We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castleton”
Review of Castleton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castleton Hotel
Ranked #902 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Small pod style bathroom was diffcult to shower or wash in. Otherwise good service and good location if a little noisy facing the main street. Room was clean and well presented. Flat panel TV on the wall was small.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was more than acceptable. The hotel is in a quiet area but I was not able to take advantage of this as outside my room there were 4 noisy, industrial fans that were in action 24 hours a day. Worth the stay but check which room you have been allocated before committing to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Hotel gave me a positive surprise even I got a small room in the cellar. Small rooms, and even mine was OK for one night. If you want a hotel close to Paddington this may be the one. We were 5 friends, the other had also OK rooms, clean and shower working. But all were small.

It is 5 minutes walk from Paddington, and restaurants and bars around.

Room Tip: Don´t stay in the cellar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were first given a room on the ground floor that felt like a poky, airless and claustrophobic cupboard, and we didn't want to sleep in a room on street level facing the street, so we asked to be moved upstairs. The next room was marginally more spacious, though tired and not particularly clean, but when we flushed the toilet a stench of raw sewage filled the room. The smell was strong enough to make me gag, so we had to insist on being moved again. Eventually we were given a third room further upstairs, which had only a vague odour of sewage (the smell was also present all the way up the stairwell, so I think it comes from pretty serious plumbing problems). None of the rooms looked anything like the photos I have seen online of the hotel.

The bathroom was a sort of plastic capsule that had been inserted into the corner of the room, and looked like the bathroom of a cheap, ageing caravan - plastic and decrepit. The sink didn't drain properly and the shower is directed into a corner of the floor. The mattresses were ancient, lumpy and uncomfortable, and the walls paper thin, so that every movement from all the rooms crammed in around us was audible. We were left only two tiny towels, and the window (that had some kind of badly done double glazing, and was therefore full of condensation) rattled all night, adding to the noise of other guests walking on the creaky floorboards, keeping us awake throughout the night.

We didn't try the breakfast, since when we walked into the poky, low-ceiling basement breakfast room, the smell of nasty greasy food was so unappealing we preferred to go elsewhere to eat.

If this hotel cost half what we paid (£168 for two nights) I think it would be reasonable value for money. As it was, it feels like a total rip off. If I were on my first trip to London and ended up in a dump like this hotel it would be a great shame. I would advise anyone considering staying in this hotel to avoid it at all costs. There are tons of hotels in the Paddington and they can't all be as stinky, vile and utterly depressing as this place.

Room Tip: Having seen 3 rooms in this hotel, I would say that travellers who would like a good room should loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I certainly recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget needing to stay near Paddington Station. I stayed at the Castleton for one night in January 2014 and it perfectly suited my needs. I had a late flight into Heathrow and was taking a train from Paddington the following day, so the location of the Castleton made it ideal for my needs. It is a solid low-to-mid range hotel. The pros and cons, in my humble opinion, are as follows:

Pros:
1. Location. As I said it was perfect for my need to get to Paddington in the morning. Being approximately only one block away from Paddington it is very convenient to both western rail and London’s tube system. The neighborhood has plenty of pubs, restaurants and other services any traveler might need.
2. Cleanliness. For such a small and inexpensive place I found this hotel immaculate. This was true for my room as well as the common areas.
3. Staff. All members of staff I encountered, from the front desk, to the restaurant staff at breakfast, to housekeeping were friendly and helpful. When I needed a slightly late checkout, my request was immediately and graciously granted.
4. Wifi. The wireless in my room worked extremely well with no interruptions.
5. The room. While small, the bed was comfortable and it had tea and coffee making facilities.
6. Free breakfast. While certainly not the best I’ve ever had, it was certainly not bad by any means – and it was included in the price of the room.
7. The price. While I know the prices fluctuate dramatically during the year, it was mid-winter when I stayed there and I further qualified for a special £5 off special the hotel was running. As such, a rate of £39/night could not be beat.

Cons:
1. The room. I know I put this as a pro, and it was for the reasons I noted, but the room was incredibly small. In fairness, I did only book a single en suite, so can’t comment on other rooms, but the bathroom in particular was barely big enough to shower in. As I only stayed at the hotel for one night, this was no problem, but I could see it being a bit difficult for longer stays.
2. Hallway size. This is a rather small hotel after all, but a small hallway combined with a rather old elevator means that whenever anyone came to my floor in the middle of the night, I could hear it. Lighter sleepers might have issues being woken up throughout the night.

Overall, I enjoyed the Castleton, particularly as I only needed to stay there one night. I would certainly recommend it to anyone needing, or wanting, to stay near Paddington Station

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoneNixNada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The bathroom was soooo tiny (not even small would describe it), only a submarine would produce such small space. A big person couldn't possible manage with it. And the worst thing, the pictures shown were fake, didn't show the actual thing. Thank G' we immediately found something much better and left after the first horrible night........

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark0brien, General Manager at Castleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thanks you ‘Ana L’ for reviewing your stay at our hotel.
I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your time with us. I remember that you were originally booked to stay with us for 4 nights but on your first day decided to find somewhere cheaper to stay (my friend’s hotel around the corner). As widely publicised on all hotel review sites some of our rooms are compact and some have modular bathrooms so maybe a little research on your part would have been advisable before you booked a room with us. You and your husband were offered alternative rooms but you deemed them not fit and decided that you would rather stay with at my friends hotel around the corner. As you created such a fuss and were quite rude to the staff they decided to waive the late cancellation fee that would have been payable to the online booking portal you used and let you go without charge. The photographs of the rooms are taken in the hotel and therefore are a true representation of our standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed over night in a single room and couldn't have been happier. The staff were friendly and helpful, minding my bags before check in, and printing off my boarding passes. The breakfast was delicious. The bed was comfy and the room was very clean. New bathroom is great, and the shower was amazing.... One of the only hotels I've been to where water isn't leaking all over the floor. We plan to come back in january before or flight home.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Falcon Hotel
#658 of 1,077 in London
438 reviews
Stylotel
#603 of 1,077 in London
795 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#835 of 1,077 in London
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic House Hotel
#808 of 1,077 in London
348 reviews
Chrysos Hotel
#682 of 1,077 in London
480 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#415 of 1,077 in London
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleton Hotel

Address: 164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #902 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £55 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castleton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best value Paddington Hotels, and situated in the heart of London Paddington, The Castleton Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the capital. Located very close to Hyde Park, many of London's most famous attractions are within walking distance and Paddington Station, with its excellent transport links, is just a short walk away. The Heathrow Express train from Paddington can transport you to Heathrow Airport in only 15 minutes.The Castleton Hotel offers 46 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, central heating, satellite television, lift access and telephone. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 45GBP per night and up to four people from 89GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked English breakfast and all taxes.With comfortable rooms to ensure a restful night's sleep, and friendly staff available around the clock to offer whatever assistance you might require during your stay, The Castleton Hotel offers excellent value for money.We look forward to welcoming you to The Castleton - the ideal London Paddington Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing