We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities and location”
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #482 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Well located for both business and tourism. Spitting distance from a myriad of decent pubs and restaurants, and walking distance to the Tate Modern, Borough Market and so on. Wifi free and reasonable speed and strength, and good kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flushingdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

I spent 4 nights with my wife and my kid (20 months old)
Location is great and the apartament super. My wife appreciate a lot the cleanness and my son seemed at ease immediately.
We were in room 402. No problem with noise although the street is very busy.
Room and living room are large and the cot for the baby quite good. Very good furniture and good kitchen.
The guy in the reception was really helpfull and kind.
I go in london once or twice per year in holiday. From now i'll go in 196bishopsgate for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank che_dire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have stayed at 196 Bishopsgate a couple of times now, and as sad as this may sound, I hate telling anyone about the place, as it's my little secret ;-)

Set up far more like a hotel than a serviced apartment, 196 Bishopsgate is so conveniently located it's silly, Having stayed at most of the local hotels at some point, I am at loss to see why anyone would want to pay £200-£400 per night for a box, when you can stay at 196 Bishopsgate and get your own apartment for less! Spotlessly clean, and serviced daily, it's better than some hotels. There are plenty of resturants locally, a supermarket five doors up the road, and a pret a manger next door, which does a fantastic croissant and coffee with change for £5, really do you need anything else? Business travellers will like the free wifi.

Don't tell anyone though, or they will be fully booked all the time, and I will never be able to get a reservation last minute again ;-)

Room Tip: At the back, on top floor.... No traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattDrewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Straight forward booking (via booking.com), check-in and check-out was fast and problem free, staff polite and helpful. Apartment was clean and huge, the pictures didn't do it justice. Daily housekeeping was great. Slight outside noise could be heard but wasn't an issue. Brilliant location for my needs. Only drawback was the bed was a bit uncomfortable, but then that's an individual thing. Would recommend above hotels, and for me this worked out cheaper than any of the hotels nearby. I would happily use again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CambsClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we chose 196 Bishopsgate because of its high ratings. Overall the place is not bad, but there are some things that could be improved:

1. the bed is as hard as a rock!
2. only has a room A/C in the maid area, not in the bedroom = window open = noise from outside Pub and morning deliveries = lack of sleep.
3. dining table and chairs were wobbly
4. living area furniture was also rock hard and uncomfortable.

on a positive note, the kitchen area was nice and well equipped. Liverpool tube station is almost right across the street. lots of places to eat and a TESCO very close by.

Room Tip: We had apartment 410....i would avoid that one if possible for the reasons in my review. Perhaps the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I went to 196 Bishopsgate with 3 friends, and since we just hoped for a convenient location and clean rooms, this place was great! We got the room already an hour before the check in time, which was nice. We stayed in the top floor and the room was more than enough for us. Really spacious and clean! There was two bedrooms, one living room with a kitchen and one toilet with bathtub. The only minus comes from the single bathroom, could have had two. Anyways, the tube station is across the street, and Central line takes you directly to the citycenter without any changes. There is no breakfast at this hotel, but it was fine for us since we liked to try new places out in the city. The elevator of the hotel was also a bit creepy. They fixed it the day we got the room, but still it was making a creeky noise. However, no problems appeared. Would highly recommend and will definitely return if visiting London again!

Room Tip: If travelling with friends, ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here whilst down for the London Marathon for a two night stay 12th & 13th April, Room 210. We wanted a self catering place given all the complexities of catering for a marathon runner !. The apartments are really convenient - just across Bishopsgate from Liverpool St railway station & Underground. Plenty of shops, restaurants & take aways nearby plus a few good pubs. Tesco Mini , M&S Food & Sainsburys all nearby. We had a studio apartment - smart, clean modern, well equipped. Good security, safe in room, smart modern bathroom & extremely well equipped kitchen plus washing machine etc. Good free WiFi. Hard to beat at these rates really. The staff were pleasant & efficient. The only down side we found ( and this happened to us recently in Canberra too) was that the fire alarm went off at 9am ( someone burnt the toast ??). We and several others evacuated our rooms down to reception via the stairs to find reception checking people in, sending them up in the lifts whilst the alarm was sounding. Totally unconcerned. This is frightening stuff in a five story hotel. In all other respects this is a great place to stay & we would use it again - but check out the fire exits !

Room Tip: Get a room near a fire exit !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debseleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience and for recommending us to the readers of this website.

I would like to apologise to you about what you experienced during the sound fire alarm. Although our maintenance team had given the receptionist the green like to not to proceed to full evacuation and continue with his duties while they reset the alarm. I'm sorry that the receptionist didn't provide you with sufficient information to put you at ease during a delicate situation like this.

I'm still happy to know that you had a good stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
1,069 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in London
#212 Romantic Hotel in London
#225 Business Hotel in London
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £118 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing