We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding value in central London”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #76 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“outstanding value in central London”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed 4 nights at The George recently and were really happy there - great value for money, helpful and welcoming staff, fresh and comfortable accommodation. Our room was big enough for 3 (see photo) and included flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi internet, cordless phone. According to the website The George was built in 1809, which accounts for the narrower hallways and creaky stairs but we didn’t find either to be a problem and felt it added to the charm and experience of being in London. The breakfast service was a real positive of our stay. None of this “choice of continental or hot buffet at 20 or 25 GBP a head” but juice, cereal, fruit and a full English breakfast all included in the price of the room! Another plus is the location – reasonable walking distance to the west end and other attractions, 5 min walk to Russell Square underground, plenty of good pubs and restaurants close by yet it’s in a quiet and peaceful terrace opposite a park and gardens. If you’re after a five star hotel the George is not for you but for outstanding value for money bed & breakfast we haven’t found any better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowfreetoroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    279
    157
    67
    32
See reviews for
146
157
123
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We loved our stay at the George - good value for money, nothing flash but the staff were very efficient and friendly, the room spacious, the beds very comfortable and made up with quality bedclothes.

Bathroom could do with some attention (actually quite a lot) but it was cleaned well and regularly.

Breakfasts were good and extremely competently served.

Location so close to Kings Cross, on a lovely, leafy square makes it great for Northerner Dwellers such as myself using that station.

Many thanks.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrayFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed here for two weeks this summer. The hotel is fairly large and located in an old Georgian building. The accommodations aren't glamorous, but the price is excellent for central London. My single room was tiny but sufficient; it included a twin bed, desk, small wardrobe, tea kettle, small fan, TV, and sink. I used a shared toilet and bathroom, and there were clearly enough showers because I never had to wait for one. Breakfasts were good and fast, and there was a nice area near the breakfast tables for guests to sit on comfortable couches and read a selection of magazines and books. As others have said, the staff was amazingly helpful. I had a minor problem toward the end of my stay, and the staff bent over backwards to help me. My one major disappointment was the Internet service. My room was on the top floor, and the wireless service very rarely worked up there. But the best thing about The George is its location in Bloomsbury, my favorite neighborhood in central London. It is a very short walk from the British Library, the British Museum, the Russell Square tube stop, and King's Cross station. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2011

A very average hotel, except that the staff were amazingly helpful.
The receptionist helped us to sort out a booking mistake with late rooms (our fault) and tried their best to track some lost property (which turned out not to be lost after all). The breakfast was pretty good and the dining room service was excellent too.

My room was small, and noisy (I could hear people in a nearby room),
but it was overall good value for the location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VWtravel_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cohuna, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The George is equally as good as its sister hotel The Parkwood which was excellent. We spent several nights there and were most impressed by the value for money. Location in a lovely quiet area adjacent to a small park was also convenient to the Underground. Rooms were clean and comfortable and very adequate is size and we appreciated the character of its period architecture. Staff were always courteous and helpful and these hotels would be my first choice when visiting London again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I've stayed at The George many times over the years and whenever I'm in London I never think of staying anywhere else. 5 minutes walk from Russell Squre station, perfect when arriving into Heathrow, heaps of great restaurants nearby (Hair & Tortoise asian restaurant in the Brunswick Centre is really really good).
My recent stay at the George was the most pleasant as the rooms have been done up with new furniture and it is very nice. It has always been clean, comortable and good value but this time I felt like I was getting more for my money. The whole area has had a bit of a facelift in recent years and it seems as though the George has followed suit.

The staff are always friendly and the full english breakfast is delicious and plentiful, it's best to get there early as the brekfast room is pretty small for the number of guests if the hotel full. On occassion I've had to wait for a table, but not long and it's worth it, but there is a great cafe right around the corner if you can't wait.
I love the George and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter, but front rooms face the nice gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed here twice this northern summer (2011). Perfect location to see London at attractive cost. Comfortable rooms, small, as to be expected in a Georgian building. Found the staff most helpful and the breakfasts were plentiful and served promptly. My wife and I would certainly stay here again if we visit London in the future. Thanks from two satisfied experienced Aussie travellers.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#560 of 1,069 in London
562 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#428 of 1,069 in London
713 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#537 of 1,069 in London
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#891 of 1,069 in London
148 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#56 of 554 in London
586 reviews
Bloomsbury
Judd Hotel
Judd Hotel
#239 of 554 in London
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 58-60 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location for a stay in central London - quiet and peaceful facing central gardens but within walking distance of the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho and the West End, ideal for both theaters and shopping. If you prefer to use the tube, the hotel is only 2 stops from Oxford Circus and Covent Garden and only 3 stops from Leicester Square. All bedrooms in the George have TV, direct-dial phone, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, etc., and the prices include a traditional English breakfast and tax – no more to pay. The hotel now has Wi-Fi in all rooms and a computer in the lounge with free internet access for guests to keep in touch with friends and family while traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing