We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet and relaxing”
Review of Caring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caring Hotel
Ranked #493 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have stayed at the caring hotel 7 nights. we took a cosy standard but we stayed 2 persons. the room is enough for 1 person but to little for 2. we have managed. Still it would have helped if we had a rack in the room and one in bathroom. the location is good. in a quiet street close to public transportation( tube and bus) with good conection with the centre. the hyde park in neigborhood and a lot of asiatic restaurants near by. the breakfast was very very basic but enough. the staff extremly pleaseant and care.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iuliana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    410
    137
    36
    11
See reviews for
146
329
65
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed in the Caring Hotel for 7 nights. The room was clean and quiet, breakfast standard, and the staff (24hour-reception) very friendly and flexible. I had to put medication in the (kitchen) fridge which was no problem. The last night we booked a double room and got the biggest room, which was really big for London with two double beds inside - comfy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My wife and I were scheduled to stay at the Caring Hotel on June 12. Unfortunately my wife's mother became very ill and then passed. I contacted the staff at Caring Hotel almost as an afterthought, hoping but not expecting that we would not be charged for a night stay with our sudden cancellation. Much to our surprise we received an almost immediate response from the staff and were given an assurance that we would not be charged anything. This kind of compassion is much appreciated and shows that this hotel lives up to its name.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We liked it here. Staff was friendly, room was clean and spacious. No hot food at breakfast but good selection of cereal, juices, cheese, eggs etc. no complaints about anything. We will definitely stay here again when in London.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

i just completed a 5 night stay at Caring HOtel. Read all the reviews on Trip Advisor, so took the advice and stayed here. Was a bit disappointed. The staff were helpful, but not overly friendly. The room was very small, but, did expect that. We had a room without bathroom, but bathroom conveniently located right outside our door, however not serviced very often, as there seemed to be a lack of toilet paper! The breakfasts were basic, got slightly sick of hard boiled eggs - a poached/fried egg would have been nice! The most disappointing thing was the checkout. SLOW! we were in rush to catch a train, as it took the staff member half an hour to check us out! I made a under 1 minute phone call in London, and was told when i made it that it would only be 1 pound - after pfaffing about, was told it would be 5 pounds!!!! And he was SO unhelpful, slow and unfriendly - not a nice way to leave a hotel. Good value for money, but could pull up their socks!

Room Tip: don't go for something above Level 1 - NO LIFT! and if you have a heavy bag, they are steep stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights (May 14-16) on our way back to Manila from a university visit in Liverpool. Stayed in room 14 (cosy double room), it's small (as described) but the space is good enough for us. We experienced some cold draft entering the room during the first night, but the heater at high setting did its job of maintaining comfortable temps inside.

Continental buffet breakfast was superb, just right for our Asian appetite. Reception staff were helpful. Well, their home page says it all - they're a caring hotel indeed. Location was great - quiet, safe neighborhood, but it's just within a short walking distance from Queensway where grocery stores and Asian restaurants abound. Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park are also very accessible from the hotel. Paddington station (for Heathrow access) is a leisurely 10-minute walk away from the hotel.

I was thankful that I was able to chance upon Caring Hotel during my Google Earth scan (and tripadvisor ratings check) of hotels around Paddington station area. We'll definitely stay there again if ever we get to drop by London in the future.

Room Tip: There's no lift so if you're lugging around some super heavy bags/luggages, request for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose Jr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Having stayed at a number of alternatives in the area I booked one night in the Caring Hotel when my usual options were full. Cost at 101GBP was 20-30GBP more than I'd usually spend for a single en-suite room in this area and given the reviews I was expecting good things. All in all a bit disappointing. Some good and bad points:

Good:
1) Quiet area and room
2) Safe-feeling area/location
3) Close to Hyde Park

Bad:
1) Location is almost exactly halfway between Paddington and Bayswater/Queensway tube stations, so not really very convenient for any of them
2) Somewhat tired rooms, decor, feel throughout. Difficult to put my finger on exactly what, but I think a number of individually trivial points such as and Ikea wardrobe, random collection of hangers in the wardrobe, cheap/nasty coffee/tea making items, no plug in sink, old-fashioned cover on bed and cheap feeling sheets, a gap between shower head and wall.
3) No safe in room.
4) Having to leave key at reception
5) Breakfast from 0730, which was too late for me

So, though OK when other options aren't available it's not one that I'll rush back to. In my view other options offer better and more convenient (for the tube) accommodation at a lower price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MWSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#282 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#422 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#605 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#499 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#475 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caring Hotel

Property: Caring Hotel
Address: 24 Craven Hill Gardens, London W2 3EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #493 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caring Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you travel for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming You at the Caring Hotel, in our tradition of courteous service and superb hospitality. The Caring is a family run business (for over 25 years) situated in a quiet location, in the prestigious part of central London, only a short distance from the north side of Hyde Park, Oxford Street and the West End. Our main focus is on providing comfortable and clean accommodation, coupled with the most commonly sought after guest services and reasonable eco-sense, at prices which represent good value for money for the location. Paddington station, Queensway underground station, bus stops and all kinds of amenities are easily within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Caring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caring Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing