We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and pretty good - bit pricey though!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #439 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good location and pretty good - bit pricey though!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

This hotel is very very centrally located across the road from Liverpool street station. The apartments are pretty nice and finished to good spec. Its not exactly cheap but when you consider the equivilant hotels around the area and the kitchen & laundry facilities - its actually good value for money. Good amount of shops in the area to buy food. And right around the corner from Spittalfield Market which is fantastic for food. Have stayed in couple of times and will continue to use when working in the area. - Only 2 cricisims is no gym, but thats not that big a deal. Plus the internet is done through some weird third party vendor , where you have to enter your details on some website along with credit card info, personally i'd prefer to pay on bill or on account than this method.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    150
    53
    20
    8
See reviews for
137
116
27
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

I recently stayed here for a weekend with a group of friends. We booked the penthouse plus a 2-bed and a studio apartment as well as a couple of extra beds. When we arrived we were allocated the penthouse plus 3 1-bed apartments at no extra cost.
The penthouse was very spacious and we were able to comfortably entertain the whole group ( of 12) in here. The one-bed apartments were also pretty spacious.
All were clean and well equipped with everything we needed: very comfy beds, nice linen, towels and bathrobes were supplied as well as hairdriers, LCD TVs, DVD players, hi-fi system, dishwasher, all kitchen equipment required....I could go on.
The staff were polite and helpful.
A couple of minor gripes: the apartments didn't have enough mirrors to accommodate a large group of women and there is some noise from the busy road below.
All in all an excellent choice in a very central location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen_hrt_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

For about the same price of a nice (4 star) hotel in central London, we stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment. Our party of 2 adults and 2 pre-teen boys had plenty of room to spread out. The rooms were spacious by London standards. It was nice to have a full kitchen and a washer/dryer because we were there for a week and didn't have to eat out for every meal. They also provide basic necessities such as hand and body soap, dishwashing and laundry detergents, basic condiments (sugar, salt, pepper). The only drawback was that the washer/dryer was difficult to figure out and did not do a good job in drying clothes.

The staff at 196 Bishopsgate was very friendly and helpful. They accommodated our many requests with a good attitude and without complaint.

There are several bus lines that generally go south (e.g. Tower of London, London Bridge, Waterloo station, London Eye) just outside of the entrance to 196 Bishopsgate. The Liverpool Street Rail station includes the Underground station that's on the Central, Circle, and Hammersmith & Circle lines. Spitalfields Market is around the corner and I recommend a trip to check our the open air stall, shops, and restaurants. Brick Lane with its many Indian restaurants are also within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaiaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

196 Bishopsgate is very well located across the street from the Liverpool Street Tube Station with Taxis always available. The two-bedroom apartment was spacious; bedrooms were comfortable and quiet. This was the perfect hotel for 4 adult family members traveling together. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. If you stay over a weekend, remember that the rooms are not serviced on Sunday. Not a problem if you plan for it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepTravelinUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Myself and 2 friends (from the US) were in London recently, and after MUCH searching we were very glad we chose 196 Bishopsgate. We found the apartment to meet all of our needs, and was exactly as pictured on their website. We rented a 2 bedroom/2 bath penthouse apt, and had a cot placed in the loft area, so it really felt that we had a 3 bedroom unit. We had space galore! Each of the bedrooms were generous in size, with plenty of cabinets & storage. The bathrooms were the only rooms on the small side, but they still were adequate. The living area, kitchen and dining area were also very spacious, with plenty of room to stretch out in. The living room furniture was in good shape, and very comfy, and there was a nice size flat-screen TV. All appliances in the kitchen were in great shape & worked very well. All necessary gadgets/pots/pans/utensils/glassware, etc. were present and accounted for. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful, and accommodated everything that we requested (late check-out, calling cabs, etc.) with a smile. Contrary to other posters, we were never disturbed by noise, and we were there Sat thru Tues.

Our favorite asset was the location of the Liverpool St tube literally steps from the front door…….this made traveling anywhere in the city a breeze. There is a Tesco (?) grocery store a ½ block away, so we were able to easily stock-up on groceries, etc. While the area is mostly a 9-5 kind of place, there are more than a few pubs within easy walking distance: we liked Dirty Dicks, right next door, but our fav was the Whitehall about 1.5 blocks away. Also, for those curry lovers we must recommend “The Famous Curry Bazaar,” located a short few blocks from hotel…very good food, and the service/staff were also great!

In summary, we liked this place so much, as well as all of London, that we are planning a return visit in 2011. We will definitely be staying at 196 Bishopsgate when we do!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fllw_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

REVIEW OF 196 BISHOPSGATE (hereafter called 196).

The concept of 48 Serviced Apartments is a cross between self-catering and usual hotel facilities. For example, one can wash, dry and iron clothes in the apartment, or pay for 196 to do it, like a hotel.

Liverpool Street Train Station has both Mainline and London Underground (Tube/Metro) services, and a number of buses stop right outside 196. The Bishopsgate West entrance/exit is the one to use (it is visible from the front of 196, across the road) and has escalators, stairs, and an elevator.

Mobility: although the building has an elevator, not all of the apartments are on the same floor level. Example, the First floor has 101 – 103, and then one has to climb about 8 steps to get to 104 – 111, so check when booking!

The building is currently undergoing improvement works to the front facade (Bishopsgate) during May 2009 and they say (Monday to Friday) that workers may be outside your window between 0800 and 1600. If one is using the accommodation for a business trip then this might not be a problem (although that seems a very early start to me)! My apartment had wooden blinds – I don’t know if they all do or if curtains are provided in some – and they would not provide privacy against somebody working next to it? They do not shut out all light either. Perhaps an additional roller blind/black-out curtain could be installed?

The Police Station is at 182 Bishopsgate, if you need to ask directions. :D

Each apartment has many (unlabelled) wall switches so check they are on in case there is no power reaching whatever device you are using.

The Studio Apartment (109) has various “fixtures and fittings”, as can be seen in the camera-phone- pictures (which I should have taken before I made the place look untidy)!

Fitted kitchen includes a fridge, sink, dishwasher, kettle, toaster, hob and oven, microwave, and an extractor fan which will hopefully stop guests setting off the overhead smoke-detector, cutlery, dishes, and various pots and pans. There is an initial provision of milk, tea, coffee, and sugar.

An air-conditioning unit, TV, dining-table for 2, audio to play radio or CDs, double-bed, wardrobe (full-length mirror inside it), direct-dial telephone with its own 0207 number, wall-mounted heating unit, hairdryer, safe, and trouser-press.

Hopefully, they will have updated the In-Room Directory to tell guests that it is necessary to press 1, 2, and then 3 on the TV remote in order to watch any of the 15 channels (a small number, a mix of free and Pay-TV, it appears)? The Sharp LCD LC-32GD8EA television would allow one to connect a camcorder or computer, in addition to the supplied DVD player.

Given the way several electrical devices were plugged into a 4-gang-socket, this one did not appear to have surge-protection? An important safety feature!

The mixer taps in the kitchen and the bathroom seem to have been plumbed in such that, to get hot/cold water, one handle is pushed to the right, whilst the other is pushed to the left - they are supposed to all work in the same direction!

The bathroom has a sink and step-in shower cubicle, towels are supplied but a “beach” size towel would have been nice. The towel-rail is heated. There is a shaver-socket (240V/110V). The shower is fixed to the wall. Behind a side door, one finds the washer/dryer, iron and ironing board, and airing cupboard. This is a good use of available space.

Tesco Metro supermarket is at 158-162 Bishopsgate and is open late (2200, I think, most days) and there are a number of shops/places to eat and drink along Bishopsgate/in Liverpool Street Station.

If one is only staying a couple of days, a tub of butter or margarine ends up being unfinished and that is not something one can take home. Could 196 supply individual sachets, either complimentary or charged for?

A slightly larger kitchen bin would be useful since one is disposing of a lot of packaging from supermarket purchases.

I specified non-smoking. There was an ashtray in one of the drawers although the apartment did not smell of tobacco – I would not have remained in there if it did!

The windows opened to let in fresh air.

Jenya (I think that is how she spells her name?) made the check-in process very smooth. Housekeeping was also quick to help with getting the TV working (press 1, 2, 3, as above). I have no experience of daily housekeeping since the apartment was already clean and tidy for a Weekend stay (Saturday check-in), and they do not normally work Sundays.

I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dav007UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

The apartments' location across from Liverpool train station is its best feature. Just down the street is a Tesco. Both features make it an ideal location for the independent traveller. Spitalfields is just 2 blocks away for some chain restaurants. The rooms are clean and functional. The kitchen was very handy for breakfast and our occasional take-out dinners. We did not have any problems with noise but stayed on the 5th floor. The lack of doorstops (as noted elsewhere) is bothersome as doors inside the apartment are self-closing. A washer and dryer were a nice touch. This apartment is a particularly good value with their "weekend special." There is little of interest on the block that they are located. No interesting shops and there are some noisy pubs nearby which did not affect my sleeping though. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5fortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#250 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#37 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel London, Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Property: 196 Bishopsgate
Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#226 Business Hotel in London
#300 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing