We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely disgusting - feces wiped on blankets, vile 'breakfast', gave me key to someone else's room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oxford Hotel London
Ranked #989 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night on May 29th. We expected a small room given the location and price, but could not have anticipated the disgusting conditions we found.

There was no duvet on the bed, so we unfolded one of the blankets on a shelf and found feces stains all over it. We immediately brought it down to the front desk who did not seem shocked, did not apologise, and told us there were no spare blankets and no duvets so we'd just have to make do. We checked the other blankets and there were small stains on them as well, it was clear they had not been washed.

The breakfast room is tiny compared to the number of people trying to use it. Breakfast consists of hard boiled eggs, toast, cheese and cheap cornflakes. The milk for the cereal was warm. The coffee was vile.

When I first checked in, I was given a key to a room - when I opened the room I was shocked to find someone already in it. He was just as shocked as me! I went back to the front desk who explained that guest had decided to stay an extra night and they'd forgotten to move my reservation to a new room. I should have taken this warning and left right then!

Overall, the most disgusting experience I have ever had in a hotel anywhere - and most of my travel has been in the developing world. I have had much better experiences staying in youth hostels, and would strongly discourage anyone from staying here, ever. It's not worth it.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here on 27th/28th May. This is the worst British hotel I have ever stayed in. Although the room was relatively clean, it was very dated and in desperate need of some upgrading. The walls were filthy and were only painted around the furniture, the bathroom door hinges were falling off, the bed was more like two camp-beds pushed together and the wall fan cable didn't actually reach a socket. Wouldn't have plugged it in anyway as the electrics were seriously dangerous. Bare cables exposed and various sockets in the room kept going out when I was using a hairdryer. Breakfast looked pretty shabby, although I didn't get to try it as there was never any room in the tiny basement restaurant. Great location for underground but not worth putting up with this very poor service!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haleybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was filthy, the staff were rude and I definately y would not recommend it unless you were desperate. Although a good location near EArls Court, the soap tray was rusty, no shower tray so the water ran into the bedroom. Curtains and windows dirty and the hairdryer blew up in my hand when I used it. When I reported it, it took the receptionist 30 minutes to bring me another hairdryer. Booked 2 single rooms and my friend's bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable although my bed was fine. Breakfast staff were very rude and same staff were cleaning the rooms, linen left in corners of corridors on the floor. Avoid this hotel unless you are desperate.

Room Tip: Very noisy hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniDarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in a ground floor room at the Oxford Hotel on March 24 - 25th during our trip to the UK. The room was actually the largest we had during out trip to the UK and it was clean which is the most important thing. Yes the room looked tired and the decor was dated, but you don't travel to London to hang out in your hotel room! The location was wonderful, we were easy walking distance to Hyde Park, to the Underground and from there to anywhere you might want to go in London. The television was in good working order with a variety of channels, something my husband enjoyed after a long day of sightseeing. The room included a mini fridge, a microwave and a kettle, we enjoyed the convenience of being able to eat take away in our room in the evening to cut a little down on our expenses and as a quiet way to unwind and rest our feet. It felt like a luxury having our own shower and toilet, yes it was small but the water was hot and it got us clean. North American travelers will need to adjust their expectations of hotel rooms when staying in London if they hope to stay on budget and this place did admirably for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgarysTooCold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Clean. Charge extra for Wi-fi. Charge for storing the bag after check-out (never heard of that before!!!). TV broke. Breakfast: 2 types of bread. Cheese-tranches, butter and jam. No place for toileteries in the bathroom. - But the hotel is very well situated to go to a fair at the Earl's Court!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

And that is saying something. I have stayed in about 25-30 hotels in London over the last couple of years and I think this was probably the worst experience so far. I will also say that I am well aware that London is a difficult market for decent hotels at a decent price and so my expectations weren't exactly sky high, but this was a sever disappointment as so many things were well out of order.
Room had no window. TV hung loosely off wallbracket and faced downward in a 45 degree angle. No remote control. Telephone didnt work. Shower was cold. Sink was clogged with hair. Also found an old dirty sock in the nightstand which the cleaning crew must have missed. Several hairs on bedsheet. Pretty disgusting all around.
And to top it all off I left my laptop charger in the room. When I called a couple of hours later to ask if I could retrieve it I was told that there was defintiely no charger anywhere and that I must be mistaken.
Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Now this hotel. I do not like to bad mouth places, because this place was cheap. And that was the point of us getting it. But apart from having to argue with the receptionist about the fact that I prepaid, the fact that the room was next to reception and I mean like a thin wall away. The room being small, the bed being super crap, most of the furniture being broken including a mirror. I think because we were going to a concert and weren't back too late that it wasn't a problem for us. We did not really spend time at the hotel, thankfully cause we wouldn't have like too. Apart from all that. It is what you pay for I guess. It was cheap, we got cheap with a free breakfast. Which had a surprising amount of variety. So If you are going here, do not expect a lot, but if your looking for a place to crash out and leave the next morning, this is your place since they have a safe room for luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#728 of 1,077 in London
433 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#648 of 1,077 in London
345 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#925 of 1,077 in London
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#801 of 1,077 in London
758 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#752 of 1,077 in London
666 reviews
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#978 of 1,077 in London
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Hotel London

Address: 16-18 & 24 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #989 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £36 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Oxford Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing