We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring, well positioned, but... dirty”
Review of Caring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caring Hotel
Ranked #536 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have stayed three nights, in a single room with queen size bed. Service was spotless, very nice and helpful people. Room was large enough and sunny, and quiet.
BUT:
The bedlinen and sheets were old, worn out and stained with dirt.
The NEVER replaced the bedlinen (I could have asked, but I assumed they would have changed it after the first night...)
The bathroom was small, and old to that point where it looks dirty even when it is clean. And the room had a stinking wardrobe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mallatrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed at the Caring Hotel for a few nights as a break with my girlfriend. The hotel is extremely easy to get to from Paddington Station, which is also handy for when you are going out and about as it is a great place to get to other places when using the Underground.

The staff we had dealings with on both reception and at breakfast were all very friendly and helpful.

The room was fairly basic, but clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and had a great selection of cereals, fruits, pastries and all of the usual things that you'd expect - including a great cup of tea!

Only thing I would like to make people aware of is that there is no lift - this wasn't an issue for us, but could be for people with disabilities and also people who aren't strong enough to carry their luggage up the flights of stairs if you end up right at the top like we did.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig_Griffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed at the Caring Hotel for 8 nights, for business. The hotel is ideally situated near Paddington, Queensway and Lancaster Gate Station's, making it suitable for business travelers and families alike.

The staff were very friendly and customer service oriented. Although the rooms for the most part are sparse and small in size, the hotel provides great value for money in the overall package.

Although the regular rooms do not include a private bathroom, I opted to upgrade to a room with a bathroom, for a minor fee. The staff were very accommodating when I asked for the move.

The hotel charge includes a simple breakfast, which is an advantage for business people who are on the move, as it saves the hassle of having to stop by the nearest Tesco's or Sainsbury's.

The hotel is impeccably clean, from the bathrooms, to the walkways. The cleaning staff have done an admirable job maintaining the overall appearance of the somewhat aging building.

I only have a few minor quips with the hotel, the first of which relates to the bedding quality. The linens are rather thin, as are the bath towels. It gets rather cold at night, and the overall linen quality I feel could be improved.

Also, the hotel does not have a lift, which makes it rather difficult to ascend towards higher floors - particularly if you have heavy luggage. On the flip-side however, the room which I occupied seemed quieter, as it was not facing the street.

These are minor quips however, which I feel could be addressed easily in time. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Caring Hotel and I feel that the hotel truly sets itself apart from other lodging in the area, through the tireless efforts of the staff,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Firas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Overall not a bad place. Positives: all staff are friendly and helpful. Room was clean and spacious (for London).

Negatives: Breakfast was fine but extremely basic (no yoghurts or pastries). Bed was uncomfortable and could feel the springs in the bed. The only other negative thing was to do with our neighbours who were very noisy coming in late at night, could hear talking/tv through walls. They also smoked in their room (non smoking room) which drifted in to ours - took 2 complaints to reception before something was said.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Reading trip advisor reviews, I have been struck by the not surprising fact that the hotels for which one pays exorbitant amounts of money get the very best reviews. Most reviewers can't afford the inflated prices that luxury hotels charge. It seems to me that it would be much fairer to judge a hotel on the basis of what you pay. The Caring Hotel is just one example. For a very modest tariff, one gets a brilliant location, services of a friendly, highly competent staff, a clean comfortable room and a more than adequate breakfast. Like most budget London hotels, the Caring has very steep stairs which will be a problem for guests with mobility problems but that's the reality of Paris, Florence and other European cities. What impressed me most about the Caring was that the staff were very concerned when we had a problem trying to locate our daughter and granddaughter who had somehow got lost trying to find the hotel from Heathrow Airport. In other words, the staff really cared. It's hard to put a price on that.

Room Tip: A ground floor room if you don't like climbing steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Eamon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at Caring Hotel for seven days over the holidays. Our room was for three to four people and was located on the second floor. For the price and location of this hotel, I believe it is an OUTSTANDING value. The rooms are basic, clean, and private.

Our four person room was very large, as large as any American hotel. When you entered our room there was a small foyer that had one door to a newly redecorated bath with shower/tub and a second door that entered into the room. The beds were made every day and new towels provided.

The desk staff and breakfast workers were extremely pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was a very good value given the price of the hotel and the price of food in London. There was enough food and enough variety to be ready for a morning of site seeing. It was food that could be made without cooking, although delicious coffee and plenty of toast is brought out by the staff.

The location was excellent! There is a five to seven minute walk to Paddington Station. A five to 10 minute walk to Hyde park and a five minute walk to grocery, restaurants, pharmacy, etc. It was very safe.

The only negatives were minor. It is not a full service American hotel. So if you are looking for complementary shampoo, fitness center, glitzy lobby, ice machines than this place is not for you. Also, the mattresses are rock hard and very uncomfortable.

Based on some of the reviews, I kept warning my teenagers that we might not be staying at that nice of a hotel - but I could not have been more wrong. We all enjoyed our stay and commented a number of times on what a nice place it was!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ramawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great location a few blocks north Bayswater Road and Kensington Gardens. We had a basement room down the hall from the breakfast room and found it spacious and clean. Private bath was quite adequate. Staff was very accomodating. Breakfast was good basic food to start the morning - cereal, toast, coffee. We could walk across the garden to the Victoria and Albert Museum or down the street to the Tube station. It is not plush but it is very good for the price with a friendly staff and great location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob_10510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#497 of 1,076 in London
375 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#289 of 1,076 in London
1,688 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#612 of 1,076 in London
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#524 of 1,076 in London
572 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#593 of 1,076 in London
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caring Hotel

Address: 24 Craven Hill Gardens, London W2 3EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £47 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caring Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you travel for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming You at the Caring Hotel, in our tradition of courteous service and superb hospitality. The Caring is a family run business (for over 25 years) situated in a quiet location, in the prestigious part of central London, only a short distance from the north side of Hyde Park, Oxford Street and the West End. Our main focus is on providing comfortable and clean accommodation, coupled with the most commonly sought after guest services and reasonable eco-sense, at prices which represent good value for money for the location. Paddington station, Queensway underground station, bus stops and all kinds of amenities are easily within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caring Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing