We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, great location but terrible hotel”
Review of My Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
My Place Hotel
Ranked #930 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice staff, great location but terrible hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

I was nervous about staying here after reading the reviews and I was right to be.

First the good points: nice staff. On reception and great location in Earls Court by the tube and exhibition centre. Comfortable mattress

Bad points: public areas are very old and carpets looked very unclean; I asked for a room facing the gardens but it was still VERY noisy from the late-bar; the room looked as if it hadn't been touched since 1980, very dated and it felt unclean but that may just have been because everything was do old.

Overall: I know £105 for a single isn't unusual for this area but I would not recommend staying here even for a night if noise or cleanliness are factors for you. The easy hotel would've been a better choice in hindsight and at less money

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiangarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    106
    139
    81
    109
See reviews for
67
132
79
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nothing to write home about. Hard mattress, flat pillows, dirty phone, dirty remote, old dingy blankets, room warm and stuffy, even with window open in April- can't imagine it during the summer. Breakfast... not much there, hard boiled eggs, big bowl of yogurt , lunch meat, in fact never ate it, went out every morning. Card kept de-magnitizing, in fact every day of a week stay, small inconvenience but annoying none the less. But the biggest complaint I have is the night club located in the basement. Kept us up well past 2:30 a.m. Friday and Saturday even later than that because a fight broke out and spilled into the streets, police were called and the event went on for well over 2 hours. Had to be up early to catch a flight, no sleep at all. One positive- location close to tube, grocery store and McDonald's.
.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Mt Sterling
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel is located next to a bar and is loud in the evenings. A fight broke on our last night there and kept us up until 3:00 a.m.The room was small, hot and looked like it had been furnished from Salvation Army. Curtains were missing hooks and couldn't be closed. Had to use a hair pin to close the curtains in the evening. Breakfast consisted of a plate of one type of cheese and lunch meat that looked like it had been out of the refrigerator too long, cereal and yogurt. No bread of any kind was available. Location was the only plus for this hotel. Located nexted to a Grocery Store, McDonalds and Tube.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the court yard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I spent three nights in this hotel, after booking a travel package, and they passed pleasantly enough. The tube station is literally right down the road and there are several ATM's that take Visa and Mastercard nearby, as well as lots of places to eat. Frankly, i found the neighborhood to be lovely. There was lots of activity without being too intimidating and there were several small markets nearby to grab a few groceries, giving you an option to keep things inexpensive or splash out on something pricier.

The room itself was small, to an American, but also plenty of space for me. It contained a fan, a twin bed, a tiny wall-mounted table, a chair, a night stand, a small closet, a blowdryer, a room safe, and a very small wall mounted television. I did not feel like the hotel was thoroughly clean - the bedframe was very ornate and plainly had not been well dusted in months, there were rust stains in the tub and a peeling plastic cover over one of the side panels. It had also been some time since the bed had been pulled out to vacuum along the baseboards. Many of the "things" in the hotel seemed to be in some state of disrepair - from an (extremely) drippy coffee/tea machine to a broken vending machine in the lobby and a disorganized back garden used clearly for storage. That having been said, my linens smelled fresh, the shower curtain was practically new, and the surfaces were all very clean. (I think this was a situation of a hotel in need of a management walk-through and a weekend off to invest time into making repairs and detail cleaning, rather than more of a "light a match and walk away" situation.)

The staff, however, was extremely friendly and helpful. I am, by my very nature, tremendously anxious and was travelling internationally, and alone, for the first time. When I arrived I was a nervous wreck and they let me sit in their lounge while I waited for my room to be ready. One of the members of staff chatted with me for a bit about things to see and do and made a recommendation on how to spend a day. I took her up on it the next day and am very glad that I did. The continental breakfast consisted of yogurt (unflavored and berry, I believe), two types of cereal, orange juice, milk, meat, cheese, toast and two types of jam.

To speak to actual complaints for me, I am an avid member of the internet generation. My room was on the third floor and the wi-fi signal did not reach me, which meant I needed to spend several hours in the lounge each night to reach family members and upload photos. The situation, while not untenable, was also not ideal. A signal booster might be in order. Lastly, the walls at this hotel are paper thin and the mattresses are very very loud and squeaky. Having suffered four time changes in two weeks, my sleep schedule is slightly out of whack and I was certain I was annoying my neighbors every time I tossed and turned, as well as eavesdropping on their personal conversations.

Overall, I would absolutely stay at this hotel again, because I loved the neighborhood and I found it to be perfectly adequate, but when giving recommendations, I would qualify it with the above concerns about cleanliness, internet access, and general disrepair.

Room Tip: Room's on the first floor will have the best en suite wi-fi access - any higher and it's unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kay215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our room on the fourth floor was small but adequate, and the bed comfortable. Overlooked the back garden which, in early March, is not exactly in full bloom, but it sure beats looking out at a brick wall. Staff were very helpful with printing some documents we needed, and letting us store our luggage after check-out. Morning buffet was a bonus: juice and coffee, cereals, hard boiled eggs, ham and cheese, fruit and yogurt - more than I expected for a continental breakfast. It was easy to fill up and then just head out for a day of sightseeing, made all the easier because the tube station is just steps away.
Note: some earlier reviews included nasty photos, Tripadvisor should take these down as they do NOT reflect the current state of this property.

Room Tip: Upper floor on the back (garden) side for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Location was great but honestly,... the bed was so bad and the place was so small..
If you don't care about sleeping no biggie because its right next to the tube station so location was greatttt

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here for one night after a night out in town. First impressions are that the hotel is uncared for - broken vending machine in reception. The back garden has got lots of stuff thrown in it.
Our room was very small and when we got into bed, we realised that the duvet cover was stained. The receptionist on duty was pleasant and allocated us another, larger room - however the duvet was also filthy in that one.
The bedding in the third room seemed to be cleaner, but overall the room itself was pretty shabby - greying net curtains, dirt in the corners, stained carpet.
It was also incredibly noisy outside but the room was too hot to bear with closed curtains.
Breakfast was adequate - toast and cereal.
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bod75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#840 of 1,068 in London
723 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#393 of 1,068 in London
164 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#583 of 1,068 in London
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#693 of 1,068 in London
279 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#567 of 1,068 in London
645 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#736 of 1,068 in London
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Place Hotel

Property: My Place Hotel
Address: 1-3 Trebovir Road | Earl's Court, London SW5 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #930 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Place Hotel is located on a quiet street in the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea. The hotel is located just seconds from Earls Court Underground Station (Piccadilly and District Lines) with quick and easy access to London's West End and Heathrow AirportThe hotel comprises of 49 bedrooms and contains a mixture of single, double, executive double, twin and triple bedrooms which all have en-suite bathrooms. The hotel is spread out over 6 floors and with lift access to all floors. Single rooms comprise of one single bed; Double rooms comprise of one standard double bed; Executive Double rooms comprise of one standard double bed with a sofa area; Twin rooms comprise of two single beds; Triple rooms comprise of either three single beds or one double and one single bed.Breakfast is served between 8am- 9.30am. Continental Breakfast is complimentary and consists of toast, cheese, ham, butter, hard-boiled eggs, jams, yoghurts, fruit cocktails, cereals and muesli. Full English breakfasts cost £9.95 per person and must be ordered a day in advance. Alternative options for breakfast are also available from our breakfast menu. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, however, the signal strengh in some rooms can be relatively low. If this is the case we have a lounge area and conference room on the ground floor which is available to all guests 24 hours a day. We do not have a carpark at the hotel and advise all guests who drive to the hotel to park their cars in a nearby carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your My Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Place London
Place Hotel London
Hotel My Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing