We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location but ........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Ranked #818 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Location but ........”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This small old hotel is located just off Oxford street (opposite Debenhams). Its location is perfect since it is in the heart of Oxford st., (three minutes away from Bond Street underground station and 5 minutes away from Oxford Circus).The room was spacious and clean but old. The whole hotel needs renovating. Breakfast was very simple but ok (cereal, toast, croissants and beverages). There is no lift and there is no one to help you with the suitcases; you just have to carry them yourself up and down the stairs. Wi fi is not free. You have to pay extra,
But what made my stay there unpleasant though was the fact that it was very noisy both during the day and at night. I had a very little sleep during my whole stay there (3 nights) because of the noise. By the third day I was excausted. I was in room 2 in the building next to the reception and I could hear the footsteps and noises from the room just above me. And this was ongoing even at 5am. There was also a lot of noise coming from the street until late at night and from very early in the morning. Even though the hotel´s loaction its perfect I won´t stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Don´t choose room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    92
    116
    44
    51
See reviews for
88
82
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Firstly - let me say that I have NOOOO idea what the hell people have been moaning about with this hotel. It is fantastic, so don't be put off by some of the other reviews!

I stayed in a triple room with my husband and sister for 2 nights. We had a couple of West end shows booked - and so the hotel stay was just for a city/weekend break.

The hotel could not possibly be situated in a more suitable place for sightseeing, shopping and shows, it is smack bang in the middle of Oxford/Bond street. Soho is literally a 5-10 minute walk away, and as Soho is right next to Leciester square (The West End) - it was PERFECT for us.

Upon arriving, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, we were given keycards to our room and directions of how to find it in the building next to the main reception. Our room was at the top of a few flights of stairs - but as relatively young and able bodied people, this wasn't an issue for us.

We were absolutely delighted with our room upon inspection. The bathroom sparkled it was so clean, there were 3 single beds - with sheets starchy and very clean, and the pillows felt like they were brand new.
There were coffee and tea facilities, and our room was cleaned while we were out.

We will definitely be staying at this hotel the next time we visit London. It isn't up to 5* standard, but I didn't expect it to be! It is a wonderful, clean, perfectly located hotel - for a very reasonable price.

We paid £316 for 3 people for 2 nights. I find this to be a great price for such a central London location.

Room Tip: If you don't fancy a few flights of stairs to climb to get to your room make sure you mention i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemma2_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here 2 nights, it suited us because of location. Room 21 is at the top of 75 stairs. make sure you are fit to go up and down these. Room was clean and tidy. housekeeper is a bit lax on putting new supplies of tea and coffee. Don't put the bathroom extractor fan on at night, it takes forever !!! to switch off. Breakfast was ample, don't expected a cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: if you don't want people above you go for rooms 20 and 21. It is at the back of the Hotel, but s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed 4 nights in chilly spring: We had room nr 27 across the street. Stairs gave some excercise both with and without suitcases. Room was ok with charm, Imagine beeing in small English home some years ago.... Breakfast with toast and jam in plain restaurant. We used room for sleeping, just what we needed. You lock yourself in and out and don`t meet staff until you leave. Very central . Just off Oxford Street and in walking distance from everything. Get an Oystercard and you can use buses and underground as much as you need. if you don`t need luxury and are in London to explore the city, this hotel is just the one. We didn`t have a hotel feeling when staying here, more like renting a room from somebody we know. Remember to ask for remote control for TV when you check in.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayViking52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed here for one night for a visit to the Palladium Theatre. It was extremely well placed and only a short walk away. Yes the rooms were a short walk away and yes there were no steps, but the room was fine and everything was clean. The staff were very welcoming and the following morning we had breakfast in the restaurant and enjoyed it very much. I would suggest that it is not the type of hotel you would pick if you were staying for any length of time, but for a couple of nights it was more than acceptable and also good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stjhnsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

stayed here for 4 days 2012 the room was small and you have to carry bags upstairs there is no lifts . the sheets was clean but the carpet and the furniture where dusty and still people's hair.The position is very close to all the shops in oxford street and tube stations. il pizzaiolo restaurant just below the guest house where you can enjoy eating pizza and pasta if you like italian food

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed here with 5 friends last weekend for my friend's hen night. The location just off Oxford Street is perfect. The hotel is in a little quiet street and I guess we were lucky that our window was also towards this small street because it wasn't noisy at all. Our room was in the house across from the reception building though. We slept really well. The beds were comfortable, good pillows and blankets, the room was warm, the toilet and bathroom very clean, the shower good pressure and hot. Breakfast was in the "main" building, in a little restaurant but it was only for hotel guests at that time. One received a serving of a warm croissant, 4 small pieces of toast with honey and jam. Orange juice, coffee, tea, cereal and joghurt were available as well.
Check out was at 11am. I would definitely stay here again and also recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: not a room towards oxford street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcrazy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#628 of 1,069 in London
1,143 reviews
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#576 of 1,069 in London
678 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#356 of 1,069 in London
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Suite Hotel

Property: Mermaid Suite Hotel
Address: 3-4 Blenheim Street, London W1S 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #818 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mermaid Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Suite London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing