We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Great Value! Great Staff!”
Review of LSE Bankside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LSE Bankside House
Ranked #452 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Visited London for a program at the Globe Theater, who put up me and others here for three weeks. Loved the location, the price was very competitive, and the staff was exceptional. Some people write about the noise of the student groups that visit, and while there is that noise, the students mostly bring a positive energy to the place. If you want a stuffy, upscale, overpriced hotel, go there. If you want humanity and vitality and a staff that is helpful and no-nonsense then come to Bankside. Let me add a few more comments: the hotel is right behind the Globe and the Tate Modern. There are tons of restaurants at all different price points around. Finally, who goes to London to stay in his room?! This is a place for people who want a bed and a shower. At any rate, I have loved my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bradford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

It is all right for the price and location. It is close to Tate modern and St Paul is not the other side of River Thames. The breakfast is good.
It is not an good experience there. It was always crowded and noisy. The desk staff are very posh and rude. I have checked the internet that there is several rooms available for the next day. When I got down and asked her whether I can extend for one more day and she replied 'you have booked here for 5 days'. What does that mean!!! Even when I asked another staff for direction and she said i can use the computer. I feel so awful.
Sorry Bankside house, will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Howie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor.

We recognise that sometimes things do go wrong and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please contact us directly so that we may have an opportunity to investigate your complaints more fully and take any necessary action to put things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is hostel-standard accommodation - if you're expecting a hotel you'll be disappointed. But by hostel standards it's still not great.

The room was extremely basic as billed, but even compared to the budget furniture the bed in particular was older, creakier and less comfortable than expected. The bathroom was functional but the shower had an unpredictable temperature range that fluctuated during use. Again, perhaps no great surprise, but another extra layer of discomfort on top of an already basic setup.

The guests (mostly students) and the surrounding streets can be noisy, so pack earplugs. Avoid the free breakfast, served by angry, taciturn dinner ladies, it's terrible. And that's coming from someone who loves a cheap fry up.

Reception will store your bags for free, which is handy, but you have to endure the long queues and miserable staff first. Give the price of the rooms you can't expect much, but even taking the low room rate and the no-nonsense photos into account it's a disappointing place to stay that needs some proper maintenance. If you can, spend another £20 a night and stay in a real hotel. This isn't a hidden bargain gem.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank als1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.

Unlike hostel accommodation, all our guests at LSE Bankside House enjoy private bedrooms. Our housekeeping staff would have gladly replaced your mattresses upon request had you reported your dissatisfaction to Reception.

We have no record of any complaints at the time of your visit regarding staff conduct. However, we do take criticism of this nature very seriously and I thank you for bringing it to our attention. Our Front of House Manager has been notified and will ensure that all staff are reminded of the importance of good customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for more than a week during July. Although the location is central and the rooms are simple but relatively clean (at the price), the noise at night has been unbearable. Visiting students from various countries flocks everyday and stay up at night singing, shouting. We thought it would be an exception during the first nights but the dismal scene repeated itself every single night. If you are planning to use this residence during Summer take this issue seriously into account (unless you like noise).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giorgio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I am sorry that your stay with us fell below your expectations on this occasion.

Please be assured that our staff at Bankside are committed to ensuring the comfort of all our guests. Had you reported the noise to our Reception team at the time of your visit, they would have taken immediate action to resolve your complaint.

Thank you for your more positive comments about our central location and very reasonable prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I used the LSE Bankside in the period from 09 to 15 September 2013, I really enjoyed my stay here and will definitely return again.
The staff was extremely polite no matter what time you arrived on. The English breakfast was a great way to start the day, but they have a lot of food to choose between.
the site is highly recommended and I recommend it also to my work mates if they are going to London.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floors have a super views and almost no noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevenOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked a comfort double room (that's the name given in this hotel to two individual rooms sharing the bathroom), both rooms were quite big, both of them with a table, chair, wardrobe, chest of drawers, a bedside table and obviously a bed. The rooms were very clean and had a lovely view to St. Paul's Cathedral and the Tate Modern. In my opinion the best features of this hotel are its location (just next to Modern Tate), and the breakfast (which consisted of scrambled eggs, sausages, fried eggs, boiled eggs, potatoes, crepes, buns, toasts, fruit...
Despite the fact that the hotel is quite big, and there was a big number of guests and students during our stay, we had a good rest, and no noise was to be heard at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and on a high floor. Our was on the third floor, and the view to Tate Mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here nearly 2 weeks. Great location, clean adequate sized rooms. shared bathroom was no problem as it still felt private.
Friendly helpful staff and excellent breakfast.
Cleaning of rooms was sometimes irregular, as in more than 2 days for clean towels or soap, but if I needed anything it was done promptly when asked at the desk.
I would stay here again for the location, value and service

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Mega25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#686 of 1,076 in London
176 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London City Hotel
#220 of 1,076 in London
735 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#303 of 1,076 in London
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Bankside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Bankside House

Address: 24 Sumner Street, London SE1 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: £86 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Bankside House 3*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankside House provides Bed & Breakfast accommodation near the Tate Modern Gallery - it's just a one minute walk away from the front door. Bankside House is also located near The Shard, Shakespeare’s Globe, Borough Market and St Paul’s Cathedral as well as being within easy reach of the City of London and the West End. With its location and price, Bankside provides incredible value for anyone wishing to stay in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your LSE Bankside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside House Hotel London
Bankside Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing