We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what the website portrays!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oxford Hotel London
Ranked #963 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Lostock Gralam, Chesire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not what the website portrays!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked off of Travelocity and the reviews were decent and the price was right for what we were looking for, until we arrived The room was smaller than a closet should be and instead of the double bed we asked for our room consisted of 2 single, metal, cot style beds that we pushed together to make a double. When we arrived (Nov. 8th) the window in the room was open and the room was and ice box! There wasn't a way for us to turn the heat on as the radiator was broken! The deadbolt on the door was broken and did not work. I have stayed in many, many bad hotels as my husband coached a college ice hockey team back in the states, however this by far is the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    214
    357
    276
    389
See reviews for
319
384
73
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warszawa, Polska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I needed a place for few hours stay from 3am to 9am and found this facility with Booking.com iOS app. Price was acceptable. Guy in the reception desk wasn't very nice but maybe i woke up him. My room was placed in another building in basement. When I woke up in the morning first i saw was housekeeping woman smoking cigerette right behind window. Temperature in room was sth. about 10-12 C degrees all the night and there were only sheets on the bed, no sign of quilt or sth. like that. So my only remember of this hotel is flu. If You have any choice try anything else in the town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karol-Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a family room, 4 single beds in a row and not much room elsewhere. Comfy beds. Bathroom very small. Clean except the fan. We were near the breakfast room which was noisy when they were getting ready. Basic breakfast provided but no tables and hot and noisy so we went to Greggs one day and Costa Coffee the other- which was money well spent. As another review says its not the Ritz but a good price and good for Earls Court and tube. Quiet until they got breakfast ready- no street noise we were at the back- faint tube noise but not a problem. Had to pay for WIFI but £5 for left luggage was handy.

Room Tip: not on lower ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jan123England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This isn't the Ritz but it's convenient, clean and in a great neighborhood. It's around the corner from the tube, is close to restaurants, and pubs. The staff is always helpful and friendly. They offer a basic breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 553Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel whilst attending at show at Earl's Court. It is perfectly located - less than 5 minutes walk to get there.

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Our twin room on the ground floor was a little bit cramped for two beds. Bathroom was fine.

Breakfast was acceptable, but the rooms it is served in get very busy and crowded when everyone is there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flywrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I was a little worried after reading all the bad reviews this hotel has...But it wasn't as bad as all that. The rooms are a little small but certainly adequate for sleeping in, which is all we use hotels for anyway. The first room we were given stank of cigarette smoke and the only window faced an interior corridor, so no way of getting fresh air in, by the morning my clothes were starting to smell of smoke. However when I spoke to the lovely friendly guy on reception, he apologized and moved us to a room next door which was much better. There were a few maintenance issues, such as loose shower head in one of the rooms, dirty paint work mouldy silicon around the shower and a dodgy shower cubicle door - all easily fixable. I had no problems with the breakfast room, getting a table easily on both mornings ..But they really need to get rid of the toaster- only one of the elements worked so to get brown toast, I had to put each slice in 3 times on EACH side ..very time consuming...a couple of pop up toasters would be better. The best thing about this hotel is the location, a couple of mins walk and you are at Earls Court tube station. There are also plenty of shops and restaurants in the areas. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kassie2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The room was a little bit too small for two twin beds in the room. The rooms would most likely be better as single rooms. I stayed in a second floor room, it was very clean, i guess the basement mustn't be so nice but my advice on that is book well in advance and you will get a good room!

The bathroom needed work, albeit the second day we stayed their, the shower fell on us, luckily we managed to fix it, but not handy. The light's also were energy saving and for the bathroom it was impractical as you literally couldn't see to shower or go to the toilet for at least 15 minutes. However the bathroom was clean and was decorated nice, it just needed fixing.

The location is perfect as it around the corner from Earls court tube station which has great access to the main lines of London, it is also near a boots, M&S, Co-operative and lots of restaurants and pubs, so if you want to explore and come back to eat and retire, the location is spot on!

The service was great and when the hotel guy forgot our remote he did give us one when we asked.

The breakfast was average, toasters, seriously, i say this with all hotels, get rid of the slow cook toasters, they take double the time and they do not cook the bread correctly! Bar that there was plenty of choice and two rooms. However go early or lateish or you won't get a space!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emoloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Oxford Hotel
#934 of 1,067 in London
288 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#857 of 1,067 in London
716 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#693 of 1,067 in London
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#729 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#762 of 1,067 in London
639 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#718 of 1,067 in London
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Hotel London

Property: Oxford Hotel London
Address: 16-18 & 24 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #963 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oxford Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing