We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and spacious room”
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #442 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and spacious room”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Though the room is described as 52 square metres, it definitely has 80 square metres. It is more spacious than we expected. It is so comfortable to stay at the room for relaxation and for preparing meals. Kitchen facilities are adequate. The location is also great and it is just located next to Liverpool station. We can travel by train there to Cambridge for a day out. So convenient. There are also lots of bus to the city centre.

Room Tip: The bedrooms face the rear are quiet. However, the rear is a bit dirty and thus do not open the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YBL333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    160
    57
    21
    9
See reviews for
146
123
27
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I booked this for my husband's birthday, as it was central to all the things we wanted to see and cheaper than a hotel!

The service was excellent, both via email at the time of booking and re pre-stay queries, and during the visit.

The cost is more than I would normally spend for two nights, but as it is in central London and it was for a special occasion I didn't really mind.

My only real complaint is that the room was too warm, and although air-conditioning was available the unit was very loud, so we didn't like to have it on while trying to sleep. We also didn't want to open the windows, as they looked out onto the balconies of other apartments.

Despite this, we had a very pleasant stay, and I would definitely recommend 196 Bishopsgate to others.

Room Tip: We had a studio, which was perfect for the two of us for a short trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeniKelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Well located for both business and tourism. Spitting distance from a myriad of decent pubs and restaurants, and walking distance to the Tate Modern, Borough Market and so on. Wifi free and reasonable speed and strength, and good kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flushingdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I spent 4 nights with my wife and my kid (20 months old)
Location is great and the apartament super. My wife appreciate a lot the cleanness and my son seemed at ease immediately.
We were in room 402. No problem with noise although the street is very busy.
Room and living room are large and the cot for the baby quite good. Very good furniture and good kitchen.
The guy in the reception was really helpfull and kind.
I go in london once or twice per year in holiday. From now i'll go in 196bishopsgate for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank che_dire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have stayed at 196 Bishopsgate a couple of times now, and as sad as this may sound, I hate telling anyone about the place, as it's my little secret ;-)

Set up far more like a hotel than a serviced apartment, 196 Bishopsgate is so conveniently located it's silly, Having stayed at most of the local hotels at some point, I am at loss to see why anyone would want to pay £200-£400 per night for a box, when you can stay at 196 Bishopsgate and get your own apartment for less! Spotlessly clean, and serviced daily, it's better than some hotels. There are plenty of resturants locally, a supermarket five doors up the road, and a pret a manger next door, which does a fantastic croissant and coffee with change for £5, really do you need anything else? Business travellers will like the free wifi.

Don't tell anyone though, or they will be fully booked all the time, and I will never be able to get a reservation last minute again ;-)

Room Tip: At the back, on top floor.... No traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattDrewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Straight forward booking (via booking.com), check-in and check-out was fast and problem free, staff polite and helpful. Apartment was clean and huge, the pictures didn't do it justice. Daily housekeeping was great. Slight outside noise could be heard but wasn't an issue. Brilliant location for my needs. Only drawback was the bed was a bit uncomfortable, but then that's an individual thing. Would recommend above hotels, and for me this worked out cheaper than any of the hotels nearby. I would happily use again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambsClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we chose 196 Bishopsgate because of its high ratings. Overall the place is not bad, but there are some things that could be improved:

1. the bed is as hard as a rock!
2. only has a room A/C in the maid area, not in the bedroom = window open = noise from outside Pub and morning deliveries = lack of sleep.
3. dining table and chairs were wobbly
4. living area furniture was also rock hard and uncomfortable.

on a positive note, the kitchen area was nice and well equipped. Liverpool tube station is almost right across the street. lots of places to eat and a TESCO very close by.

Room Tip: We had apartment 410....i would avoid that one if possible for the reasons in my review. Perhaps the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#119 of 1,069 in London
152 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#46 of 1,069 in London
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Property: 196 Bishopsgate
Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#226 Business Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing