We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxford Hotel London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oxford Hotel London
Ranked #975 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We rented a triple room for 5 nights & yes it was small but we were only sleeping there. The fact that this place was so close to the tube & the price was so good made up for all the other points.
The breakfast was OK provided you got there early otherwise it would have been hard to get a seat as it got packed out quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    208
    351
    263
    378
See reviews for
311
376
73
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I would not return to this hotel. The room was very small. The bathroom was hopeless to use, very, very tiny. The dining room was overcrowded and the dish washing was done by hand. It was not any place to sit down anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Birgit Hertzber... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Coniston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. We were more than pleased with the fantastic location, close to tube and bus stop to all attractions. The receptionist was very friendly, and let us check in early.
Our room was a spacious twin, overlooking the gardens at the rear of the property, so really quiet. The room was ensuite with power shower and hair drier. Flat screen tv, and the best supply of tea and coffee I have ever seen.
Breakfast was cereals, fruit juice, ham, eggs, cheese, toast and rolls, and lovely fresh filter coffee. Plenty of choice for anyone.
The beds were comfortable, and the room was very quiet, you could not believe you were in the centre of London.
I really cannot understand the negative comments, I have stayed many times in London and for the price and location this really is the best. I think some people should stay at home!!
Thank you for a great stay, we will return.

Room Tip: Our room at the rear was very quiet, but on a quiet street, so I think any would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maryg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramses A, General Manager at Oxford Hotel London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We always aim to provide the best possible value for money, friendly staff, a base to stay in the hear of London with very good transport links and close to the shops, museums and restaurants.

Should you wish to stay again please contact us directly for the best available discounted rates.

Best wishes from our management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I do not know how they git 3 star!! Small rooms, cold and dark rooms in the basement. every morning I saw new towels and bed sheets on the hallway floors before housekeeping change them..not so clean and not friendly staff at all. Only good thing about this hotel is location just a minute from earls court underground...
I wanted change my hotel even after paid for a week, but looks like most hotel in this area are almost same.. Old location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mehrdadbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramses A, General Manager at Oxford Hotel London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear guests,

The hotel was fully refurbished in 2013. So any reviews up to 31st August 2013 should be completely disregarded.

We have asked Trip Advisor to remove reviews relating to prior to the refurbishment. We have sent proof of new ownership and of refurbishment, documents from the Building Control from the Local Council , pictures after refurbishment etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The experience of staying a total of 4 nights here was really terrible. We had booked 2 nights here when we arrived London and another 2 nights here before we left for our home, with 7 days apart. We had booked 2 rooms for my family of five but we were never put in the same floor. I and my husband had to separate with my 3 children in these 4 nights. The staff were not helpful at all. They refused to arrange us in the same floor in our 2nd return though we requested early on the day of arrival. The fridge was out of order and they seemed helpless on our request to change or repair. The rooms for me and my husband were small and could hardly accommodate our 2 luggage. There was no chair in the room and you had to step on to the bed when you entered the room. The breakfast room was always crowded during breakfast time and the tourists had to squeeze themselves in this little room. Spending 100 pounds for each room per night surely did not worth it.

Room Tip: brtter not choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramses A, General Manager at Oxford Hotel London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear guests,

The hotel was fully refurbished in 2013. So any reviews up to 31st August 2013 should be completely disregarded.

We have asked Trip Advisor to remove reviews relating to prior to the refurbishment. We have sent proof of new ownership and of refurbishment, documents from the Building Control from the Local Council , pictures after refurbishment etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
434 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Hotel receptionist initially was too busy talking to her (boy)friend and on her mobile to serve us when we arrived, but after a few minutes when I stared at her, she sprang into life. The room was quite small, but adequate. She didn't give us a TV remote, but I wasn't bothered. The fridge didn't chill anything. No free internet. Carpets slightly shabby. Room was clean though and the kettle and toiletries was a great 'old school' touch you don't see too much of these days.

Short walk to Earls Court Tube and West Brompton Railway station. Olympia was about 15-20 minutes walk away, which was the whole point of staying here for the Great British Beer Festival.

Breakfast room was way too packed at 8.45am, you could barely move, but we persevered and had a very basic coffee and muesli.

We had a room on the first floor at the rear of the building. You could hear the rumble of tube trains and station announcements from Earls Court, but it wasn't any bother and I like trains anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CockneyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perlflaghotels, General Manager at Oxford Hotel London, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your review.

The hotel was completely refurbished in May, June and July and from the 1st of July, the hotel doesn't have any carpets any longer. All the rooms have oak flooring.

Our breakfast is continental and is widely advertised and is complimentary. However we offer a little more than the usual continental breakfast. It consists of coffee,tea, fruit juices, assortment of rolls, brown and white toast, corn flakes, musli, cheese, marmalade and butter. We are thinking of reviewing the items we serve.

We believe in improving and learn a lot from guest reviews, so thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

An unforgettable experience in this 3 stars hotel. Can I give "no" star to it ? We're allocated to the basement room, with a "nice" view of the steps and the washing room of the hotel. We dare not to open the window because we afraid of cockroach and mice climbing into the room. The bathing area should get the Grade A smallest because the area should not be larger than 26' x 26". Everything like towels etc.....drops at least once. Every item in the hotel is so small but to me, the rate is not cheap yet, its only 15 to 20% cheaper than the real 4 stars hotel.
All I have to say is "the poorest hotel I've ever stayed".

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wei w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramses A, General Manager at Oxford Hotel London, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear guests,

The hotel was fully refurbished in 2013. So any reviews up to 31st August 2013 should be completely disregarded.

We have asked Trip Advisor to remove reviews relating to prior to the refurbishment. We have sent proof of new ownership and of refurbishment, documents from the Building Control from the Local Council , pictures after refurbishment etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Oxford Hotel
#939 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#842 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#724 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#732 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#771 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
South Kensington
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#932 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Hotel London

Property: Oxford Hotel London
Address: 16-18 & 24 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #975 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Oxford Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing