We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but clean with a good location”
Review of Castleton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castleton Hotel
Ranked #904 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here in May, we had one triple and one double room. The rooms were small but clean and had a kettle in them. In the triple room the bathroom was bigger and more modern than in the double room. Beds were quite soft but after a day of sight seeing, sleep came easy. Windows were facing the street and sometimes you heard some noise but all in all it was not too loud.

Breakfast was very simple and it was the same every day (eggs,bacon,beans,fried tomatos,toast,cerial,orange juice,coffee or tea) but at least you got your cup of tea to start the day with. Personal at the check in was very friendly and gave you all the information you needed along with a city map.Also no problem storing the luggage after you check out.The hotel also provides a free wlan in the rooms.

Across the street from the hotel are pubs and restaurants and it's about 3 min walk to the Paddington station, where you ca find a super market,bakery etc.The price was good for such a central location and we would definately come again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finhuuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for Castleton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel’s location is absolutely perfect, just one block from Paddington station… super easy access for the tube and Heathrow Express (15 mins to Heathrow). I lived in London for many years so I know my way around extremely well, and this location takes some beating, it’s fabulous.

This is the third time I’ve stayed at this fantastic little hotel, and I was very impressed once again. My last visit was in 2008, it was great back then but is even better now. The refurbishments since my last visit (new bedrooms, new breakfast room, change to reception etc) are a great improvement.

On this visit I stayed for 2 nights with my 4 year old daughter. We had a very nice twin room on the ground floor which was a good size and big enough for us (keep in mind hotel rooms in London are always small no matter what your budget, so don’t expect a massive room). It was a lovely bright room, twin beds, tv, tea/coffee making facilities and a fantastic sparkling clean, brand new, modern bathroom (great size shower). The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Perfect, had everything we needed.

The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly.

The breakfast was very nice, a typical English breakfast (buffet style), juice, toast, bacon, eggs, sausage, tomatoes, baked beans etc. I like the new breakfast room and the new buffet style.

Lastly, I’d like to mention noise. Yes, the hotel was a little noisy but this really must be expected in ANY central London hotel (unless you’re staying at a super expensive 5* perhaps!). London is a very noisy city, so you must expect some noise. Take ear plugs and you won’t have a problem!!! We had no problem at all.

The Castleton Hotel does everything and more that it promises. It is a wonderful little budget hotel which offers brilliant value for money, is extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and fantastically located which, in my opinion, is very hard to beat.

Thank you to the team at Castleton, keep up the fantastic work. I’ll see you next time I'm in London, I wouldn’t stay anywhere else!!

Room Tip: Ground floor twin room nice size and had fantastic brand new bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbClogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Joaquin A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

A well-located, clean hotel room with good air conditioning, free in room wifi and breakfast included. Beds ok, small bathroom. For 2 nights a good budget hotel option in central London.

Ideally located around the corner (2 min walk) from Paddington Station. The area seemed very safe and quiet (we stayed midweek) with plenty of restaurant/pub options surrounding. Ask for a room on an upper level to reduce likelihood of street noise.

The room (ground floor G04) had 2 single beds which were comfortable. Not a lot of space for suitcases or storage but for 1 - 2 nights was ok. The bathroom is VERY SMALL but includes a good shower. The room is older and had a few painted patches but was overall clean and comfortable.

Breakfast (7am - 9am) was also ok - a selection of (quite nice) muesli and cornflakes but no fruit. Toast and (tasty) jams provided and tea/coffee. There was also a hot buffet of fried egg, bacon, baked beans and what appeared to be tinned tomatoes.

All the hotel staff were helpful and friendly.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank victoriahansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I choosed this hotel due to it's location closed to the Paddington station. The adress is Sussex gardend but my room was practically on London street and I had to be with closed curtains all the time to avoid passing by people to look into my room. Actually it can't be described as a room, it was more like a closet. There was no chair or laguage stand in the room and the suitcase had hardly a place to be opened.
Breakfast is not something I wish to elaborate on, just avoid.

Room Tip: Avoid ground rooms (G) facing London street
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonaR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel was booked because of its proximity to Paddington Station as well as to multiple tube lines.. Having stayed in London a number of times, location is paramount if you wish to avail yourself of public transportation and for this the hotel is ideal .

The rooms are smaller than they appear in the photos. Closet space is minimal, shelf space or dresser drawers basically non existent. You will live out of your suitcase which you will need to place on your bed often. The beds are adequate. Housekeeping regular and the rooms clean.The air-conditioning works properly and there are no offensive smells.

The bathrooms are similar to those in a small ship: very compact . You would consider it roomy only if you compared it to an onboard airline restroom. The shower is very compact. A circular depression with a round curtain. Water pressure and hot water most sufficient. However, if you might be considered large in circumference or claustrophobic, you may have a problem.

Breakfast consists of a buffet of orange juice, cereal, eggs, bacon, stewed tomatoes, beans,sausages and plentiful toast as well as tea or coffee. More than adequate and actually generous. After a few days, however, you might wish for an additional choice of yogurt and fruit which is not provided.

The neighborhood is picturesque, safe, quiet and the hotel itself is one block away from Paddington Station. Your short walk to the station will have you pass numerous restaurants, small groceries, nearby banks, a small park, as well as a McDonald's and BurgerKing..

The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The hotel provides all the needed necessities without frills. If you can live with downsizing, then you will have an enjoyable vacation , speedy transportation and save some money on accomodations. If not, proceed elsewhere.

Room Tip: Lower your expectations. Choose a room on the 3rd floor. All rooms are the same in size except for a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasA224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel has a very good location because it is just a few meters away from Paddington Station and also within easy walking distance to a lot of London attractions and shopping areas.

However it is far from being a 4 star hotel (as the website advertises). The rooms are very very small but at least clean and comfortable beds. The breakfast is english and that is basically it! There is no real choice apart from sausages, bacon, eggs, beans and toast. So if you want a healthy start to your day . . . forget it. But since we were in England we indulged.

Reception is 24 hour and the personnel very friendly.

All in all I would recommend this hotel mostly because location in London is very essential. Just do not go with high expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Stylotel
Stylotel
#600 of 1,072 in London
777 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westpoint Hotel
Westpoint Hotel
#832 of 1,072 in London
782 reviews
0.0 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#661 of 1,072 in London
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#813 of 1,072 in London
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#691 of 1,072 in London
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queensway Hotel
Queensway Hotel
#825 of 1,072 in London
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleton Hotel

Address: 164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #904 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £69 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castleton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best value Paddington Hotels, and situated in the heart of London Paddington, The Castleton Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the capital. Located very close to Hyde Park, many of London's most famous attractions are within walking distance and Paddington Station, with its excellent transport links, is just a short walk away. The Heathrow Express train from Paddington can transport you to Heathrow Airport in only 15 minutes.The Castleton Hotel offers 46 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, central heating, satellite television, lift access and telephone. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 45GBP per night and up to four people from 89GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked English breakfast and all taxes.With comfortable rooms to ensure a restful night's sleep, and friendly staff available around the clock to offer whatever assistance you might require during your stay, The Castleton Hotel offers excellent value for money.We look forward to welcoming you to The Castleton - the ideal London Paddington Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing