We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Apartment Shame about smoke detector”
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #443 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Apartment Shame about smoke detector”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend
Good Points;- Nice Apartment, well furnished,very clean crockery & utensils included
Breakfast in the basket very good; Juice, cornflakes, milk, fruit, yogurt ,butter, jam & rolls
Bad Points;- Smoke detector outside our room kept bleeping every 25 seconds
10pm sat to 10am sun, reception tried to help, engineer finally came on Monday
General comments;- kitchen very hi tech" NEFF appliances" could do with basic instructions on microwave ( all symbols).Coat hooks on wall by entrance door for wet coats would help.Coasters for glass table tops. Would still return though

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReturnTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and also for taking time to share your experience on your last visit to 196 Bishopsgate on our TripAdvisor page.

I look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back at 196 Bishopsgate in the near future, should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    158
    57
    21
    9
See reviews for
145
122
27
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
817 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This place occupies a busy location right opposite the tube station and in the middle of everything. The reception area is very small leading to the elevator area that takes you to your floor. The apartment we booked was overlooking the busy road and the windows could not retain the noises of the road though.

However the apartment was simply amazing: a hallway leading to the sitting area with kitchen to the left and bathroom to the right with bedroom. You could also access the bedroom from the reception/sitting area and all the spaces were simly massive, furnished in dark colours punctuated with deep blue pillows, all looking very cool and trendy.

Probably the ones who would like to book this place would have to request apartments overlooking the back of the building to avoid being kept awake by the constant noise of the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TERRAvelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and also for taking time to share your experience on your last visit to 196 Bishopsgate on our TripAdvisor page.

I'm sorry to hear that the front part of the building wasn't your perfect cup of tea, most guest do perfer the view of the buildings and the lights especially in the night. Despite this, It's nice to know that you loved the apartment.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future and do not hesitate to get contact our reservations department or myself for any enquiries.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The position is great right by the bus stop. The studios are well equipped and clean. Would definitely stay here again. Nice bathroom and good breakfast delivered to your room. The reception is small but the staff are very helpful. Really close to Liverpool St Station and great shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandsResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words reviewing your stay at 196 Bishopsgate. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience; from the comfort of the apartment, the location of the property and the service you encountered.

I shall pass your positive feedback to the team who looked after you and I shall look forward to welcoming you back to 196 Bishopsgate in the near future,

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at 196 for three nights for a weekend break and just booked it through super breaks and didn't know what really to expect , especially a 4 star apartment in London compared to a 3 star , one thousand bed hotel at the same price . Well we will not be using a hotel again, the 196 is directly opposite Liverpool underground and station and four stops on a direct link from Kings Cross so no swapping and changing lines with luggage .
The apartment are lovely and clean and modern with everything that you would need for a stay. It was so nice to have space to walk around and relax when you arrive back after a long day in London and make a coffee etc .
The continental breakfast in the morning delivered to your room is lovely .
The staff are all happy and polite and can't do enough to help you and the reception is manned 24 hours and they even looked after our luggage on the last day so we could get a bit more shopping in before our return home .
Faults ,I can't pick any , it was just a refreshing chance from a hotel
Good points ,everything it was like have your own little piece of London while you are there
Overall excellent for the price you pay compared to the same star hotel and definitely will be using again if we visit London .

Room Tip: One bed apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the high scores and praise on our trip advisor page, I am always thrilled to read positive feedbacks like yours.

This is the type of experience we strive to provide to all of our guests, I will be delighted to share your comments with the team. We look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We booked two studio apartments.
Pros First : Location is EXCELLENT: well connected through sub and buses (one scenic bus is 23 you take it from the other side of the Liverpool station), Live area if you come back at night, close Tesco supermarket, very close KFC [HALAL] and the station has shops and services. The Apartment has literally EVERYTHING you have at home. A/C, WiFi worked fine. kitchen is well supplied and comfortable to move around. Iron, iron board and Washer/Dryer were a bliss. Bed was comfortable. Cleaning everyday. No funny smells. Most of the staff are polite or friendly. I can't really judge how noisy it is as our rooms were on the inward side. Breakfast was sufficient and arrives early (a croissant or two small ones + jam + butter + orange juice+ cereals + milk).
Downsides: bathroom ventilation and lighting - but there's mirror outside -, extra bed not comfy, one particular staff member was rude and small hotel sign. But none ruined our vacation.

If you like a great location with the ability of making your own meals and doing your laundry in, then I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biologisth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and also for taking time to share your experience on your last visit to 196 Bishopsgate on our TripAdvisor page. you couldn’t have summarised your experience any better.

It is always nice to know that our guests have been well looked after and very reassuring to know that all our efforts have been appreciated from your side.

All your comments will be shared with all the relevant departments and will be looked into.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have just spend 2 nights here. We arrived at 6am from an o/s flight as our room would not be free until the pm the staff allowed us to use the office shower etc and stored our bags while we went sightseeing.
Very easy hotel to find right across the road from Liverpool st station.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. We are in a lovely quiet studio apartment with full kitchen,washing machine/ dryer,heat pump , hair dryer ,& wifi in our room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words reviewing your stay at 196 Bishopsgate. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience; from the comfort of the apartment, the location of the property and the service you encountered.

The team would be proud to read that once again they were able to accomplish the mission of satisfying another happy departing guest.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any assistance with your future booking. Hope to welcome you soon.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Good hotel in a good location, not too noisy. It's walking distance from Liverpool street station so it's easy to jump on the tube and get around london that way. Staff were friendly and the rooms are great. There's a supermarket just down the road about 3 mins walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very please to read you had a fulfilling stay, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers, also thank you for the high scores and praises. This is the type of experience we strive to provide to all of our guests.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you back at 196 Bishopsgate in the near future, should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#162 of 1,067 in London
144 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#48 of 1,067 in London
1,871 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Property: 196 Bishopsgate
Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#226 Business Hotel in London
#300 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing