We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel where you pay for location”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #76 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Budget hotel where you pay for location”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I had a one day stop over in London, so a colleague and I stayed one night in The George Hotel.

Check-in: We rented a double room which came with two twin beds and an "in suite bath". Flight from Nigeria arrived at about 5:30am, we then took the Tube from Heathrow to Russell square station, about 45 min. It gets quite crowded, but a fine ride although you would not want to wrestle large, or heavy luggage on this route. From the station, it is about a 10 minute walk to a quiet little street lined with similar hotels to the George. We arrived just after 7:00, and checked in, although we could not go to the room, they allowed us to leave our luggage in a corner of the lobby. Receptionist recommended the Big Bus Tour [Double Decker], and sold us tickets. The closest pickup point is a pleasant 10 minute walk.

The Room: Our room was on the third floor, up a series of very narrow, very steep stairs. It overlooked the park/tennis courts [which closed about 10pm] across the street. There were two windows that opened to the street, but the neighborhood was quiet, and the breeze was pleasant. There wasn't much in the way of decor, but that was fine, we weren't there to hang out in the room.

The Bath: Here in America, you can buy a fiberglass enclosure for a tub/shower that is all one unit, just drop it in and connect the plumbing. Well, this was an entire fiberglass bathroom! I guess in these old London buildings bathrooms were at a minimum and to add an in suite bath, you can buy the unit, run some water and presto, you've got an instant bath. As you might imagine, it was TINY, the sink actually hangs over the toilet. BUT, it is fully functional, just not what I was expecting in a B & B.

Location: We walked a couple of blocks down and chose a breakfast cafe. Then walked to the Big Bus pickup spot. We ended up walking to the avenue A3211 which runs along the Thames to catch a bus on a different route. The George is about a 2 mile walk from the London Eye, & Cleopatra's Needle. After spending the day sightseeing, we returned to The George that evening about 9:00pm. We were directed to the room, our bags had been moved, but were intact. The Receptionist directed us to a fish & chips place about 2 blocks away and we brought our supper back and sat on the porch as we ate. There were lots of small restaurants around, but they all seemed crowded and we had an early plane the next morning.

Other Thoughts:
1) They lock the lobby at 10pm, but they do have a 2nd entrance for late night/early morning arrivals-departures. 2) They advertise internet, and give you an access code when you check in, along with a paper that admonishes you not to stream, or download anything, but it seemed to work fine for email. I didn't try to download anything. 3) We had to leave before they opened breakfast, we were told that if we could wait until they opened we could take a banana or something with us, but nothing was available until then. 4) They wouldn't charge my CC in USD, only in BPS, so expect a foreign transaction fee (mine was 3%) on your card unless you have a card without it. 5) Overall they were friendly and helpful. The price is based primarily on location, so don't expect too much from the room, just enjoy the experience of being close to central London.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, reserve a room on the ground, or skip this one, the stairs are chal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibssguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    279
    157
    67
    32
See reviews for
146
157
123
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed for two nights in early June. The George is ideally located in a quiet crescent within a few minutes’ walking distance of Euston, Kings’ Cross, the BM and some of the main University of London buildings (e.g. UCL and SOAS). There are tennis courts just across the road - rackets and balls can be obtained from reception. We had a triple room (no 3) in the basement, not ideal in some ways because we could hear the creaking of the floor above in reception and the rumbling of the underground trains below (though luckily there is no train service in the middle of the night!); however, we got a reasonably good night’s sleep, and having no other room adjacent meant we heard nothing from other guests. Minimal soundproofing between rooms elsewhere in the hotel might be a problem, as in many UK hotels. There was plenty of space in our room; the en suite bathroom was small and narrow (might be a problem for guests who are larger than us!), with a slightly unpleasant musty smell, but everything was in good working order. Room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, and the bed pretty comfortable. There were very generous supplies of tea and coffee, and an excellent information folder, perhaps the best I have seen anywhere in the world, primarily aimed at overseas visitors – everything up-front and honest, even so far as to advise guests to buy a phone card for overseas phone calls rather than make very expensive calls from the room phone! Breakfast was very good and cost very little extra - freshly cooked and quick to arrive for those in a hurry. I have read about a few problems in other reviews, but overall we were very satisfied, and the staff were friendly and efficient - a lightbulb was changed quickly and an effort was made to improve poor TV reception. We definitely plan to stay here again, rather than at one of the budget chains nearby.

Room Tip: If you want to watch TV, don't stay in the basement! But basement rooms might be quieter, and ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We are not picky people, but this hotel looks lovely from the outside, the inside is a different story.
The carpets were dirty and coming away from the walls, it smelt dirty and it was quite dingy as well. Our horror though was to find shared toilets and bathrooms. We were moved to the only room with a bathroom, but this was also dirty. Great location, but would not return.

Room Tip: Ask about a room with a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tilly21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Georg Hotel was a very friendly, clean at a great price. You could not have had a better location, only 5 minutes to the underground and trains. The breakfast was ok, The rooms are small but very clean and has all you need.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkshoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

If you need accom in London its going to cost. Only for two nights this appeared to fill the bill at 60 pounds a night. I wanted to be near Euston station for journey north so this was handy. Welcome warm and sent up stairs to my single room with shared toilet facilities down the hall. The climb with case an effort. No assistance will be offered. The stairs are very skinny. My room on the top level. Nothing special but was clean and had tea/coffee making. The smallest flat screen tv ive seen in a hotel. If bathroom engaged then try down stairs. Noisey Children heard through walls. Free wifi with computer for guest use in reception. Breakfast offered at a minimal exta cost. A small map is offered of the Hotels position. Find another as this is very confusing and Ive been in London many times before. There are many local pubs handy for meals and drinks. Felt safe on journeys out at night.
Not a fan of London anymore and was here on necessity only, so on my return from north headed out to Richmond to The Red Cow where accom was cheaper, comfortable and atmosphere much better compared to the central hum.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Superb location, 5 minute walk from Euston station, also just 5 minutes to Russell Square underground with the Piccadilly line so 5 stops from Leicester square, covent garden, Piccadilly etc with Harrods and the museums on the same line. Bonus! Had a family room with 4 beds, a great nights sleep with loads of comfort. Surprising benefits were free WiFi and the breakfast for an extra £5 was awesome with unlimited amounts! Overall, great location, price and friendliness.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Gd helpful service staff. Excellent breakfast! Only one negative point: toilet pcum showerstall too small: entire bathroomonly about 0.6 m wide and 1.6m long. Washbasin position makes sitting on WC difficult. And i am only 1.5 m tall n a petite asian. I dont know how a larger sized caucasian can use the bathroom with the door closed!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#560 of 1,069 in London
562 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#428 of 1,069 in London
713 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#537 of 1,069 in London
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#891 of 1,069 in London
148 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#56 of 554 in London
586 reviews
Bloomsbury
Judd Hotel
Judd Hotel
#239 of 554 in London
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 58-60 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location for a stay in central London - quiet and peaceful facing central gardens but within walking distance of the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho and the West End, ideal for both theaters and shopping. If you prefer to use the tube, the hotel is only 2 stops from Oxford Circus and Covent Garden and only 3 stops from Leicester Square. All bedrooms in the George have TV, direct-dial phone, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, etc., and the prices include a traditional English breakfast and tax – no more to pay. The hotel now has Wi-Fi in all rooms and a computer in the lounge with free internet access for guests to keep in touch with friends and family while traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing