We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for business trips”
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #440 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked a 1-room apartment for 3 days but was upgraded to 2-bedroom apartment facing the Liverpool Street station. Very spacious apartment and room with all the required facilities and friendly staff, making sure that you feel at home. It was a 5-min walking distance to the office that I was going, hence a perfect place to stay for those who have offices/meetings nearby. Reasonable pricing. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Snowswallow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Perfect for a family or a group of friends with a great location. Lots of room. Good kitchen with oven dishwasher and microwave . Washing machine with dryer. All amenities and a lift!! We will stay here again when we return

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kylie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First the positives. The friendly reception staff, the location opposite Liverpool st station, supermarkets, shops etc all close by. This does mean the street facing apartments experience a bit of city noise but this is part of central big city living. Not a negative aspect for us. The apartments have been refurbished since we last stayed and there is everything you could want in an apartment for an enjoyable stay.
The negative point for me was the bed was extremely uncomfortable- this can be a personal choice however. I explained the situation to the reception staff and within minutes different options were available to us. It is highly commendable that the staff at 196 handle these situations with such aplomb. I would highly recommend this property
Cheers Kevin Wensor

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nakiboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Bishopsgate. The room was comfortable. I asked for a room away from the street as I read the street side could be noisy and I was accommodated. I was also able to check in early which was great because we arrived early in the morning. Having a kitchen was great as I have to eat first thing every morning while mister likes to sleep a bit. The staff were friendly and helpful. I didn't try the breakfast so I can't comment on that. If you have any mobility issues you might have a problem with the bath as it's a bit higher off the floor than normal. Tube/train station across the street. Grocery store nearby, lots of places to eat, drink and shop nearby. Less than a half hour walk to the Tower of London and other sites in that area.

Room Tip: rooms away from the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaPsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Booked this hotel on the basis of reviews - had a confirmed booking. Hotel claimed to know nothing about it and they were full. Arrogant and unhelpful receptionist. Would never use this hotel again - even if it were free. Untrustworthy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank NativeNewYorker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you need to be in the city mid week and don't want to pay the city hotel prices this is a good choice and excellent value for money. The apartment was clean, spacious and well equipped. The staff were friendly and helpful. Apart from the early morning deliveries typical in any busy city it was also quiet. This is an amazing bargain price wise if you have a family as all the amenities are available for a comfortable stay and if you are in the city on business for an extended time it makes sense to have an apartment rather than a hotel room. You may not get a view from the window as most back on to the rear of the property but you also don't hear the traffic noise. The apartments look new and freshly painted, ours was immaculate. A real find and we will use again when in the city.

Room Tip: Telephone direct and ask about room sizes and position. Some have outdoor terraces which look good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay, the staff were attentive and helpful, they even went above and beyond the call of duty to print my boarding pass and slipped it under the door. Location perfect. Highly recommend this hotel to friends from Australia and will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 405 had no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie1977Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#62 of 1,076 in London
176 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,076 in London
1,991 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,076 in London
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#226 Business Hotel in London
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £134 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing