We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay on the lower floors!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
My Place Hotel
Ranked #914 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Carbondale, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay on the lower floors!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here on two different trips to London. The first time, in April 2012, we were on the 3rd floor. It was okay. Good price for London, excellent location near the tube and restaurants. This time, however, we were on the 6th floor in June. It was stifling hot, almost impossible to sleep. We got terrible colds, probably from the fan blowing on us at night in order to try to sleep. Of course, they told us there wasn't anything else available. Miserable stay. Would never have come back if our first stay had been so uncomfortable. They need to do some basic maintenance. The ceiling tiles in the hall outside the elevator on the 6th floor has disgusting and scary looking black stains covering a huge area. It is beyond gross. It would take very little money, time and effort to fix that. Makes you wonder how much the owner cares.

Room Tip: If you stay in the warmer months, make sure your room is on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    104
    131
    77
    101
See reviews for
61
125
74
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed there because the location was convenient, will not stay there again. We found a cockroach in the room and were made to deal with it ourselves, we managed to trap it under a glass and slide it out of the room. We were told someone would deal with it then, but the next morning it was still there and when we checked out, not even an apology for this! Staff were friendly up until that point but did not understand out concerns, I expected some kind of apology for what happened! Not the cleanest of hotels so glad their breakfast was too late as we had to be out early both mornings. No hair dryer provided in the room or tea/ coffee making facilities which I found odd as most places provide this!

Room Tip: I would avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s_santoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived early and were able to leave luggage in a back room, but when we came back at check-in time the room wasn't ready. Location was handy, but we found a cockroach in our room, and had to get rid of it ourselves. Toilet seat was broken and bathroom floor tiles were wobbly. It didn't seem dirty as such but there were little cobwebs around the room, which made it look a bit tired. Breakfast was served from 8am, which seems a bit late. We had to leave early so couldn't have any, but considering the cockroach perhaps that wasn't a bad thing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have never written a review before but felt compelled to write one about this hotel. Firstly our room was small, there was no air cond even thought there was a thermostat on the wall and we couldn't leave a window open which made the room really hot, the furniture had broken handles, the curtains had stains, paint was pealing off the walls, the toilet didn't flush properly and the room needed a good clean. The continental breakfast was ordinary, the dining room had paint pealing off the walls and the outside facilities had rubbish on the ground and also needed a clean. the staff were not friendly and found it hard to smile. On a positive note the location to Earls Ct tube was great and the My Place nite club wasn't open when we were there in early July.

Room Tip: Not sure if that would be possible at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

It is very cliner and qute big room. The best location (5 min) near metro Earl's court. 15 min before centre and 10 min. to realwaystaton Victoria/ Very poor breakfast and no internet in room, and quite slowly in lobby.

Room Tip: If you don't need to use Internet, it is a good variant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oksana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is well located, and the staff, especially the breakfast waitress, are pleasant and helpful.
Shame about the standard of cleanliness and maintenance. None of the windows in the top floor twin room could be opened, and we spent an uncomfortable hot night without ventilation.
Peeling paint in the bathroom ceiling was flaking into the bath and a strong smell of cigarette smoke was coming in through a dirty vent. The carpet was badly stained, the sheer curtains were filthy and two of the blinds were broken, as was the headboard on one of the beds.
The lovely secluded garden off the breakfast room would be so nice if the rubbish lying around was removed and the garden weeded, and decking scrubbed.
Come on owners, you have a gem here, give it a polish!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I am very biased on my opinion of this hotel because I am British-obsessed and it was my first night in London and my first time being in England. I was blinded by love. Let's start with the positives: Excellent location almost literally around the block from the Earls Court tube station and the neighborhood is adorable. There were many great eateries and shops close by. We ate at Nandos one night and it was really good! The room was clean and I appreciated the fact that the towels were sweetly folded and placed next to the hotel information packet. Hey, I'm easily won over.
I wouldn't call the rest negatives, necessarily. Nothing about our stay was unsafe, unsavory or uneasy. This is just FYI: Upon gratefully sitting on a toilet that was not housed in a closet, I almost went for a ride across the bathroom, as the toilet seat was in no way physically attached to the toilet. That was interesting. Also, it took me a bit to get the hang of how to flush the toilet too. After a bit I found the lever had to be pumped and then we were in business. None of the furniture matched, but that just added to the charm. The bed was the strangest bed I've ever slept in. It kind of leaned to one side, yet simultaneously had a Grand Canyon in the middle, so you didn't know if you were coming or going. Go on the free walking tour of London and you will be almost too tired to notice your boyfriend rolling over on top of you all night. Probably the strangest part of our stay was the continental breakfast. I have an open mind about new food, but the brown mystery meat and mammoth bowl of room temperature yogurt was just not appealing. My suggestion: go across the street to the bakery and have a hot crossed bun instead!
All in all, this is not a horrible place to stay. It's not fancy, but it's affordable and safe. Win win.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LadyGodiva30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#841 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#410 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#570 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#528 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#485 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#658 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Place Hotel

Property: My Place Hotel
Address: 1-3 Trebovir Road | Earl's Court, London SW5 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #914 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Place Hotel is located on a quiet street in the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea. The hotel is located just seconds from Earls Court Underground Station (Piccadilly and District Lines) with quick and easy access to London's West End and Heathrow AirportThe hotel comprises of 49 bedrooms and contains a mixture of single, double, executive double, twin and triple bedrooms which all have en-suite bathrooms. The hotel is spread out over 6 floors and with lift access to all floors. Single rooms comprise of one single bed; Double rooms comprise of one standard double bed; Executive Double rooms comprise of one standard double bed with a sofa area; Twin rooms comprise of two single beds; Triple rooms comprise of either three single beds or one double and one single bed.Breakfast is served between 8am- 9.30am. Continental Breakfast is complimentary and consists of toast, cheese, ham, butter, hard-boiled eggs, jams, yoghurts, fruit cocktails, cereals and muesli. Full English breakfasts cost £9.95 per person and must be ordered a day in advance. Alternative options for breakfast are also available from our breakfast menu. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, however, the signal strengh in some rooms can be relatively low. If this is the case we have a lounge area and conference room on the ground floor which is available to all guests 24 hours a day. We do not have a carpark at the hotel and advise all guests who drive to the hotel to park their cars in a nearby carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your My Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Place London
Place Hotel London
Hotel My Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing