We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small street - filled with customer friendly mainly guitarshops”
Review of Denmark Street

Denmark Street
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.16*
and up
Rock Tour of London
Ranked #77 of 738 Shopping in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice small street - filled with customer friendly mainly guitarshops”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Went to Denmark Street to check out the guitars in several of the shops. I have always found it special when similar shops localte themselves close to each other. That sort of business setup is counterintuitive regarding competion between. But on the other side - the shops benefit from each other due to the fact that everybody goes to Denmark street to find music instruments.
Every shop has very qualified personel - they actually knows what they talk albout - which is very nice to experience. Prices were fair - and we ended up bying a nice western guitar in one shop and a ukulele in another. Both places the gave us a good discount when we selected flightcases for our instruments. This is the way to buy instruments - and an area where shopping in physical stores is much better than bying on the internet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JornJensen-McGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A paradise for guitar lovers”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Short street, several real good guitar shops (second hand... high quality), a must for guitar lovers

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddie198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
225 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Every shop is a guitar shop, apart from the Saxaphone shop!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

If you play guitar, go to Denmark Street. Every shop is a guitar shop apart from the saxaphone shop. There are accoutic guitar shops, electric guitar shops, base guitar shops and I think there is a drum shop. If you have a non-musical partner, show them the Foyles Bookshop at the end of the street and agree to meet up there for a coffee in about an hour or two's time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank CondadoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting for Rock music fans”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I've been there with my son aged 20 and he realy enjoyed entering the music stores in this street. This place is full of kozy music stores that sell all kind of music instruments, generally guitars from all kinds old and new. The staff are very friendly and you can even try the guitars. Very nice visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnina_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nor Cal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you looking for musical instruments in London, this is the street for you.”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Whenever I travel to a city I always like to check out music stores. As a musician I'm always looking for something to add to my collection. The street is similar to 48th Street in NYC where all the music stores are located. Although these days it seems that Sam Ash has bought most of that street; but I digress. Anyway, if you're a musician you'll no doubt have a good time whether you're at Chris Bryant's, Rockers, Regent Sound Studios, or Wunjo Guitars.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank DannyLNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denmark Street also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Denmark Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing