We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like filthy hotels this is for you...... otherwise, PLEASE AVOID!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Two Hyde Park Square Apartments
Ranked #287 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you like filthy hotels this is for you...... otherwise, PLEASE AVOID!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

We travel to London on a regular basis and thought this time we would stay in an apartment - more room, not having to eat overpriced, poor hotel breakfasts but we will definitely not be returning here!

We arrived early so our luggage was stored for us - fair enough - but in a stairwell -where anyone could take them! When we got to our room ( we had booked a large superior room), it was nothing like the website photos! To start, the room obviously hadn't been cleaned in ages. It clearly had not been vacuumed, drink stains covered the skirting, the bedhead was covered in dust, but worse there was a large clump of hair on the kitchenette floor and the bathroom......well!!! Apart from there being yet more black hairs in the bath tub and on the floor, the sink had a tide mark all around it and the toilet cistern and bowl were filthy. The kitchenette also, rather bizarrely, was equipped with plates, cooking utensils, pans and yet not a single piece of cutlery!! Guess they expected you to eat with your fingers!!

We complained to reception, and were moved to another room which, apart from having nail clippings on the carpet, and a badly cracked tile floor, was nevertheless, an improvement. Outside the apartment, broken furniture was stacked in the corridor.

On the plus side, daily parking charge in a secure garage was £10 - cheap for central London.

Take our advice and avoid these dirty, shabby apartments. There are far better places to stay for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
17
23
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

If your looking for a serviced apartments where your primary concern is just to sleep and shower, I would recommend 2 Hyde Park Square in London. The location is fantastic situated opposite hyde park and a 2 minutes walk from edgware road and oxford street its perfect for a short get away.

The rooms are non air conditioned and fairly decent in size, below average amenities such as a very small television, small kitchenette and lack of cupboards make up most of the room. Then again if your not too fussed about the luxuries of a hotel and your mainly looking for a place to crash it is an ideal option.

The staff and concierge are extremely friendly and helpful which is probably the only good thing of the hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — not very clean
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Biren27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

Terrific location, friendly staff, very secure. Just great. Tip - take underground to Lancaster gate it is closer than Marble Arch. On exiting Lancaster Gate turn left and apartments are approx. 10 mins walk - go up Clarenden turn right and then left. Buy an off peak day pass for underground - gives you unlimited travel for just £5.60p.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weadgiewean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

I stayed at 2 Hyde Park Square for a week. Clean apartment, good location about a 5 minute walk from Marble Arch Station.

Only issue I had was when I was charged at check in, they did the conversion from £ to $ without asking me. Their conversion rate was about 15 cents more per pound then that day's rate. On top of that my credit card levied their 3% fee. Might want to ask to be charged in £ at check in. Other wise, great place for the money.

Excuse the mess in the photos please :)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somethingquitesilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

We stayed there from Dec 7 2008-Dec 24 2008. We booked a superier studio and we were 4 persons, me , my husbend and 2 childs ages 8 and 13. The location is exellent especially for shopping because the apartment is only 10 minutes walk or less to the famous Oxford Street. The apartment is in a very quiet and safe area with every thing that a family needs close by . The Hyde Park is also few minutes walk. The apartment itself is fair in its size. The furniture is of a good condition as I heard that most of the apartments were refurbised recently. The bathroom is slightly small in size but I think it is ok for the standard of London. The cleaning of the apartments is 5 days a week and changing the bed sheets are twice a week. The only thing that bothers us is that the apartment was over heated and we had to opent the window inorder to have some fresh air. All the staff were friendly and helpful especially Victor. We will stay there again for sure but I think we will go for the one bedroom apartment as it has a separate bedroom with a bigger living room and a bigger kitchen and 2 TV .

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Towels were old and needs to be replaced
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Thoraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILADELPHIA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

The location is excellent. A lovely part of London to stay in. The apartment like qualities ( kitchenette esp.) made the place worth it. Yes the decor is dated and it was not 100% spotlessly clean but it was accceptable. London is horribly expensive so you do get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTB9110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

Having stayed in an apartment on prior trips to London, my husband and I decided this holiday to do likewise, but choose a different venue for a change. Big mistake!
The rooms were not particularly clean, the decor and furnishings were rather 'tired' and in need of an upgrade. We had booked a studio apartment for one night and then a one bedroom apartment for a further week. We found the only difference between these two apartments was a wall between the lounge and bedroom areas. This only served to make the one bedroom apartment smaller than the studio. Fortunately, upon complaint we were moved to a studio and the difference in price refunded to us.
Beware of payment being charged in your home currency without you being asked first if this is what you want. We were not asked and found that we had been charged an extra fee for converting the currency. When our refund was provided it came in British pounds, not converted exactly as our charges had been. We felt a little ripped off and when challenged the staff, got no satisfactory response.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The dirty soft furnishings
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Georgie-Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#197 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#793 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#274 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Piccolino Hotel
#729 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#69 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Hyde Park Square Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Hyde Park Square Apartments

Property: Two Hyde Park Square Apartments
Address: 2 Hyde Park Square, London W2 2JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Two Hyde Park Square Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kitchenettes, studio & bedroom apartments, serviced flats, extended stays; underground parking; situated near Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Two Hyde Park Square Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Hyde Park Square Apartments
Two Hyde Park Square Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing