We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, but bad service in the reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Ranked #822 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel was allround ok, big nice room (we were 5 persons) with 5 beds (1 double and 4 singles). But we did not have warm water when we arrived and did not get it until the next day. The reception do not understand so much english, and it is diffucult to speak with them, since they do not understand. The breakfast was a normal continental breakfast over the street in a italian restaurant. The clientell here was really nice.
Overall a good hotel :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Although the location is excellent, the noise factor is a HUGE problem.
The flip-side of the location is that it is by a street with LOTS of noise.
My sleep was completely ruined.
The staff were not particularly pleasant, either.
Frankly, I would avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IvanCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed at the Mermaid for 2 nights. It was very clean and well maintained. There are quite alot of stairs if you have heavy luggage (No lift). A basic continental style breakfast is served in the restaurant below the main reception to hotel guests only.
Although a little pricey for its standard, you cannot beat the hotels location, which is almost on Oxford Street, with Bond Street Tube station around the corner. Yet the Hotel is in a quiet side street. I shall use this Hotel/location again.

Room Tip: Hotel has more than one property in this street. I was not above the restaurant (where the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuroMotoPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Well it is called as a hotel but it is not. It is a four separate building opposite to each other & to get to the other one you have to cross the street. I went with my wife & my 3yr old son & were given a 4th floor room insipte of other rooms avialable in th ebelow floors. They provide breakfast which includes bread butter & cereals. At night the street is very noisy & we could not sleep. It is at a very good location for shopping which was the reason we choose it but woould not advise it to anyone. The heating was not appropriate & when called the reception were told that's the max it is & we shivered the whole night. There's no lift in the so called hotel. If you need something you would have to come down from your building cross the road & go to the reception on the first floor. It is just next to the bond street station & their are some eat outs near by.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bravo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have stayed here a few times now, and it's a great location and includes a continental breakfast. Staff are friendly and the location is nice and quiet.
The rooms are basic, but now include a flat screen television.
The bathroom is always clean and the room is immaculate.
Tea and coffee facilities available.
Small and friendly, but worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mysteryboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I was in this hotel for just a single night. I've to say that the room was nice and clean, even if a bit too small. The best was the bathroom that was very big with a nice shower. For the breakfast they gave me a voucher to be used in the restaurant just below the hotel. I arrived too early and I had to wait a bit, but the breakfast was very good! I liked the hotel and it was in a wonderful spot in centre.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franz_Zena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Room very very basic,lots and lots of stairs no lift,do not take heavy cases,unfriendly staff,breakfast discusting I wonder from which continental menu this was devised? no breakfast selection, just lobbed in front of you on a plate with no conversation, we had a long black hair in the coffee cup yak,I would NOT recommend this Hotel to others

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel if you cannot do stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geminilady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#640 of 1,077 in London
1,190 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#737 of 1,077 in London
678 reviews
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#601 of 1,077 in London
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#165 of 1,077 in London
2,048 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#308 of 1,077 in London
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Suite Hotel

Address: 3-4 Blenheim Street, London W1S 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #822 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £99 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mermaid Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Suite London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing