We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London trip dec 2013”
Review of My Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
My Place Hotel
Ranked #920 of 1,067 Hotels in London
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“London trip dec 2013”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My Place Hotel was quiet, they have very friendly staff, clean rooms, and hotel is close to tube, and bus stops. It is located off a busy street and there are food places, groceries, banks, and shops conveniently located. I would stay there again. Not downtown but, a quick ride on the tube you can get to where ever you need to be. Great for the money. I was always on the go, so I didn't go to the free breakfast. My room was clean, I needed more towels that were given which was not a problem with house cleaning. The staff was very accommodating to my questions and needs.

Room Tip: I was located on the 3rd floor for the first 2 days, but it was too warm so the staff moved me to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwctimfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    106
    138
    81
    107
See reviews for
65
132
79
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Although the location of this hotel offers very convenient links to the underground and the staff were very pleasant, our room was not of a very good standard. The bed linen appeared not to have been changed before we arrived, there were hairs on the bed and the mattress was heavily stained on one side. The shower over the bath did not have a shower head. This was reported to the reception but nothing was done. We also found hairs in the bathtub on arrival. The breakfast was certainly not three stars and very uninspiring. We had the choice of tinned peaches or a bowl of watery yoghurt but we opted for cereal and toast which was okay. We did expect more from a 3 star hotel. The card key took at least six attempts to open the door of our room. The rooms do need to be updated. This hotel has six floors and only one lift which tended to be temperamental.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flamingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

we recently stopped in the hotel my place hotel in earls court, it was a excellent location as it was literally 2 mins round the corner from earls court tube and earls court area was 5 mins in the opposite location , the hotel it self was ok friendly enough and clean but it was a 3 star and you felt it. breakfast was continental unless you booked the day before for a English, there isn't any tea or coffee facilities' in your room but in the restaurant you could help your self to tea or instant coffee all day free of charge. There are 6 floors so the lift is a godsend if like us you were on the 6th floor unless like me it broke down on the day you had to take your case down and then the winding staircase is frightening. on hole I had a good experience and would go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osgood, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The location of this hotel is incredibly convenient if you plan to take the tube while in London. Earl's Court station with access to the District, Circle and Picadilly lines, is just around the corner. The staff is friendly and helpful. Those were the high points. Our FIRST room was very small, but based on the previous reviews that was expected so I wasn't too upset about that. We realized late our first night that the toilet would not flush... the next morning after breakfast, our key card did not work. The front desk tried to re-program the key, but the lock was broken so we had to pack up and change rooms. Our second room was bigger, but had the worst bed I have ever tried to sleep on; I am not a picky person, but that mattress should be thrown out... I could feel every spring. On our last day I requested a wake up call so that we could make our early flight. Thank god that call was just a backup to our cell phone alarm because that call never came and we would have missed our flight. If I could do it over again, I would spend a little extra money and book with the next hotel on the list.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mmterrill98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY,NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I spent 9 nights at My Place in Sept 2013. It is literally around the corner from the Earl's Court Tube station which is a stop from Heathrow airport on the Piccadilly line [so damn convenient], and a very easy connection to all of London.

This charming hotel, built in the early 1900's, does show its age and furniture can be worn and shabby, BUT it is kept very clean, great shower, elevator, cable TV, helpful and very pleasant front desk, good breakfast [and if it nice out, they have a patio], many restaurants, supermarkets, pubs, pharmacy, internet cafes, etc. within a two blocks of this colorful area.

Drawbacks? Well, very spotty Wi-Fi connection, and none in the rooms. But an internet café across the street is one pound/hr...nice deal.

I certainly would stay there again and for the price [about $85/night]it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

I love the location of this hotel and would return just for that reason. The hotel and rooms themselves are very outdated but clean. You will love the nice hot showers with good water pressure. The complimentary continental breakfast is decent. If you don't mind a very basic room, this hotel is a great choice for price and location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lymac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Very good localtion. Very near to Earls's Court Underground Station, so it is very easy to visit Tower Hill, Tower Bridge, London City and more. The Hotel staff are very polite and helpfull, and the hotelroom were held very clean and nice.

When booking this hotel, choose among the rooms which Windows are to the garden site !!!!!!!

Room Tip: When booking this hotel, choose among the rooms which Windows are to the garden site !!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimFynbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#853 of 1,067 in London
717 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#590 of 1,067 in London
444 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#388 of 1,067 in London
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#693 of 1,067 in London
270 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#733 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#557 of 1,067 in London
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Place Hotel

Property: My Place Hotel
Address: 1-3 Trebovir Road | Earl's Court, London SW5 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #920 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Place Hotel is located on a quiet street in the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea. The hotel is located just seconds from Earls Court Underground Station (Piccadilly and District Lines) with quick and easy access to London's West End and Heathrow AirportThe hotel comprises of 49 bedrooms and contains a mixture of single, double, executive double, twin and triple bedrooms which all have en-suite bathrooms. The hotel is spread out over 6 floors and with lift access to all floors. Single rooms comprise of one single bed; Double rooms comprise of one standard double bed; Executive Double rooms comprise of one standard double bed with a sofa area; Twin rooms comprise of two single beds; Triple rooms comprise of either three single beds or one double and one single bed.Breakfast is served between 8am- 9.30am. Continental Breakfast is complimentary and consists of toast, cheese, ham, butter, hard-boiled eggs, jams, yoghurts, fruit cocktails, cereals and muesli. Full English breakfasts cost £9.95 per person and must be ordered a day in advance. Alternative options for breakfast are also available from our breakfast menu. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, however, the signal strengh in some rooms can be relatively low. If this is the case we have a lounge area and conference room on the ground floor which is available to all guests 24 hours a day. We do not have a carpark at the hotel and advise all guests who drive to the hotel to park their cars in a nearby carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Place London
Place Hotel London
Hotel My Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing