We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but couple of issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Unique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Unique
Ranked #207 of 575 London B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location but couple of issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed for one night - was a good location near where i needed to be, close to tube and close to the golders green road.

Place was spotless, clean, and smelt pleasant.. which in itself is a big improvement over many hotels

However, there were one or two issues which i must stress.

The rooms - even with a fan, were scorchingly hot,
the windows didnt open properly, and the heat was unbearable.. i had to keep taking showers throughout the night to stop myself from dehydrating away.
ive never stayed in such a scorching hot hotel before.

Also, my room (first floor near reception), the lights from the bar next door (bright blue lights) shone through the blinds and window all night, making it look like daytime, was very confusing .. and found it difficult to sleep.

As a frequent visitor to london, i WOULD stay there again as location and price is good, but the fact that even a fan on the highest level, couldnt stop myself from sweating away, prooves how hot the room was, and the blue light shining through the blinds all through the night, well i would only stay if it was a different room, and windows which fully open, and the room was cooler.

Im not a fussy person, and as this is a new hotel i want it to suceed, but i dont appear to be the first person on the reviews, to have had an issue with the heat.

would give it a high 3 or a 4 out of 5

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    21
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
6
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Unique. The staff are so friendly and helpful, always going the extra mile to help. They made our stay extremely enjoyable. It was so refreshing to stay in a hotel where cleanliness is important! It's right next to the station so we were able to get to and from the city very easily. There are some lovely restaurants nearby. It was really wonderful. Can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I absolutely LOVED this hotel! Firstly the location is perfect, right opposite Golders Green station. The staff are so friendly and attentive. I wanted an extra pillow and was brought one straight away. The lady at the front desk gave me helpful advice about getting to the airport and printed off a map for me too. The room and hotel is incredibly clean, probably the cleanest hotel I've ever been too. I would for sure come here on my next trip to London. I really enjoyed my stay here would recommend it to all!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I could not fault this hotel for its cleanliness, location (directly opposite the tube station) and friendly welcome. The rooms were newly refurbished and felt modern, warm and comfortable with fluffy pillows and a big soft duvet. There was a good sized TV with lots of channels too and we felt relaxed winding down for the evening. However it was almost impossible to get to sleep due go the volume of noise outside. We probably could have zoned out the constant traffic and trains going right past the window, however the real problem was the bus stop right outside which attracted a large number of drunks until the early hours who were being rowdy and shouting at each other. It was so loud it seemed like we had left the windows open but the problem was there just wasn't enough sound proofing to reduce the noise off the street. If you were to stay at the hotel I would suggest taking ear plugs which would probably alleviate this problem. In the morning we got up and were a bit disappointed that there was no milk provided with the tea and coffee facilities, I am not sure whether this was just an oversight or the norm but there was no one downstairs at this point to check with. Its a shame but I feel like I paid £100 not to sleep in this hotel.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#503 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Golders Green North
0.2 mi away
Anchor House Hotel
Anchor House Hotel
#79 of 575 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Croft Court Hotel
Croft Court Hotel
#78 of 575 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martel Guest House
Martel Guest House
#37 of 575 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.1 mi away
Avoca House Hotel
Avoca House Hotel
#167 of 575 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unique

Property: Hotel Unique
Address: 911 Finchley Road | Golders Green, London NW11 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Unique 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing