We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must for Musicians!”
Review of Denmark Street

Denmark Street
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.63*
and up
Rock Tour of London
Ranked #74 of 732 Shopping in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Must for Musicians!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I don't know about you, but as I New York musician I spent entire days haunting the shops on 48th Street, which sadly doesn't exist anymore. London musicians are lucky because they still have their row of shops on Denmark Street. There were of course the usual Fenders, Gibsons, etc. that I can get at home. What I was looking for was new and exotic instruments I hadn't seen before. As a bassist the Wunjo Bass Centre was Heaven! People in the shops were uniformly cool to this visiting foreigner. A must-see for musicians.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank bassguygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful wunjo”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Wunjo bass centre in Denmark Street is a guitar shop with a lot of heart. My son was after a high spec bass guitar and I cannot fault the friendly and professional advice given, particularly from Keith who gave us a terrific price. will be shopping there from now on!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave65flow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina di Montemarciano, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must-visit for any guitar lover”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This very short street is crammed full of instrument shops (mainly guitars), and it's a *must-see* for every guitar lover.
Entering any of the guitar shops is kind of a time-travel, as you are immediately isolated from the noise outside and projected into a fully musical dimension.
You may happen to see a couple of people managing their shop just sitting behind the desk and playing their guitars, or spend some time reading the near-to-infinite number of notes on the billboard looking for any sort of musicians for any kind of musical group.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Jonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice small street - filled with customer friendly mainly guitarshops”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Went to Denmark Street to check out the guitars in several of the shops. I have always found it special when similar shops localte themselves close to each other. That sort of business setup is counterintuitive regarding competion between. But on the other side - the shops benefit from each other due to the fact that everybody goes to Denmark street to find music instruments.
Every shop has very qualified personel - they actually knows what they talk albout - which is very nice to experience. Prices were fair - and we ended up bying a nice western guitar in one shop and a ukulele in another. Both places the gave us a good discount when we selected flightcases for our instruments. This is the way to buy instruments - and an area where shopping in physical stores is much better than bying on the internet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JornJensen-McGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A paradise for guitar lovers”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Short street, several real good guitar shops (second hand... high quality), a must for guitar lovers

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddie198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denmark Street also viewed

 

Been to Denmark Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing