We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, spacey, but sparsely decorated and noisy”
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #488 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 5 November 2009

I know I am pretty picky about my experience with out-of-home stays. This time with the serviced appartment, it is no different.

Check-in was a breeze and the staff is trying to help where they can. I had a executive one bedroom appartment. It is spacey, but I'd expect more atmosphere in a 4-star (as advertised here) residence; there were no curtains in the living room and bed room; only blinders which didn't keep the light out very well.

It is also pretty noise, you can hear your neighbour on the floor above you walking and talking, which did wake me up at 6am as his (or her) day was starting. It isn't very sound proof.

The location is great, 50 meters from the Liverpool station and close to the City.

If you have a weekend rate, it could be worth it, but the lack of atmosphere doesn't give that homey feeling. If you pay normal rate, I don't think it is worth it. I'd rather stay in a hotel with some extra features instead of the extra space.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralfvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2009

Wasn't sure what to expect from serviced apartments in Central London, but this was really excellent value. Much better than a hotel if with several people or for longer stays. We stayed for one night, and were upgraded on arrival to a 2 bed apartment. Didn't need the extra space, but it was a very positive experience all round. Convenient location near bus and station. Staff helpful. Bed was comfortable, all was clean and reasonably well maintained. Kitchen well equipped, massive fridge freezer. Sitting room on front of building didn't seem to have very good sound insulation from street noise, but bedrooms at rear were both fine. Only negative for us was the lingering smell of cigarette smoke on the bed linen (must have been that as no other soft furnishings in the room).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anfio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

This hotel is very very centrally located across the road from Liverpool street station. The apartments are pretty nice and finished to good spec. Its not exactly cheap but when you consider the equivilant hotels around the area and the kitchen & laundry facilities - its actually good value for money. Good amount of shops in the area to buy food. And right around the corner from Spittalfield Market which is fantastic for food. Have stayed in couple of times and will continue to use when working in the area. - Only 2 cricisims is no gym, but thats not that big a deal. Plus the internet is done through some weird third party vendor , where you have to enter your details on some website along with credit card info, personally i'd prefer to pay on bill or on account than this method.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I recently stayed here for a weekend with a group of friends. We booked the penthouse plus a 2-bed and a studio apartment as well as a couple of extra beds. When we arrived we were allocated the penthouse plus 3 1-bed apartments at no extra cost.
The penthouse was very spacious and we were able to comfortably entertain the whole group ( of 12) in here. The one-bed apartments were also pretty spacious.
All were clean and well equipped with everything we needed: very comfy beds, nice linen, towels and bathrobes were supplied as well as hairdriers, LCD TVs, DVD players, hi-fi system, dishwasher, all kitchen equipment required....I could go on.
The staff were polite and helpful.
A couple of minor gripes: the apartments didn't have enough mirrors to accommodate a large group of women and there is some noise from the busy road below.
All in all an excellent choice in a very central location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen_hrt_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

For about the same price of a nice (4 star) hotel in central London, we stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment. Our party of 2 adults and 2 pre-teen boys had plenty of room to spread out. The rooms were spacious by London standards. It was nice to have a full kitchen and a washer/dryer because we were there for a week and didn't have to eat out for every meal. They also provide basic necessities such as hand and body soap, dishwashing and laundry detergents, basic condiments (sugar, salt, pepper). The only drawback was that the washer/dryer was difficult to figure out and did not do a good job in drying clothes.

The staff at 196 Bishopsgate was very friendly and helpful. They accommodated our many requests with a good attitude and without complaint.

There are several bus lines that generally go south (e.g. Tower of London, London Bridge, Waterloo station, London Eye) just outside of the entrance to 196 Bishopsgate. The Liverpool Street Rail station includes the Underground station that's on the Central, Circle, and Hammersmith & Circle lines. Spitalfields Market is around the corner and I recommend a trip to check our the open air stall, shops, and restaurants. Brick Lane with its many Indian restaurants are also within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaiaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

196 Bishopsgate is very well located across the street from the Liverpool Street Tube Station with Taxis always available. The two-bedroom apartment was spacious; bedrooms were comfortable and quiet. This was the perfect hotel for 4 adult family members traveling together. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. If you stay over a weekend, remember that the rooms are not serviced on Sunday. Not a problem if you plan for it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepTravelinUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Myself and 2 friends (from the US) were in London recently, and after MUCH searching we were very glad we chose 196 Bishopsgate. We found the apartment to meet all of our needs, and was exactly as pictured on their website. We rented a 2 bedroom/2 bath penthouse apt, and had a cot placed in the loft area, so it really felt that we had a 3 bedroom unit. We had space galore! Each of the bedrooms were generous in size, with plenty of cabinets & storage. The bathrooms were the only rooms on the small side, but they still were adequate. The living area, kitchen and dining area were also very spacious, with plenty of room to stretch out in. The living room furniture was in good shape, and very comfy, and there was a nice size flat-screen TV. All appliances in the kitchen were in great shape & worked very well. All necessary gadgets/pots/pans/utensils/glassware, etc. were present and accounted for. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful, and accommodated everything that we requested (late check-out, calling cabs, etc.) with a smile. Contrary to other posters, we were never disturbed by noise, and we were there Sat thru Tues.

Our favorite asset was the location of the Liverpool St tube literally steps from the front door…….this made traveling anywhere in the city a breeze. There is a Tesco (?) grocery store a ½ block away, so we were able to easily stock-up on groceries, etc. While the area is mostly a 9-5 kind of place, there are more than a few pubs within easy walking distance: we liked Dirty Dicks, right next door, but our fav was the Whitehall about 1.5 blocks away. Also, for those curry lovers we must recommend “The Famous Curry Bazaar,” located a short few blocks from hotel…very good food, and the service/staff were also great!

In summary, we liked this place so much, as well as all of London, that we are planning a return visit in 2011. We will definitely be staying at 196 Bishopsgate when we do!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fllw_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#50 of 1,077 in London
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in London
#212 Romantic Hotel in London
#225 Business Hotel in London
#314 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £119 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing