We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & price with wonderful service!”
Review of LSE Bankside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LSE Bankside House
Ranked #457 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 September 2013

To say I enjoyed my stayed is an understatement. I was just trilled by your facilities, service and food. I spent just five nights while on a course/vacation and within that period I verbally advertised your facility to all my cooleagues from Africa out of which some immediately switched residence. Very strategic location,great customer and human relations and wonderful food. I will not hesitate to come over again and again. It was really nice staying with you guys.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ikewuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Ikewuah,

We're incredibly happy to hear how pleased you were with Bankside House! I'm delighted to hear you were thrilled with our facilities, service and food. It's particularly nice to hear that you found our service to be wonderful as this is an area in which we're always looking to improve and give guests the best experience possible. We're also extremely happy that you recommended us to your colleagues!

We hope to see you at Bankside House again soon!

Regards,
Henry Hayes
Bankside House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here towards the end of August. The rooms are large and airy, loads of power points, (many hotels could take a tip there), and a decent-sized en-suite shower room. The bedroom furniture is of good quality, manufactured by Ellis of Huddersfield - the best. The single beds did leave something to be desired from a comfort point of view -too much enthusiastic use? We were on the 7th floor and had a fine view of the Shard. The location cannot be bettered, right beside the Tate Modern and the Globe and the Millennium Bridge gave convenient access to central London on foot. In addition the local buses going both east and west gave swift access to all parts.
During our stay, "the joint was jumping" with several coach-loads of happy young French visitors attending the Notting Hill Carnival, despite that we suffered no noise problems and the restaurant coped well at petit dejeuner, sorry, breakfast.
We hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear GingerTone,

I was delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Bankside House. It's fantastic to hear you found the rooms spacious and airy, the fittings to your needs and the shower to be decently sized. I apologise that you felt our beds left something to be desired comfort wise - we're currently undertaking a full review of all of our mattresses so hopefully you'll find this to have improved if you stay with us again.

We're also pleased to hear you enjoyed our view of the Shard from our higher floors and that you found our location great. I will pass on your kind comments to all of our team at Bankside House.

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Henry Hayes,
Bankside House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location, excellent price, clean and adequate. Enjoyed the breakfasts. Loved being able to stroll the Thames with plenty of eateries along the way. Hop on hop off stops very close. As VictoriaEB1 says "what's not to like?". Only regret was not getting to the Tate Modern right in front of us. Not enough time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Wendy H,

We were delighted to hear that you were pleased with your stay at Bankside House and found our location, price and cleanliness great for your needs.

It's a shame you didn't get to experience the Tate Modern! Hopefully you'll return to stay with us soon and will get another chance to visit.

Regards,
Henry Hayes
Bankside House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

if you want hotel accomodation then you could stay at the premier inn round the corner for £178 per night, this is student halls of residence so functional and basic but only £80 per night inc breakfast.
Good things about staying here were location, price, quick easy check in
Bad things were hot stuffy room and horrible tea (bags) and coffee(machine) in the canteen.
Overall good value but if you want TV, WIFI in room etc this ISN'T the place for you

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BASP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear BASP007,

We're delighted to hear that you found Bankside House great value for money. We're also pleased to hear that you found our location and check-in process positive experiences.

We'll take your comments about our tea and coffee in the restaurant as we continue to review our processes over the year.

We hope to welcome you back to Bankside House soon!

Regards,
Henry Hayes
Bankside House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Ideally located hotel close to the Thames and close for transport links. Some reviewers should remember this is student accommodation and not the Ritz. Breakfast was well cooked and six items, including fruit and yogurts was more than adequate, especially with unlimited toast and drinks. Also nice bar downstairs with great prices for London and despite the hotel being full it was never overcrowded and was easy to get served. Rooms were not sumptuous but wasn't expecting that but they were comfortable enough. Also plenty of lifts available. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear tezzer,

We're extremely glad to hear that you found Bankside House to have a great location and offer good value for money. We're glad to hear that you found breakfast good and adequately sized.

I will pass on your kind comments regarding the bar to our bar manager.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Henry Hayes
Bankside House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

stayed here for a second time = location is superb I loved walking over the thames at the beginning and end of the day
its student accommodation so don't expect the ritz
the two slight problems was the bar closed on two nights at 23.30 and not the advertised time of midnight, and wifi although available was not available for guests

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHEATEAR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear WHEATEAR2013,

We're very pleased to hear not only that you enjoyed your stay at Bankside House, but that you're a happy return customer! At Bankside House we all love our close proximity to the Millennium Bridge too, and the beautiful views it provides of St. Paul's Cathedral and the Tate Modern.

We're sorry to hear that the bar was closed when you tried to use it - sometimes the bar is closed early during periods of exceptionally low demand. I have liased with the bar manager to ensure that in the future early closures are more clearly communicated.

We are having Wi-Fi installed at the end of this summer, so we hope that you'll return soon and will find these small issues have been ironed out!

Regards,
Henry Hayes
Bankside House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Wish it was available to stay all year round - we'd certainly stay up in London more often! Absolutely the best place we've stayed for transport, convenience, lovely ambience of South Bank & river, especially in evenings, plenty of places to eat/drink nearby, supermarket. We had a bathroom between 2 rooms, shower strong & hot. Room was huge, especially by London standards, & I had a view of St Paul's from one window & the Shard from the other...The only thing I would have liked & that would have made things easier was internet access in the room or public areas (rather than using the public use PC in reception).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear VictoriaEB1,

We were delighted to hear that you had such an overwhelmingly positive experience at Bankside House. I'm happy to inform you that we do offer some TopFloor rooms year round, so please do get in touch if you have any specific dates in mind later in the year and we'll get back to you with availability!

We agree that our lack of Wi-Fi has been an issue for us in the past, which is why we are currently working on having it installed throughout the building - this will be completed by next summer. We are also already able to offer Wi-Fi access on the TopFloor rooms I previously mentioned.

I will pass on your positive comments to all of our staff at Bankside House - it's extremely pleasing to hear that our hard work is paying off and we have such a satisfied customer! We'd love to welcome you back to Bankside House soon. Please contact me directly on h.j.hayes@lse.ac.uk if you require any assistance with future bookings!

Regards,
Henry Hayes
Bankside House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#684 of 1,077 in London
177 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London City Hotel
#239 of 1,077 in London
748 reviews
Westminster
LSE Northumberland House
LSE Northumberland House
#187 of 931 in London
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Bankside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Bankside House

Address: 24 Sumner Street, London SE1 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #457 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £108 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Bankside House 3*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankside House provides Bed & Breakfast accommodation near the Tate Modern Gallery - it's just a one minute walk away from the front door. Bankside House is also located near The Shard, Shakespeare’s Globe, Borough Market and St Paul’s Cathedral as well as being within easy reach of the City of London and the West End. With its location and price, Bankside provides incredible value for anyone wishing to stay in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your LSE Bankside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside House Hotel London
Bankside Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing