, and this was the worst by far. The room was beyond tiny, had a shower right at the end of the bed and no toilet. Toilets are not even close to the room. There was a loose electrical wire hanging out of the sink light fitting, the TV did not work(inadequate reception) and the shower had a constant drip - I had to tie a towel around the shower head so I could get to sleep. There was no where to put my coat let alone swing a cat! For my own safely and well-being I did not even attempt to have breakfast. The only positive was that the bedding looked clean, despite the rest of the decor looking tired and unpleasant. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    69
    109
    76
    158
See reviews for
87
94
79
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I'm not sure I stayed at the same place as all these negative reviews.....sure it's basic and a little scruffy, but I found everything to be decently clean, quiet, and the staff friendly. They always remembered me from day one when I dropped off and picked up my room key. Breakfast was adequate if simple. Who cares if the veneer is chipped on the headboard or the view isn't nice? For the price and location it couldn't be beat - stayed here for a week in May 2013 and loved being close to the tube and airport train at Paddington. Also a short stroll to Hyde Park - walked to the V&A. Unless you're very sensitive to always needing posh surroundings, I'd recommend this place for its price and location. I had a pleasant time.

Room Tip: Get one with a bathroom....I didn't, and it was a trek up to the next floor for a shower. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaJeanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 1 night (very lucky it wasn't longer) with my boyfriend. The room did not have 1 double bed as promised, instead featuring 2 beds that were a bit bigger than a single, separated by a weird nightstand.
The room was underground and dark. Out of the 4 light bulbs on the ceiling, 3 were broken. When I went up to the reception to request that they change the light bulbs, the lady said that 'she would check if anything could be done about this' (I am fairly certain that there is a simple way to deal with a broken light bulb???) but nobody ever bothered to change them.
The heating in the room was broken and we were given a tiny, noisy electric heather instead. As we couldn't leave it on overnight, the room got absolutely freezing, especially as the windows are terrible and let all the cold air in.

Perhaps the most shocking was the kettle provided in the room- for some reason, it was equipped with a lead so short that the only way to boil it was to put it on the floor. Now I am no expert when it comes to home improvements, but I believe that an extension lead comes in at a pound or so.

The shower did not work properly and the whole place was damp and dirty.It may be a budget hotel but it is so unbelievably bad and the staff are so unhelpful, it is just not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marikaj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I had never entered a hotel room and laughed uncontrollably until I came to Lancaster Court Hotel. No toilet. I'll say it again. No toilet!! There was a shower and a basin. If you need the toilet, you have to go downstairs or get creative in the shower. Every single floor board was creaky, the room was far too hot and everything looked extremely tatty.

Now the positives. Not many but crucial. The location is perfect. It is by Hyde Park, next to the tube and at walking distance of Oxford Street, the Science Museum, the Natural History Museum etc. Also, the bedsheets were clean and the breakfast was more than adequate. Another good positive is obviously the price which makes this hotel excellent value for money, oddly enough.

My advice is to go only if you are in a tight budget, and make sure that you arrive late and leave early.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan0574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I understand some comments. However, lets be realistic its not the ritz carlton or the four seasons hotel. We stayed 4 adults and 2 infants for 4 nights and spent £280. For that price in London usually you are lucky to have breakfast for so many people for 5 days. The room was not huge but big enough for all of us to move around in and be comfortable, cozy but comfortable. The room was not moldy or with paint flaking off but was not new and hi-tech either. The breakfast was good and the pasteries were fresh everyday. The staff was a little slow but mainly because foreigners and hardly spoke english. Apart from that the location is great easy to access with loads of night buses taking you to and from the hotel to many touristy destinations. The room as I said was small but clean. The Hotel all in all is a nice one for a good value for money and will allow you to see London from a central location without spending a fortune on transport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippo81g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Rooms are not how they are pictured at all - Mold & damp on walls, paint flaking off everywhere, fire alarm sellotaped to the ceiling above the bed, plugs didn't work, wardrobe doors & draws falling off and apart, pillow like paper, windows about too fall out.

Don't be fooled by a lovely breakfast. If you dont like toast or croissants, you could always boil your own egg. No other options available.

Despite this the linen and bathroom was clean, and the staff were very pleasent.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Brown59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#408 of 1,067 in London
1,045 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#789 of 1,067 in London
615 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#565 of 1,067 in London
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Columbus
#487 of 1,067 in London
497 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Court Hotel

Property: Lancaster Court Hotel
Address: 202-204 Sussex Gardens, London W2 3UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #917 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lancaster Court Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking central London's 630-acre Hyde Park, the family-run Lancaster Court is set along a tree-lined street in the heart of central London. With parking and WiFi, this listed Victorian building is just 2 minutes' walk from London Paddington Railway Station with its Heathrow Express Service. Individually designed, each room at Lancaster Court features a flat-screen Freeview TV and tea and coffee making facilities. All en-suite shower rooms have a hairdryer. In the mornings, guests can enjoy complimentary breakfast. For lunch and evening meals, there are numerous restaurants, bars, and cafes within a 5-minute stroll of the hotel. With a free luggage storage facility, Lancaster Court is also only 5 minutes' walk from Lancaster Gate Tube Station. Many of London's top tourist attractions are easily accessible after a 15-minute Tube journey, including iconic Westminster's London Eye, the Houses of Parliament, and historic Westminster Abbey. Westminster Borough is a great choice for travellers interested in parks, theatre and monuments. We speak your language! Hotel Rooms: 40 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Court London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing