We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as excpected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor House Hotel
Ranked #983 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at the Windsor Hotel 5 nights during the Eastern holidays. Service beforehand was excellent and all went well, we really felt ourselves that we were very welcome.

The room was twin room. In the room there was 3 beds, and it was really small. That didn't bother so much, you just go sleep the nights and have shower, we thought. But the shower was really small and we couldn't use it every day. Fortunately there were some common showers that we could use to wash our hair. The worst was that room was suffering mildew and humidity. One night we woke up because there was water dropping from the ceiling straight on the third bed. We put some towels on the bed to cover that. Next day we told to staff about it and they just gave us new towels.

Room on the garden site was quiet but the walls were really thin, and we could here all what our neighbour were talking. It was also disturbing at night.

This was not very nice experience. I'd say please don't go there if you mustn't and especially if you are allergic or sensitive to mildew.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mijuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beefair, Manager at Windsor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Guests,
we thank you for your feedback and we are happy to note that you felt that our office services were excellent and that you felt welcome. We are located very centrally indeed, a few minutes walk from Earls Court main street and the underground station, on a quiet tree-lined street, with a large , secure garden at the back of the Hotel, and this does ensure peaceful sleeps for our guests.

We note that the triple room allocated to you, at the twin room price, over the Easter period was nonetheless not quite large enough for you (ditto the ensuite shower and toilet ) and can only confirm that these are considered quite spacious as far as normal London standards go.

We are also aware that, unfortunately, our family guests in the room above did overflow the washbasin in their room, and we can only apologize, while we understand that accidents do happen occasionally.
You were very welcome guests, and our sole aim is to ensure that our guests have a happy and comfortable stay.
with our kind regards.,
the Management and Team at the Windsor House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

My sister and I are from Southampton and decided to turn a one day shopping trip into an over night stay just a few days before coming to London. However we wanted something as cheap as possible without having to stay in a hostel and anyone who knows London knows that cheap is hard to find! I searched various sites and then came across the Windsor House Hotel and it was everything we needed. It was only round the corner from Earls Court tube station and was a twin room with en-suite and breakfast!! And it was cheap!! To be honest we only wanted somewhere cheap to rest our head for the night and so we booked it!!

Upon arriving at the hotel we were too early for check in and the lovely gentleman on the desk said we could leave our luggage there and so we did and went shopping for a few hours before returning to check in. The room had two single beds with a small cabinet with a TV on top separating them. The room had a wardrobe a large chest of drawers and the en-suite. The en-suite was something like you would find in a motorhome and was a little small BUT it all worked fine, was clean and also was private!! The beds were quite comfy which was a bonus! The only downside to the room was that the only plug socket was the one being used by the TV and so we had to take turns in the evening to charge our phones. Also we happened to have some very noisey people above us and at points it sounded like they were going to come through the roof but obviously this wasn't a fault of the hotel.

The room came with breakfast but we didn't have time as we woke up late and had much more of London to see before leaving that afternoon. The hotel also lets you use the kitchen but we didn't need to utilise this but this is a fantastic idea!

All in all our stay was exactly what we wanted - somewhere cheap, clean and private to stay. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and we slept well! I noticed that this seems to be a hotel more popular with overseas visitors but I hope that this wouldn't put off any English visitors - it didn't put us off! For its location and its price you can't go wrong! I would recommend this to anyone who wants a cheap overnight stay in London!! Its not grand or posh - it doesn't claim to be! But its absolutely ideal for a bargain stay - more money then to spend on the attractions and shops of London!!

Thank you for having us and we have already recommended you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmTwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beefair, Manager at Windsor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Guests, we would just like to thank you for your kind comments. You were very welcome and cheerful guests and we very much hope to welcome you again soon. with our kind regards., the Management Team at the Windsor House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I had a one night stay at this budget hotel on the 14 march, myself and three kids on a visit to London, we had a private family room with a bathroom but we were unable to use the bathroom as a washroom as there was no shower only a very old chipped and vile looking bath tub that you would not want to use but apart from that it was ok for a one night stay,it is what it says it is (budget) so be prepared for just that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beefair, Manager at Windsor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Guests, we very much appreciate valid feedback from our welcome guests at all times.
we hasten to reassure you that all of our rooms have pristine, clean showers. we have only one remaining ' bathtub' and it was on our list for being, and indeed has just been gloriously resurfaced, and looks truly brilliant.
we have endeavoured to retain as many of the original features of the building as possible, to retain the 'ambience ' ' of the house and this Is an original Victorian cast iron bath, with the original Victorian floor tiles in place, lovingly restored.
with our kind regards., the Management Team at the Windsor House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We, a family of 4, stayed for 4 nights. We found what we expected (and payed for): a cheap, central, very basic place to sleep. Reading quite some reviews gave us the right expectations - it was clean, the staff were friendly, the breakfast very simple. Narrow stairs,no elevator, groups of teenagers (school-trips ?) - and it was the first time we "enjoyed" a bathroom in the corner of our bedroom (in a box, sort of) - our teenagers were a little embarassed at first, but i beats haveing to share facilities with other guests. And there was warm water - finally ;).
This place is closer to a youth hostel then a hotel - but, considered the price, that worked just fine for us. If I was on a low budget again I would stay there any time (though I might suggest some of the madrasses to be changed.....)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

After viewing a lot of positive reviews on tripadvisor, my boyfriend and I decided that this hotel was the best deal we could get. However I felt disappointed as soon as we arrived since the reviews were too good compared to the real thing.

There were some positive things though. The staff was helpful and the location excellent since it's only a two minute walk from the station. Also, although we didn't opt for it, using the kitchen was still an offered option and it could save us a lot of money.

Other than that, the hotel is in a horrible state. The smell all over the place is unpleasant and I suggest you take a room on the first floor since otherwise you'd have to take two or three flights of stairs. Our room was situated on the first floor and had a balcony which there was a sign not to use (reason unknown). The bathroom is very tiny and worst of all we had no towels on our first and last day, and once they did not provide us with clean towels hence left us with the towels from the day before! Moreover when it comes to breakfast, you would have to share jam and butter with other people from the same bowl.

This hotel is not expensive really but I'd suggest you consider others which could be slightly more expensive yet offer a better service. I won't go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharlet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beefair, Manager at Windsor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Dear Guests, We thank you for your feedback. We do offer very affordable accommodation, right in the centre of London and, as you kindly say, this was the ' best deal' that you could get. We do point out on our website that due to stairs, no lift, we are best suited to' the young or active young at heart ' offering a no - frills, super-clean and comfortable and homely atmosphere.
Our housekeeping team does favour good old-fashioned lavender beeswax furniture polish - which smells rather lovely !
For the Balcony windows - health and safety restrictors are a legal requirement in the U.K.
We are realistic in that all hotels will receive a mix of reviews, depending on varying factors, including realistic expectations vis a vis price paid, and we appreciaate the opportunity to respond and address guest concerns and react to valid feedback.
You were very welcome guests and our sole aim is always to ensure that our guests are both happy and comfortable.
with kind regards.,
the Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed at the WHH with my mother for three days/two nights. We knew it was a very basic accommodation so we didn't go there looking for or expecting any luxury thing. Although we didn't stay much in the hotel, we found the staff very friendly and especially the room very clean. Would return there!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiaramapelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

If you want to travel to London, this is the hotel you wanna stay in. The place is really nice and comfy. It's not a luxury hotel but you know, the important thing is that it is CLEAN.
The very good thing about it is that you can use the kitchen during the day so it's great for people who want to save money cause they don't need to pay for restaurants. Also, the team at the hotel is really nice and if you need any help, they will answer your questions.
Another thing that is good is that the underground station is 2-3 minutes away from the hotel so it's makes it very well situated.

Ok, there were so many things to say that I hope I didn't forget anything! Anyway, I would recommend that hotel to anyone who wants to travel to London.

Marie from Belgium

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,081 in London
144 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#791 of 1,081 in London
472 reviews
Viking Hotel
#786 of 1,081 in London
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairways Hotel
#868 of 1,081 in London
90 reviews
Hotel 65
#754 of 1,081 in London
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor House Hotel

Address: 12 Penywern Road | Earl's Court, London SW5 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #983 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £35 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windsor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing