We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "chain" restaurant, but a great place for lunch”

Fuller's Pie and Ale House
Ranked #1,367 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Westminster
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A "chain" restaurant, but a great place for lunch”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I shared a fish pie entree with my daughter, and it was the perfect amount (for me, my adult daughter said she wished she'd had the entire thing to herself!) My son had a cajun chicken sandwich, which was very good. Their fish and chips was also a good choice, not soggy at all, and their french fries/chips also very good. Good price, would definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emptynestb4long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    191
    77
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice friendly pub , food expensive and limited”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice atmosphere, friendly staff. Food looked ok but was rather restricted to unhealthy food. Clean and welcoming

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank skiersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but nothing special.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Like many pubs in this area, The Sanctuary is fine if unremarkable.

Plenty of space inside but nothing to distinguish either the products or pricing.

Helpful?
Thank KH1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pies”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had the cheese broccoli and cauliflower pie. Delicious. The chips are homemade too. Nice staff. They are friendly. The beer is tasty here too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharonperess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Lives up to its name!! Friendly, welcoming and efficient.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have visited this pub several times when visiting London to see a friend. The pub is indeed a sanctuary to tourists and locals alike. It is very convenient for the river and west end and it is usually the last pub of the day before I leave for Victoria station. Due to its side street location, it is busy but we always manage to find a nice table.

Already a favourite with me for its locally brewed Fullers traditional ales, on this occasion we decided it was high time we tried the food, considering how nice and tempting it all looked on our previous visits.

Although this pub is a boutique hotel, it is run as a very traditional pub with a wood and cut glass type interior. It is welcoming and comfortable, definitely a pub with unpretentious good food rather than a soulless gastropub. In fact, unlike many food pubs, customers are not made to feel unwelcome if they just want a drink.

The bar manager was friendly, cheerful and welcoming and we were made to feel valued customers throughout. Unusually for an informal pub of this type, our food order was taken at our table and no money was asked for before we ate our meal.

We both ordered the chicken and chorizo pie which was lovely and creamy with a white bean, onion and tomato ragout. It was served with fluffy and crunchy chips and root vegetables done in butter and herbs. Very filling, we were unable to manage a dessert.

I will plan a visit sometime to stay over in the hotel above.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrewms14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fuller's Pie and Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Fuller's Pie and Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing