We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in London”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #462 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in London”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

I stayed in the 1 bedroom executive apartment for 1 night at the weekend with some friends. The location of the place is great but this depends also on what part of London you are trying to access. On arrival the check in was very quick and friendly. However the lift wasn't working so we had to go up 2 flights of stairs to the 2nd floor and although it doesn't seem like alot when its a hot day outside and you've got luggage its a long way up! We did get some help with a couple of our bags.
The apart was big, very impressed with the size of the rooms apart from the bathroom being very small. The lighting in the bathroom was very poor, I wouldn't like to be a man trying to shave in such bad light.
The apartment had everything we needed for our stay, one thing I would note was the size of the sofas and the comfort factor, not very big or comfortable. Decor was a little old fashioned and could do with updating. But clean which is the most important thing.
The bed was comfortable but because the apartment was at the front of the building we didn't get alot of sleep due to traffic noise outside, would have preferred to be at the back of the hotel, maybe this would have been quieter.
I will definitely stay there again, would probably ask for a quieter room next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    153
    55
    21
    9
See reviews for
140
117
27
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

For an extended stay in London when you're doing business in E1 or the surrounding area, I highly recommend 196 Bishopsgate. I stayed in one of their studio apartments for six nights and found it spacious, clean, private, and mostly quiet (there are pubs down below that do cause a bit of noise but its easily drowned out by the air conditioning unit). The unit was appointed with everything I needed and the (Queen) bed was surprisingly comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped including a washer/dryer, microwave, oven, cooktop, mini refrigerator, and washing machine. And, the room had electrical outlets everywhere. At just 139 pounds/night (plus 18 pounds for one week of internet access), it was beyond reasonably priced. Staff is unobtrusive, as you don't see anyone once you leave the reception area. Its definitely a no frills place in terms of amenities -- don't stay here if you're looking for a hotel gym, a business center, or room service, but there are many great inexpensive food and shopping options within a few blocks walk, including the Tesco grocery store just one block south (as mentioned in earlier posts) and a ton of restaurants/pubs including the area known as Spitalfields, which itself has at least a dozen restaurant options and countless shops. If you're visiting London for vacation and want to be centrally located, this part of the city probably isn't the best option, but it *is* directly across from Liverpool St. station (underground and overground trains) which makes it possible to get just about anywhere quite easily.

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank adanzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

This is the second time I stayed here. Its a very central location just opposite Liverpool St Station, which is the heart of the financial district. This time I was upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment on level 1. It was huge compared to most hotels in this area in this price range. Having your own kitchen and fridge makes longer stays much more homely. And a Tesco supermarket is less than a minute away so its easy to get a few supplies if you so desire. Alternatively there are plenty of places to buy a meal, ranging from fast food to high quality restaurants. I learnt from my previous stay not to expect too much from the front desk, and to be aware that friday nights can get a bit noisy. I'll definitely be coming back here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank young_dazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

Nice tidy apartments with all you need! As a regular always upgaded onto 2 room suite.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kklasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

A group of us girls stayed recently at 196 Bishopsgate. We stayed in the penthouse apartment for 2 nights friday and saturday, total was £495 which is a great price between a few people. There are 2 bedrooms upstairs in the penthouse and a study area. Only 1 of the bedrooms has an ensuite - it is pretty small and the sink is tiny so we used the main bathroom mostly. The beds are comfy and as both bedrooms face to the back, there is no noise from the road. The kitchen area is great, big fridge and lots of space. Dishwasher tablets are supplied too. The sofas were comfy although we thought they could be nicer or even a different colour for such a fancy apartment. An iPod docking station is supplied too. Would definately consider coming back here agian if with a large group of people.

Liverpool station is only across the road and is on the central tube line to get you to all the shops and attractions easily. There are a few nice pubs around the area too.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vixenbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

The hotel in general is good in term of location and room comfort.
But in term of services and staff is not on the top.

Location just 2 min from Liverpool Street station underground.

Room comfort : the room is enough big and you have a complete kitchen that is good for dinner.

Service : there is strickly no service in this hotel (no gym, pool or bar), there is no place where people can take a drink.

Staff : very unhelpful , My room was very cold (It was january) and heater was not working, I ask during 2 days to solve the probleme and they change me room only on the 3rd night without excuse. After I ask for compensation they only give me a upgrade for a futur travel, as I will not comeback to this hotel I found it useless, so they give me free calls for the last days but as I had my cell phone I did not use it.
When I asked to talk directly to the manager, they did not want it. I found that attitude strange.

If you go to this hotel be sure that everything is working so you ll not have to deal with the staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadair2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solvang, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

I picked this hotel after reading other comments on this site. I thought it was a greatplace to stay. the staff was very friendly. the room ( 1 bedroom apartment) was clean and well furnished. the washing machine came in handy for a long stay. tough to use at first (it is a washer/dryer combination) nice kitchen. there is a tasco market just on the corner with great food. the underground ( liverpool street station) in literally accross the street. great for getting around London. be sure to get an unlimited Oyster card, only 28 pounds for 7 days, great value. the rooms look just like the photos. perfect type of lodging for long stay. living room, large bathroom, decent kitchen with dishwasher, sink, microwave, stove and over. there is no ocffee maker as we think of, there is a large pot that heats water so you use instant coffee. I brough along the new starbucks instant coffee since i had read a simular comment on another review. the water gets to boiling in like one minute. they sell coffee at the market as well as real cream. room was quiet. only down side is there is only one very small elevator so if you are are on an upper floor it can be a hike. with two persons and a large bag each is easier to take the elevator twice.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelgmSolvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#217 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#37 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Property: 196 Bishopsgate
Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#226 Business Hotel in London
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing