We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget hotels in London, get yourselves an apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet
Ranked #262 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Forget hotels in London, get yourselves an apartment”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Some time ago my wife and I started renting apartments instead of going to an hotel when in London.
Pricewise you save a lot of money, more so if you have a larger party, but even for the two of us it is worth it.
Regarding these apartments in particular... well the place is great, fully equiped in a very nice neighborhood, near to a supermarket, near enough to plenty of pubs and shops (though not so near it gets to be a nuisance), very close to a DLR station (you can get to the center of London very fast).

Room Tip: As an added bonus you get a great view, try and ask for as high a floor as you can get (don't wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joao_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed at pheonix heights for about five weeks between middle of May and middle of June. I stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the 20th floor.

Location:
These apartments have an excellent location and are about a five minute walk away from the Canary Wharf Jubilee line underground station and the South Quay DLR station. for people who are not aware, London is connected through a superb underground rail system and Jubilee line is one of the seven or eight underground rail system. Once your reach the Canary Wharf metro station, central london is about a twenty minutes away. For people who want to go to Central London by bus, the bus stop is just outside the apartment.

Facilities:
The apartments seem new and everything is in working order. If you have a problem, they will fix it within a few hours.
The apartments are excellent and if you are on a higher floor, the views are excellent (I was on the 20th floor and the view was spectacular). The apartment had a comfortable living room and a compact but well appointed kitchen. The kitchen has all the basic utensils needed to cook. The bedroom is a comfortable size and one of the bedroom has an additional TV in addition to the living room. The only flip side in my apartment was that one bedroom was on one level, the living room was on the next and the bathroom was on the top level. So there lot of stairs to climb!! So if you have knee trouble, ask specifically for a apartment that does not have levels.
The bathroom is also a nice size (has a bathtub) and has excellent water temperature.

The apartment that I had had an extra balcony which was excellent, although the weather in London might mean that you dont get to use the balcony that often.

One important thing you should know. the apartment has heating but no aircon. However, I cant believe that will be a problem in London other than in the summer month of July and August. They will provide you with fans on request. Opening the windows on the odd hot days will ensure that the apartment stays comfortably cool.

Cleanliness:
The apartments are cleaned once a week and the cleaning service is pretty good.

Vegetarian tip:
Travelling as a vegetarian in Europe may be tough but London has plenty of vegetarian options. Veggie options close to the apartments include a Wagamama, Wahaca (mexican) and Gourmet Burger Kitchen (which has a couple of vegetarian options). There is a supermarket called waitrose (about ten minute walk) which will provide you with an astonishing array of foods, fruits, vegetables and ready to eats.

Indian tip: There is a SPAR near the apartment which stocks all kinds of Indian food including frozen foods from Haldiram's in case you are feeling lazy to cook.

But I would sincerely recommend that you try as many different cuisines in London. There is something in every cuisine for vegetarians!!

Would I recommend this place to others? Absolutely. I think this apartment provides reasonably good facilities in London at a reasonable price (relative to London).

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors for a great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiraath_desai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Perfect apartments, would definitely stay again, lovely view, spotlessly clean, comfy beds, beautiful bathroom large kitchen diner and great location!! The only fault was no full length mirror but that's if I had to find a fault!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocopopsb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

These apartments are a good place to stay if you are going to the O2. There is food and shopping nearby and the tube is close to take you to the city in no time. The apartments are clean and well equipped. Only downside was not having air conditioning on the hottest day of the year. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shetlandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We got a 2 bedroom apt. I can't say enough good things about this. You can hear the trains pulling into the underground but it's not that bad. We stayed here for 6 days and loved it. Full kitchen was great! You are right in the financial district of Canary Wharf. The underground(train) is a 4 minute walk and there is a super cool mall with great food right there where you catch the train. There is a SPAR right down the street where you can good basics for food to cook.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Phoenix heights by Bridgestreet is a great extended stay apartment choice in London. Situated conveniently in Canary Wharf, it is just 5-10 mins away from Central London on the jubilee line.

I had opted for an airport pick up from LHR (offered as a package) for 65 quids and was pleased to be driven on the back of a 5 series beamer. Highly recommended!

I was a bit skeptical on how this place will be when I first checked in. However, I was pleasantly surprised to see a full 2 bed flat when I entered. The flat is conveniently furnished and it had everything I needed- alarm clock, large flatscreen TV, curtleries and other kitchen appliances.
At almost half the price of regular hotels, this place was a steal. Although I was alone on a business trip, this would be a great choice for couples/ small families. The offices in E14 and the tube are about 10 mins walk away, so you can walk to work conveniently. It is also convenient if you need to travel to Central London or Stratford.

The only hassle I had to face is that I had to pick up the keys and make the payment at their office in Circus apartments which is about half a mile away. Although there a few eateries and a Tesco store nearby, the place tends to get very quite and dead on weekends.

Overall, great value for money and excellent for extended stays.

4/5

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bpbindaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is really a great option to be close to Canary Wharf offices and have some space in the evening. These appartments are clean, modern and are well positioned in the business area. If you are not familiar with the area the only disadvantage is the reception which is positioned at a different location 10-15 mins walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
BridgeStreet Circus Apartments
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marriott Executive Apartments London, West India Quay
Fraser Place Canary Wharf
#526 of 1,069 in London
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#102 of 1,069 in London
271 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
BridgeStreet Lanterns Court
BridgeStreet Lanterns Court
#446 of 871 in London
1 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Dreamhouse Apartments London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet

Property: Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet
Address: 4 Mastmaker Road, London E14 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BridgeStreet's Phoenix Heights enjoys a fantastic location in the heart of Canary Wharf. It's hard to think of a more exciting place to live. These modern apartments are beautifully formed inside and out. With modern kitchens and quality fittings throughout. Many have balconies and some have large terraces. There are also some 2 bed triplex apartments on the higher floors. This landmark development is within walking distance of Canary Wharf's great shopping, colourful nightlife and superb travel links. It's also two and a half miles from the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing