We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - great value”
Review of Lidos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lidos Hotel
Ranked #433 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the st patricks weekend, there were four of us ans we had a family room which consisted of a double bed and 3 single beds.

We arrived in London very early and were able to leave our bags at the hotel while we explored. Any staff that we encountered were all very helpful and friendly.

The hotel is in a great location theres a bus stop outside and 10mins walk from victoria station. Breakfast was continental and was served between 7-9am.

I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone travelling to London.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belfastchick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We re just back from a great weekend in London with our two children ,We stayed three nights in this hotel and found everything fantastic from the room to the staff. There was a good choice for breakfast ,although it was continental . The rooms was i bit small for 4 of us but it was very comfortable .We were about ten minute walk from the Victoria tube station and 5 min walk from Pimlico tube st. . There is also bus no. 24 right outside which will take u to Leicester square .Great Value for city weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvelynR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I’m very glad that I booked this hotel. I was looking for something located nearby Victoria and most of the prices were too high. Hotel Lidos is a cheaper option (not dead cheap, but cheaper than many in the area), with more quality than other hotels in Pimlico in which I stayed before. Everything in the hotel is very new and looks like the building has been refurbished recently. There’s a very new lift, fast and silent. Locks were modern too, contact less cards. Wi-fi worked very well in the rooms and the signal was very good all around.

The room was very clean as well, so no complain at all in that matter. It was pretty small but the space was more than enough for me alone. Although I suspect that my room was a double, so it was probably a bit tight for two. However, the bed was big enough and very comfortable. Lots of pillows! I was at the back, so quite silent except for the people opening doors at night in the same corridor. But I use earplugs, so no biggie. There was a flat TV on the wall opposite the bed and two small bed side tables and lamps over them. There’s a desk area with a seat, a big mirror, hairdryer, kettle (with tea and coffee), phone and two plugs for recharging gadgets. Also next to it, the window and heater, that worked really well. It was never cold inside the room. At the back of this area, there was a set of hangers for the clothes and extra pillows and a blanket (that I didn’t need).

The bathroom was very clean, with a toilet, basin and shower. Also, plenty of clean towels and two soap dispensers in the shower and at the basin. The bathroom is also tiny, but fine for one person. The only problem I had was getting a hot shower. I just managed to get lukewarm water. I guess that it happens at times when everyone is using the shower in the morning? There was hot water in the basing though.

It was also great having free breakfast included in the rate. It was a continental type, but there were plenty of things to choose from: coffee, tea, cereal, juices, yoghurts, cheese, ham, toasts, pastries, croissants… I had enough with all that!

The reception people was very nice, specially the girl that was there when I arrived. I only had a slight problem with the man at night, when he called me a bit later on the very early wake up call. But it wasn’t a big problem in the end. They can save your luggage before check in or after check out, although I didn’t need to use the service.

Transport options are perfect: there’s a bus stop for number 24 right at the door that brings you to the hotel from Camden and all the centre area. At the other side of the street is the stop that takes you there. Pimlico tube station is very close and Victoria just 10 minutes away, with another tube station and trains, like the Gatwick ones. Victoria Coach Station is just 5 minutes away as well, with more buses connections inside the city.

So really happy discovering this hotel in this area and sure I will be back when I need to stay nearby Victoria Station.

Room Tip: Rooms are more silent at the back. Belgrave Road is a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isasshax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here 10Feb 2014 and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel's bedrooms and en suite are quite small but extremely clean. Tea and coffee making facilities with generous selection of both including herbal teas. Soap and shower gel provided and hair dryer too. TV in the room. Staff are extremely helpful, courteous and friendly. Continental breakfast fairly basic but adequate. No 24 bus stops right outside the front door and on the opposite side of the road is where you board for Victoria, Westminster, for the Abbey and Houses of Parliament. Bus carries on past Horseguards Parade, Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square for theatres and on eventually to Hampstead Heath. In fact it is like a mini tour of the sites! If travelling back from Euston, get off the 24 at Warren St and board a No 91 or 390 for a bus right into the station. Easier than using the Tube! We had a good night's sleep with no traffic sound or early morning deliveries etc. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth (top) floor with brand new carpets in the corridors and room itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed here for a night whilst on business. It was a late booking and the price attracted me, which is sometimes a risk in London, but it turned out fine.
Location wise, its around a 7 minute walk from Victoria train station, and the street you walk down has a few decent looking Indian, Mexican and Chinese restaurants plus the obligatory Starbucks if you need somewhere for a coffee or a meal in the evening.

As other reviewers have pointed out, its not the biggest place in the world, and equally the rooms aren't the biggest either. But if you are looking to see London on a limited budget, then you could do an awful lot worse than this place.

The welcome was friendly, the reception area was clean and decorated to a good standard.

As it turned out, although I was on my own, I ended up with a family room which had 3 beds in it, 2 doubles and a single. The room coped with 3 beds, but I can imagine it would be cramped with a whole family in there for a week with cases and clothing.

Again, the room was clean, nothing grubby and the bathroom was spotless and looked like it had recently been refurbished. The shower pressure wasn't brilliant, but it was sufficient.

Overall, for the money, it represents good value and there are lower quality hotels available at higher prices in London. If I was in the area again for a single night, I'd go back.

Room Tip: A room at the front will get traffic noise from the main road outside. I had a front room but had ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dyet92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Cheap hotel in central London. Fantastic location. Bus stop in front of hotel. Small but clean rooms with tea and coffee facilities. Continental breakfast included. Kind and helpful staff. Pertect for short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SecretCLIENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights mainly for business purposes, because of the close proximity to Westminster. The hotel is right next to the bus stop at which the number 24 stops, which goes through Victoria, Westminster and up towards Oxford Road and Hampstead Heath.

To be honest, at £98 for 2 nights, I wasn't expecting much for my money! But on arrival, I found that the reception was modern, airy and welcoming. The gentleman on the desk was helpful and polite also. There is even a lift to get you to one of the 4 upper floors. My room too, while small, contained a queen bed, over and above the single I had booked, and was clean, modern and quiet. The bathroom was fitted with modern white fixtures, and had towels and hand soap provided.

With a kettle, tea, coffee and fruit tea, a small LCD TV, wardrobe space with hangers and a desk space with mirrors, I was over the moon!

For central London, the area itself was quiet and I had a good night's sleep on both nights. This is coming from a northern girl who rarely hears a peep from her neighbours at home!

Breakfast is provided continental style between 7am and 9am, and while basic is more than adequate for a budget hotel, and consists of juices, coffees, tea, bread, pastries, meat, cheese and yoghurt. There are staff members around to offer assistance if necessary.

Overall, this hotel is a little gem, worth it's weight in gold. I'm glad I stayed, and hope to have the opportunity to stay again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Quavering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#118 of 1,077 in London
2,122 reviews
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#644 of 1,077 in London
1,429 reviews
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#643 of 1,077 in London
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#208 of 1,077 in London
628 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#180 of 1,077 in London
1,439 reviews
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidos Hotel

Address: 43-45 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1V 2BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £58 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lidos Hotel is a short walk from Victoria Railway and Underground Station, providing excellent access to all areas of the city. Conveniently, there is a bus stop in front of the hotel, served by a regular bus service to Westminster, Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, China Town and Oxford Street. The hotel is within walking distance of Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, the Tate Britain Gallery and the Apollo Theatre. The hotel is surrounded by plenty of restaurant, cafe and pub choices as well as two nearby supermarkets. The hotel is also within easy reach of the River Thames and Downing Street. All rooms are comfortably furnished, with ensuite facilities, LCD TV and a work desk. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the building. An inclusive continental breakfast is offered to all guests. We have welcoming and friendly staff to cater for all your travel needs and can provide you with any information you may require during your stay. There is a 24 hour reception so guests may arrive at anytime. Guests have the possibility to store their luggage both before check-in and after check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lidos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lidos Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing