We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a week in London :)”
Review of LSE Bankside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LSE Bankside House
Ranked #483 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed there for almost a week with my boyfriend and his brother ( we booked two rooms) and our room was quiet at night, bed was comfortable and clean and the service both counter and breakfast was good and always willing to help you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea4Dez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel room itself was basic, which is fine for a cheap overnight stay. Tea and coffee facilities were fine. Clean, and bathroom was fine. What is not fine, is the abundance of young foreign students screaming and shouting in the corridors and outside the hotel, with no hotel staff doing a damn thing to shut them up. I could hear them on the first floor so surely be to God the reception staff could hear them right outside the front door. The worst bit was moments ago when the group staying next door nearly came through the adjoining wall there was such an almighty bang. Too anxious to leave the room now God knows what I will walk into.
Next time I will definitely be paying more for a hotel that doesn't allow it's other guests to cause a total and utter nuisance of themselves.
I am hoping I will get some peace at the early breakfast, if the students creating all the havoc are still in bed nursing hangovers.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest possible floor to avoid the noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The place is alright, we got to store our luggage before check-in and after check-out. Breakfast was alright, nice choice of english and continental breakfast. However the hostel was incredibly loud at night and my bed was vibrating until 3 am and not even the headphones cut out the music. I had a room with 3 of my friends, the size was okay and the bathroom was fine too. At least the hostel was clean.

Room Tip: The upper floors are much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hcd-1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We booked a quad since I was traveling with my wife and teenage daughters. This provided a great value lodging for London. The location was excellent - just behind the Tate modern, and 5 minutes walking distance to the Bankside Thames river walk. Restaurants, tube stations, and train stations were also easy walking distance, so it was really a great location.

The room was large enough, with an en-suite bathroom. The breakfast was cafeteria style, but did the job. The beds were just OK not great. Wi-fi was free and good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OuterMarkerInbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My friend and I, both pensioners, wanted accommodation in central London that didn't break the bank. Our main requirements were that it should be clean and have comfy beds. This fitted the bill excellently. The rooms are functional and clean. The beds were comfy and clean and the shower worked well. Both vital requirements for an oldie like me No telly, but there is free WiFi so you can watch it on computer. I watched it on my smart phone.

There is a good mix of ages with older people, families and lots of students. I see there have been complaints here about noise, but there was no noise when we stayed there. You also get a big self-service breakfast with lots of choice, served in the cafeteria. The location is also fantastic being just behind the Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Close to the Shard and Borough Market too. And St. Paul's Cathedral. What's not to like?

I think that this is brilliant budget accommodation and will have no hesitation staying there again. I just hope not too many people discover it because I don't want it to be booked up next time I want to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Student accommodation available for B&B in vacations. Very clean room with ensuite shower/wc. There were four single beds, perfectly comfortable and clean. Towels, toiletries and tea/coffee supplied. Reception staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.the breakfast (included in the rate) was enormous and there was a wide choice. Ebony served us; what a nice lady!
Bankside House is a ten minute stroll from a London Bridge Station and Borough St Market, and all of one minute from Tate Modern and the Millennium Bridge.
The bathroom would be better if fitted with an extractor fan...
The least favourable aspect of the stay was the noise made by smokers and language school groups outside the front entrance, which our room overlooked. Their lack of consideration for anyone else continued into the early hours of the morning and meant sleep was impossible for some hours.
Bearing in mind the great advantages to staying here, I'd do so again but definitely with earplugs and a sleeping pill.....!
By the way, our room and full English breakfasts for four of us cost a total of £127, a bargain for Central London.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back (Zoar St).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H2ofizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stayed in LSE single . The location of hotel is very good . Backside of Tate Modern musem. 4 min away from tube station if you walk. They provide free wi-fi in the rooms . The complimentary breakfast was okay . housekeepers replace towels every two days , sheets once in a week. One negative thing about room is the bathroom was too small.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Bridge Hotel
#640 of 1,081 in London
609 reviews
Chelsea Guest House
#332 of 1,081 in London
1,066 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#577 of 1,081 in London
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Bankside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Bankside House

Address: 24 Sumner Street, London SE1 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #483 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £44 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Bankside House 3*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankside House provides Bed & Breakfast accommodation near the Tate Modern Gallery - it's just a one minute walk away from the front door. Bankside House is also located near The Shard, Shakespeare’s Globe, Borough Market and St Paul’s Cathedral as well as being within easy reach of the City of London and the West End. With its location and price, Bankside provides incredible value for anyone wishing to stay in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your LSE Bankside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside House Hotel London
Bankside Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing