We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“met our expectations”
Review of LSE Bankside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LSE Bankside House
Ranked #528 of 1,069 Hotels in London
1 review
“met our expectations”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We did not have much time in London but we wanted to see all the main sights, that's why LSE Bankside was a perfect solution. It was like in the heart of the city, but in a quiet buisness district - in the back of Tate Modern and 10 mins walk from London Eye. We didn't waste our time in long underground travels, everything was in a walking distance. It was very, very cheap in comparison to the other places in the centre of London. Breakfast surprised us - we didn't expect such a wide variety of tasty meals. Stuff was incredibly helpful and kind. Room had a basic equipment just like you can see on their website. The only problem for us foreigners was using two taps in the bathroom. The bathroom wasn't perfectly clean when we arrived but it also wasn't dirty. We would stay there again if we were coming back to London. Location is really its massive advantage!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for LSE Bankside House on Trip Advisor.

Located on London's South Bank, adjacent to the Tate Modern and within a short walking distance of Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, the famous Borough Market and St Paul's Cathedral makes LSE Bankside House the perfect choice for exploring all that London has to offer!

Our fully inclusive breakfast and free wifi complement our very reasonable rates to offer all who stay with us great value for money.

We hope to be able to welcome you back some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    219
    96
    32
    32
See reviews for
125
83
100
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at Bankside for a week in August 2014. As other reviewers have noted, the massive advantage of the place is its location - Bankside is 5 minutes from the South Bank and within 10 minutes of London Bridge Tube Station and the Northern and Jubilee Lines.

The rooms are extremely basic - what you see on a site like booking.com is exactly what you get. For me, the bedroom was better than the (shared) bathroom. The toilet did not flush properly and - after a couple of complaints to reception - was repaired halfway through the stay. The hot water does not come out of the tap immediately but after a couple of seconds and at high pressure and very high temperature. This is a problem when you're trying to set the shower to the right heat as if it's too hot, you have to reach into the tiny cubicle and through the hot water to turn the temperature down. In fact, the fire alarm which meant everyone had to evacuate one evening was caused - staff announced - by somebody taking "a hot shower"!

Breakfast and dinner were good though the canteen staff serving it cannot be said to be the friendliest!

Room Tip: The building was extremely warm inside in August - leave your room window open constantly but expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indigo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We were very disappointed of that student house. The bathroom was very dirty (hairs all over the place, dust) when we arrived, and only after 4 times of asking and false promises the stuff sent someone (at 11pm the second night). Even then, he just wiped the floor, without really remove the hairs. Obviously, they don't us hoovers in the bathrooms. Furthermore, the stuff is very unfriendly. The house is not at all comparable with a hotel. Next time, I'd rather pay a little bit more for a proper room. That said, the location was good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cordebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

All rooms in LSE Bankside House are serviced daily. However, on this occasion it appears we did not live up to our usual high standards and I am sorry if we disappointed you. I will ensure your comments are passed on to our housekeeping staff so that they may take any necessary measures to improve our service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Visited london for the Lse Summer school, It was a nice place to stay, the rooms were very comfortable and there were pretty nice restaurants nearby as well, The Bar on the ground floor is amazing with Good liquor and Great music, Even the front desk staff was really nice, as it was my first time in london, the staff was really helpful especially a girl named Rhea, Had a really nice experience, Would surely love to stay at bankside again..:)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jammy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

You get what you pay for. Pros: The location is great--right in the middle of central London. Cons: The water from the faucet is not drinkable; you have to boil it first and keep a bottle by the sink. The rooms are beyond spartan, the towels the thinnest possible, and the "body gel" (no soap) and shampoo come in paper packets. The breakfast is institutional and crowded. The very worse aspect is the noise, which continues nightly until the early morning. (On the worst night, it didn't quiet down until 4:00 am.) Skip it--money is not that important.

Room Tip: Pick a different place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelah238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Visited London for a program at the Globe Theater, who put up me and others here for three weeks. Loved the location, the price was very competitive, and the staff was exceptional. Some people write about the noise of the student groups that visit, and while there is that noise, the students mostly bring a positive energy to the place. If you want a stuffy, upscale, overpriced hotel, go there. If you want humanity and vitality and a staff that is helpful and no-nonsense then come to Bankside. Let me add a few more comments: the hotel is right behind the Globe and the Tate Modern. There are tons of restaurants at all different price points around. Finally, who goes to London to stay in his room?! This is a place for people who want a bed and a shower. At any rate, I have loved my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It is all right for the price and location. It is close to Tate modern and St Paul is not the other side of River Thames. The breakfast is good.
It is not an good experience there. It was always crowded and noisy. The desk staff are very posh and rude. I have checked the internet that there is several rooms available for the next day. When I got down and asked her whether I can extend for one more day and she replied 'you have booked here for 5 days'. What does that mean!!! Even when I asked another staff for direction and she said i can use the computer. I feel so awful.
Sorry Bankside house, will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor.

We recognise that sometimes things do go wrong and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please contact us directly so that we may have an opportunity to investigate your complaints more fully and take any necessary action to put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#700 of 1,069 in London
172 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London City Hotel
#244 of 1,069 in London
705 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#302 of 1,069 in London
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Bankside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Bankside House

Property: LSE Bankside House
Address: 24 Sumner Street, London SE1 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #528 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Bankside House 3*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankside House provides Bed & Breakfast accommodation near the Tate Modern Gallery - it's just a one minute walk away from the front door. Bankside House is also located near The Shard, Shakespeare’s Globe, Borough Market and St Paul’s Cathedral as well as being within easy reach of the City of London and the West End. With its location and price, Bankside provides incredible value for anyone wishing to stay in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your LSE Bankside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside House Hotel London
Bankside Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing