We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hope this place is not going downhill”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #72 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have stayed at this place a few times in the past few years, but last trip was pretty bad. We were stuck in the attic room (request 1st or 2nd floor) which was so hot and strange-smelling. We could not keep the window open as it seemed to be broken. By contrast, the shared bathroom was freezing. A lot of noise going on, like a youth hostel, at all hours of the night, which was not the case on the lower floors. In addition, one of the people staying on the top floor claimed that his door had been broken down so the police were brought in to question everyone. We had not seen anything & weren't sure if the partying had gotten out of hand. Due to past stays here which were better (advantages of price, quiet charm & close to public transit), we are hoping this was just one bad time.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor - dirty, too many stairs, noisy, & poorly ventilated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

For the past 14 years or so the George has always been our hotel of choice on our visits to London; its an excellent base for all our needs with greats dining and quick fix shopping needs right on the doorstep yet is only a short walk or tube ride to all the fun stuff. Really peaceful and quiet at night so no worries about getting a good nights sleep.
The George itself has always offered a very comfortable stay with good and friendly service and lovely breakfast. The rooms were always a little shabby but very clean and thats never bothered us especially when the prices were so good for central London. Just returned from a theatre trip and stayed on the third floor which has been completely refurbished; was informed that the hotel now has new owners, hence all the work and that all the rooms will eventually be en-suite.
Very impressed with the work done nice colour schemes,very light and airy, great wetroom (only quibble the cloakroom sized sink isnt easy for cleaning teeth or wetshaving). So the George still remains firm favourite although i can see a price rise on the horizon once the refurb has been completed. But as long as they keep it competitive and the breakfast remains the same as it always has been then i will always return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Excellent service, clean & tidy rooms, seems it is under renovations but everything was perfect; plus its near everything.

I am very picky and have high standards, and this hotel matched most of them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our first visit but definitely not our last. Refurbishment underway but this does not detract in any way to the stay. The room was clean, breakfast was excellent (both the standard of food and service), nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest2B1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed here several times over the past few years and it's my first choice of a good reliable hotel with a location handy for Euston and most of central London. Great pub, great bookshop and superb fish and chip shop just round the corner. The accommodation is fairly basic but always clean and well maintained. No problems! And it's worth noting that they give a discount on the prices for returning guests.

Room Tip: Need to be aware that there is no lift and the top floor is quite a hike up fairly steep, narrow sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay, in the process of refurbishment so think we were probably the first in our room since it's makeover. Friendly and welcoming staff, clean and smart rooms, great breakfast, super quiet location only a 7 min walk from Euston - will definitely be visiting again particularly if kept at same prices.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while we were travelling. I wasn't expecting much but it turned out to be in a really great location, the rooms were cosy, the staff were friendly and it was very clean. Would recommend for someone who wanted great value for money!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank JaimeeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#582 of 1,077 in London
583 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#464 of 1,077 in London
735 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#274 of 1,077 in London
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#37 of 571 in London
623 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#30 of 571 in London
235 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#20 of 571 in London
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 58-60 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £71 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location for a stay in central London - quiet and peaceful facing central gardens but within walking distance of the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho and the West End, ideal for both theaters and shopping. If you prefer to use the tube, the hotel is only 2 stops from Oxford Circus and Covent Garden and only 3 stops from Leicester Square. All bedrooms in the George have TV, direct-dial phone, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, etc., and the prices include a traditional English breakfast and tax – no more to pay. The hotel now has Wi-Fi in all rooms and a computer in the lounge with free internet access for guests to keep in touch with friends and family while traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing