We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel for a short business trip in the City”
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #461 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for a short business trip in the City”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Always prefer this hotel over other options around Liverpool street.... Very convenient location, good service, nice rates.....Just ask the concierge to turn on the heater during cold periods - it can get really cold in the room........

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Katia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience and for recommending us to the readers of this website. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again for your kind comments and I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you back at 196 Bishopsgate in the near future, should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    155
    56
    21
    9
See reviews for
143
120
27
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edina MN
Level Contributor
180 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is probably the 8th time I've stayed here over the past 6 years and the pluses are still pluses, but the minuses continue to grow. On the plus side, the location can't be beat, the neighbourhood Tesco is a real plus, the size of the rooms are terrific, the full kitchen is excellent and the internet is free and quite good. Also, I had a mixup on our reservation (my fault) and the reservation team was extremely helpful and creative.

However....they must screen the people at reception for a complete unwillingness to smile and be friendly. I would think there is a system to identify repeat customers and welcome them back. Our room (103) faced the main street and one of the windows wouldn't close leaving a gap at the top of the window allowing air and street noise to blast in. We reported this and nothing was ever done about it and no one ever contacted us. (This surely couldn't have been new and housekeeping must have been aware of this.)

Not only did we have the street noise, but one of the bedrooms was right next to all of the heating and air conditioning equipment which rested on top of a roof at the same level as the room. We needed to run fans at night to mask all of this noise.

The furniture in the living room is really beat up as well and should be replaced or reupholstered.

The mattresses were thin and you could feel the springs/coils. These were supposedly new, but you would never see this kind of mattress at a similar property in London. Additionally, there is now box spring; this is just a mattress on top of a wooden platform. Again, this is not a normal occurrence for a higher quality property.

I would really love to see the management of this property spend time there. I've stayed at the nearby Town Hall property which is quite deluxe and quite special; there is no reason that the same level of TLC can't be applied to 196.

I would stay at 196 every time I come to London if they could make this happen.

I filled out a survey after staying here and got a response from the Operations manager. They offered me a 15% discount the next time I stayed there. I would much rather be told that the issues have been addressed and fixed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback, your repeated business and also for taking time to share your experience on your last visit to 196 Bishopsgate on our TripAdvisor page.

I'm sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your full expectations on this trip. We are constantly listening to our guest to improve our services here at 196 Bishopsgate.

Friendliness and warm welcomes are some of the things we place a lot of emphasis on, and I can assure you that further training would be in place to improve the service at our reception. I will also bring up your other concerns to higher manager for further investigation.

Although I'm aware you've stayed with us on countless occassion with great lodging experience I urge for another opportunity to stay with us to rehabilitate your last view about us.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I am recommending 196 Bishopsgate to colleagues and friends visiting London. For business trips, the location is great: right in the City, close proximity to business meeting and it offers a nice oasis between meetings (with wireless connection and the spaciousness of a flat, it is a good place for catching up on business correspondence). It makes no sense to stay in a hotel room when one can stay in a flat.

Travel further afield is simple as apartments are located just across the street from Liverpool station. In fact, I used the Heathrow Express to travel to Paddington Station and then it was an easy connection to LIverpool, cross the street, and check-in at reception. Throughout my stay each individual at reception was friendly and helpful (e.g. providing a change room for me to get out of airport clothes when I arrived at a very early hour from the airport and the flat would not be ready until the afternoon).

The location is also wonderful for enjoying London's historical and cultural spots, ranging from the Tower of London, the re-made Globe to more modern treasures such as the National Theatre and Tate Modern.

The immediate neighbourhood contains some good restaurants and cafes. Some tips on places to visit:
Beautiful Indian food with quality ingredients and a gourmet flair for lunch or dinner
http://www.cinnamon-kitchen.com/

Breakfast -- great coffee just around the corner (good coffee is just next door) at Taylor St Baristas:
1A New St, London EC2M 4TP ‎ 65 ft NW
020 7929 2207 ‎ • taylor-st.com

Healthy snacks or meals to heat up in the apartment can be procured at Planet Organic;
http://www.allinlondon.co.uk/directory/1175/152283.php

There are nice boutique shops and cafes a short stroll away near Shoreditch station:
http://www.timeout.com/london/shopping/best-shopping-in-shoreditch

The National Theatre is fairly close – even if tickets are sold out for a play, queuing at noon the day of the play for returns can be a cheap way of seeing great theatre (I saw Lear for 12 pounds the Sunday that I arrived)

The Southwark markets are fun to stroll through (and don’t miss the Cathedral and of course stroll by the Rose Theatre and the Globe)–and there is fantastic chocolate shop, Rabot 1745:
http://www.hotelchocolat.com/uk/restaurants/locations/rabot-1745?tmad=c&tmcampid=10&tmplaceref=%2Brabot%20%2Blondon&tmclickref=&gclid=CJHvxJmRw70CFUUHvAod42UAtg

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I am always thrilled to read positive feedbacks like yours, you couldn’t have summarised your experience any better. I must say that you are on point with your description. Your high scores and comments are very much appreciated. The team would be happy to know that all our hard work has brought another happy guest.

Thank you again for your kind comments and I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you back at 196 Bishopsgate in the near future, should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here in April 2013 and have booked again in August 2014. It is great value and spacious by London standards. The location is very convenient being opposite Liverpool St Station with plenty of food outlets close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0ny1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such high scores and praise of your stay with us on our TripAdvisor page. It is always pleasure to read how much you enjoyed staying with us.

We appreciate your repeated business and look forward to your arrival in August. In the mean-time if you require any assistance regarding your booking, please feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
680 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

These apartments have a great location, just in front of the Liverpool station. So, metro, trains and many stores are right there, making it quite convenient. In the opposite direction (the area behind the apartments) there are many options on Indian restaurants; and not so far it's possible to take the night tour about the Jack the ripper's history.

My husband and I stayed 3 times here when our daughter was living nearby. At this time, we stayed just a couple of days. The apartment is light and well decorated. It has a separated bedroom, bathroom with a reasonably shower and living room including a small open fully equipped kitchen. makes it convenient for having for instance breakfast by yourself, because of the appliances. In case someone prefers no having the trouble to prepare his/her own breakfast, there is an option of ordering it to be delivered in the morning. It comes in a basket with milk, bread, fruits, yogurt and so.

It is well cleaned and the service good. Although it could profit of having some renovation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words reviewing your stay at 196 Bishopsgate. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience; from the comfort of the apartment, the location of the property and the service you encountered.

We look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We've stayed twice, so we tried 2 flats. The flats are big with 2 separate rooms, a nice bathroom, an equipped kitchen, 2 (or 3) TVs, it is very comfortable. It is across from Liverpool Street station (metro and train), what is very convenient. There is a good supermarket very close to the flat, a few restaurants, pubs, and fast food restaurants nearby. There is 24 hour service at the reception and everyday cleaning service in the flat. People were very helpful. The street is a little busy and a little noisy (1st floor), but it does not bother because the rooms are on the back of the flat, so it is silent. The beds are comfortable, the sheets are good quality. In the first flat we stayed at, there were 3 or 4 stairs in the corridor, and in the second one, there were 6 or 8 stairs, what was a little inconvenient.

Room Tip: Ask for flats with the rooms on the back and few stairs in the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Amalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on our page on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at 196 Bishopsgate on both occasions. all your comment will be taken on board and I hope to be able to welcome you back at the residence in the near future. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel seems unable to control large rowdy groups that make their way into apartments for parties. After being kept awake by a loud party until 1 am on a Friday night, I'm about to experience the same again the following night. Security cameras don't exist and there's little monitoring of who comes and goes. Whilst clean and in a convenient location, if you want to actually sleep at night, best to stay elsewhere

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to hear that you had a bad experience during your last stay with us at 196 Bishopsgate, what you've shared on our page is not something that is normal at our property such as parties; un-controlling large crowds etc. knowing our major target market being business guest since we near to the financial district in London.

Our property is well secure based on security where no one is allow to access entry to the hotel main door besides using the room key cards or opened personally by our staff. We also have a 24 hour continuous surveillance cameras through-out key areas of the hotel.

I hope welcome you once again to 196 Bishopsgate Service apartments.


Regards

Ali Alfred

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#147 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#42 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Property: 196 Bishopsgate
Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#226 Business Hotel in London
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing