We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location”
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #461 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
680 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

These apartments have a great location, just in front of the Liverpool station. So, metro, trains and many stores are right there, making it quite convenient. In the opposite direction (the area behind the apartments) there are many options on Indian restaurants; and not so far it's possible to take the night tour about the Jack the ripper's history.

My husband and I stayed 3 times here when our daughter was living nearby. At this time, we stayed just a couple of days. The apartment is light and well decorated. It has a separated bedroom, bathroom with a reasonably shower and living room including a small open fully equipped kitchen. makes it convenient for having for instance breakfast by yourself, because of the appliances. In case someone prefers no having the trouble to prepare his/her own breakfast, there is an option of ordering it to be delivered in the morning. It comes in a basket with milk, bread, fruits, yogurt and so.

It is well cleaned and the service good. Although it could profit of having some renovation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words reviewing your stay at 196 Bishopsgate. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience; from the comfort of the apartment, the location of the property and the service you encountered.

We look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    155
    56
    21
    9
See reviews for
143
120
27
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We've stayed twice, so we tried 2 flats. The flats are big with 2 separate rooms, a nice bathroom, an equipped kitchen, 2 (or 3) TVs, it is very comfortable. It is across from Liverpool Street station (metro and train), what is very convenient. There is a good supermarket very close to the flat, a few restaurants, pubs, and fast food restaurants nearby. There is 24 hour service at the reception and everyday cleaning service in the flat. People were very helpful. The street is a little busy and a little noisy (1st floor), but it does not bother because the rooms are on the back of the flat, so it is silent. The beds are comfortable, the sheets are good quality. In the first flat we stayed at, there were 3 or 4 stairs in the corridor, and in the second one, there were 6 or 8 stairs, what was a little inconvenient.

Room Tip: Ask for flats with the rooms on the back and few stairs in the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Amalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on our page on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at 196 Bishopsgate on both occasions. all your comment will be taken on board and I hope to be able to welcome you back at the residence in the near future. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel seems unable to control large rowdy groups that make their way into apartments for parties. After being kept awake by a loud party until 1 am on a Friday night, I'm about to experience the same again the following night. Security cameras don't exist and there's little monitoring of who comes and goes. Whilst clean and in a convenient location, if you want to actually sleep at night, best to stay elsewhere

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to hear that you had a bad experience during your last stay with us at 196 Bishopsgate, what you've shared on our page is not something that is normal at our property such as parties; un-controlling large crowds etc. knowing our major target market being business guest since we near to the financial district in London.

Our property is well secure based on security where no one is allow to access entry to the hotel main door besides using the room key cards or opened personally by our staff. We also have a 24 hour continuous surveillance cameras through-out key areas of the hotel.

I hope welcome you once again to 196 Bishopsgate Service apartments.


Regards

Ali Alfred

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was the all around best value and best location of any hotel in London! Its a great place to stay because its really easy to get around with the train station and underground tube so close. Very friendly receptionists, very easy to check in there. Love the simplicity of the rooms and comfort of the bed! I enjoyed having my own kitchen and refrigerator in the room, it just makes the trip that much easier. I was looking for price and location when choosing my place to stay and this was the #1 place on my search. Being centrally located allowed me to see all the sights in the city. There are also many different restaurants and bars within walking distance. There is huge value to this hotel with everything they offer and where its located. I would recommend this hotel for families or single travelers. Thank you for a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words reviewing your stay at 196 Bishopsgate. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience; from the comfort of the apartment, the location of the property and the services you encountered.

I shall pass your positive feedback to the team who looked after you and I shall look forward to welcoming you back to 196 Bishopsgate in the near future

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My family and I recently stayed at 196 Bishopsgate and we were rather happy with our stay. When we first arrived I was a bit disappointed with the apt/room as I think it looks a lot more open and spacious in the photos however, after unpacking and using our suitcases as doorstops, we did appreciate the space and how it gave us some sense of privacy with 5 people in one apartment. The rooms are very clean however, there was a bit of a strange smell. I am not sure if its the cleaning products or the air from outside, but it did smell a bit strange. The bathroom was also clean, lots of towels, good shower and tub and yes, a washer dryer. We wish that there was a sleeper couch in the living room as it looks like someone can sleep on the couch but in the pictures it looked a lot bigger and its only really the size of a loveseat, resulting in us having to request a cot at a nightly cost of 55 pounds per night. The location is ideal, being a half a block from Liverpool Station and easily connected to many popular tourist spots. In general, the neighborhood around is also great, full of life during the week and with many conveniences, such as a great cafe downstairs for easy grab and go coffee and snacks. Overall, would stay again but just this time a bit more informed about the layout and space.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and also for taking time to share your experience on your last visit to 196 Bishopsgate on our TripAdvisor page.

I am really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and everything that surrounds our property. We never received any complaints about having strange smells in the apartments but it's something I can always pass to the relevant department to have a look into. Thank you for bringing your concerns to me and we will surely have a look into them to ensure that your next stay is seamless.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 196 Bishopsgate.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We rented a one bedroom apartment for an 7 night stay. The unit was comfortable and well furnished, quiet at night and immaculately clean. We arrived before the check in time, and the staff person immediately gave us access to the unit. The queen sized bed was comfortable, and the kitchen fully equipped with every necessary appliance/ implement to cook a meal.Individually controlled heat, and a very small foyer was perfect for luggage storage. The daily maid service was meticulous and the unit was always pristine when we returned. There is a combination washer/dryer in a small utility area off the bathroom. Only possible negative is that the (very small) elevator does not stop at every floor- we had to pull our bags up six stairs, and through a fire door.Its ideal for the independent traveler- but if you are looking for a full service hotel with concierge, tour desk, on site dining etc this is not for you- it is essentially an apartment building with a reception desk and maid service. The property is ideally located for London visitors- directly across the street from a major Tube hub station, and a block from a fully stocked Tesco, M &S Food, etc.It is not a "touristy" area,it is full of high rise offices, banks, etc. Everything you could need is nearby-a pharmacy next door, shops steps away and pubs and cafes abound in the neighborhood, which we felt was safe. The property is very near the Roman wall boundary, and an easy walk to the Tower Bridge, the Gherkin building, financial district and several small interesting museums. St. Paul's is about a 25 minute walk or a 5/10 minute Tube ride.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and also for taking time to share your experience on your last visit to 196 Bishopsgate on our TripAdvisor page.

I shall pass your positive feedback to the team who looked after you and I shall look forward to welcoming you back to 196 Bishopsgate in the near future,

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diemen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We are from the Netherlands, we have been several times before in London, but this was the first time at Bishopsgate. For us very easy to reach, we came by boat and train. The location is opposite the train/underground. We liked the environment. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean

Room Tip: We had a good without asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback here following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read your comments, in particular about our fantastic staff. On behalf of all of us here, We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#147 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#42 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Property: 196 Bishopsgate
Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#226 Business Hotel in London
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing