We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money stolen from room.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Lane City Apartments
Ranked #271 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Money stolen from room.....”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

The positive of staying here is the location, which is close to Liverpool Street station.
Negatives are the noise, there is a noisy bar opposite and no double glazing. Also the apartments are tired and need refurbishing.

The most unpleasant experience here was having money stolen from our room the day before we were due to leave (a three week stay). I was particularly upset as we felt we had a good rapport with the cleaning staff and had already given them a tip that day for their services during our stay. They totally denied taking it (although they were the only people who had access during the 2 hours we were out of the room) and the manager shrugged his shoulders and said 'it has never happened here before'. Having spent several thousand pounds by staying here over 3 weeks we would have appreciated a better level of service and sympathy to the situation (and perhaps an offer to reimburse!) We are not in the habit of leaving cash in a hotel room, but there are no safety deposit boxes here, and after 3 weeks feeling very comfortable we foolishly had been less cautious than usual.

We will not be staying here again, and my husbands company who has previously used the apartments for other visitors will not either.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
4
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We booked a four night stay in these apartments and the location, near Liverpool Street Station, was ideal for our needs. The manager was very friendly and helpful and service of rooms very good. It was all we could want in an apartment. However the smell in the lift to our apartment was like raw sewage.....gross!! The heating which was on 24 hours was like a jet engine taking off and meant the rooms were like saunas!! The pub across the road and poor front windows ensured that our entire stay had a pub soundtrack, including the 2 am drunken brawls!!!! It was a real pity that the noise was so bad because the apartments themselves are otherwise ideal. Maybe more suited to people who are intending staying out late and less suitable for families

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Pluses:
- size of apartment - the two bedroom apartments are large, with a big living room and large enough bedrooms with plenty of cupboard space
- the kitchen is well equipped with everything you need, they even provide instant coffee, tea and sugar for your urgent needs
- location is very good, 5 minutes walk both from Liverpool Street and Aldgate stations with good connections to underground and buses
- heating worked very well - luckily for us, see comment on windows
- WiFi - free WiFi that worked very well
Minuses:
-WINDOWS: they do not have double glazing and the noise is almost like having no windows at all ! Really bad. We were there during a very cold period and you could feel the cold and draft coming from the windows. We had to put pillows in the windows during the night to reduce the draft and the noise
- overall maintenance: towel rails keep falling down, the dishwasher was very "fragile", there were many signs of wear and tear
- cleanliness - not great, I found hair on the floor of the bathroom on arrival

Room Tip: Not worth for short trips, ok if you stay longer and especially if you have business in the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacanta_mare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The apartment was lovely. Close to station and a co op just next door for convienience.
The beds were comfy and it was very cheap for New Year's Eve.
The apartment we had had 2 bathrooms which helps when there were 4 girls.
Highly recommend if you are in a group or a family as its cheaper than 2 hotel rooms.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eat198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath serviced apartment - very spacious and an ideal location for our needs - very close to the Liverpool Street tube station. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. However, the unit was very dated and worn and in need of an upgrade (at least by US standards). However, it was very livable for a short duration. If possible, request an apartment on an upper floor - we were in Unit 1A (on second floor) and the street and pedestrian notice was disruptive at night.

We would recommend this property because it was so spacious and the staff was so friendly but warn others that the furnishings and carpet are in need of repair/cleaning.

Room Tip: Select an upper floor to reduce street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was quite spacious,clean, had a fully equipped kitchen and two bathrooms. I also liked the location, minutes away from the nearest underground station and a 10-minute walk from the Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You also have a nice variety of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristna_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#445 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Spitalfields
Rez Apartments
Rez Apartments
#143 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
City of London
The Bull & The Hide
The Bull & The Hide
#47 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Fraser Residence Bishopsgate
Whitechapel
Monopoly Accommodations
Monopoly Accommodations
#158 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
City of London
Devonshire Club
Devonshire Club
#446 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane City Apartments

Property: Park Lane City Apartments
Address: 92 Middlesex Street, London E1 7EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Spitalfields
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane City Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Lane City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing