We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it, but...”
Review of ME London Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ME London Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Love it, but...”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I just completed my second stay at ME London. I am in London every 6 to 8 weeks and I have given up on the Hilton brand in the UK. Seeing ME open opposite the Hilton Waldorf I decided to give it a try and I have been so far very happy with the experience. The rooms are awesome - very well appointed and nicely sized for the London market. It definitely has a Gansevoort or Standard feel. A "sexy" button on the light switch is a nice touch. Expect to pay £300 to £500 a night for a nice room. I was upgraded to a suite this trip which was excellent. French champagne on arrival and really friendly staff is a plus.

Now for the negative. The One Group is operating the STK and rooftop (Radio) bar at ME. STK is good, food menu is almost identical to other restaurants and I have not had an issue getting a reservation. However operating a swank lounge in a hotel is complex and requires some thought. Hotel guests should never be made to feel like they are inferior to the clientele attending the lounge. On several occasions I was asked if I was going to the lounge - said "no" - and was then told I would need to use another elevator. The doormen have not seemed to fully grasp how elevators work and I literally spent minutes each time waiting to get an elevator that would take me to my room. On Monday night it good to such a point of absurdity I totally lost it. Anyway the interference of the rooftop lounge in my accommodation experience has had me rethinking visiting ME again. Other that that I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your helpful review. It is indeed a shame that your hotel experience was overshadowed by exterior motives. We are closely working together to reach the best solution and create a welcoming and positive experience for all our residences. Please do come back and give us another opportunity to provide an all round, exceptional experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,798
    466
    153
    71
    55
See reviews for
334
1,270
93
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
175 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I was only in this hotel for a few hours and found this to be a comfortable and luxurious experience. I loved the toiletries, bath robe, very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, the view and the midday checkout. I was disappointed that I twice had to phone reception to ask for a toothbrush. Following the second call, someone did arrive with one but after 45 minutes. One of our bedside lamps did not work- I would have expected this to have been checked. We found that there was a little too much ambience in the corridor outside our room. The smell of watermelon freshener was rather sickly and the lighting so dimmed we struggled to find our way. Nonetheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this impressive central London hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElectraCooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your review. It is a real shame that we failed to reach our standards on such simple requests. We are indeed following up on this, and would love you to come back and experience our normal and outstanding service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Positives: Great location, architecture and okay design. Roof terrace was fun and we did get there with the 'I'm staying here' card.
Negatives: checked in at 6.45pm - room was being cleaned. 20 mins later got the key. Is checkin not normally mid afternoon? Surely bits ridiculous not to have rooms ready by 6pm? Shampoo, shower gel and body lotion all half used. Eventually got some full ones from housekeeping. Dust/dirt behind toilet door. Asked to borrow iPhone charger - they said they couldn't lend but would charge at reception. Next morning phone completely dead so they lent me cable. Cable didn't work as was not genuine apple one I suspect. I shouldn't expect a cable but when told they would charge up my phone and I left with them / borrowed a charger it was a bit disappointing it didn't work.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your constructive review. Check in time at ME London is 3pm and should be followed. Our Management team are following up on this unusual case as to why it was not achieved, yet please do accept our most sincere apologies. Your comments regarding the in room amenities and iPad charger are quite alarming, and, if applicable, will be rectified immediately. Please do come back and allow us to show your our normal, and exceptional service at ME London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband booked us a night at the ME London for my 50th Birthday surprise, we stayed here on Tuesday August 6th, once he had told me on my birthday I came straight on here and looked at the reviews, needless to say I was a tad worried, we aren't young and trendy, noisy and want to be up until 3am! Without him knowing I contacted the hotel and expressed my concern about the reviews of noise etc, I received a lovely email back ensuring that we wouldn't be allocated a room on the first floor or top floors and she had made a note on our booking.
We arrived at the hotel early, just expecting to ask if we could offload our bags and then go sight seeing, we were met by very friendly and welcoming staff and was shown to reception where we were able to check in straight away, we were asked if we would like to upgrade for a minimal amount to which we did, while the receptionist was sorting all this out she offered us both a glass of champagne which was lovely. Within minutes we were on our way to our room and wow, what rooms they are.
We finished our champagne in the room and then went to the rooftop bar for lunch, one tip, you cant get to the rooftop bar from all the lifts! You have to go to the bottom and get in another lift.
We found a table fine and the staff were lovely and friendly, I was a little paranoid that we would be under dressed or look out of place but not at all. We had a lovely lunch of tapas and cocktails in the sunshine. Service was quick, food was gorgeous, first class, different and tasty. Service was excellent.
Each time we either went out or came in the hotel we were met with friendly faces and felt welcomed.
We slept perfect, I don't think I have ever slept on such a comfy bed or had such lovely soft pillows, there was no noise whatsoever and no problems at any time of the day in the lobby or lifts, we came back to the hotel at about 11.30 and I expected it to be a buzz of drunken young people but not at all. Maybe this is because it was a Tuesday and midweek and the party goers are out more at weekends?
If I have any negatives to say it would be the lifts, so temperamental and at one point I thought we were stuck, we just got into a habit of pressing ground floor and starting again and by the second day got used to them, I think maybe some information either in the lift, in the room or with your keycards would be beneficial. We couldn't find useful telephone numbers either in the rooms but this is only a minimal negative.
I loved this hotel and if I could afford it I wouldn't ever stay anywhere else when coming to London, we was able to walk to all the tourist points easily and Covent Garden was a stones throw away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for such an outstanding review! Our team strives to provide a tailored service for each individual, creating the most unique experience for every occasion. It is a great pleasure to read how we successfully achieved this… Please do come back for more and we promise to totally blow you away, yet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just like Actors & Performers, any Venue & Establishment is only as good as its' last performance & given what we experienced, the ME, London would have been booed off stage & slammed by the. critics! The service was generally dreadful, condescending, pompous, unhelpful & totally void of customer-focused service. The attitude was very much, take it or leave it & as though we should be grateful to be even be allowed in there; such approach & conduct is wholly unacceptable & highly disrespectful to Customers & Patrons alike! Needless to say we will not return and/or recommend & I am pursuing a direct complaint with Melia whom I'm absolutely horrified are endorsing & associating with such disgraceful & shameful conduct.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank Navilluso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your review. In order to improve our service, we would love to know more details about your experience at ME London. Please do contact us directly, or our team at Melia Hotels International Head Quarters in order to discover your experience and offer the most adequate solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

I booked a one night stay at ME London, as part of a theatre weekend away with my husband for our anniversary.

I will start with my pre-stay experience, as Melia sell this hotel as a "full experience". Unfortunately it starts with a gripe since it seems that this particular Melia hotel does not honour the benefits of their own Melia Rewards programme. As a Gold member, I am usually entitled to early check in and late check out, but having emailed the hotel, was informed that this "perk" is not available at ME London. Very disappointing.

My hopes were raised a little when a week before my stay, I received an email fro the "Aura" team, inviting me to reply with any requests, or reservations required during my stay since, as they reiterated, staying at ME London is more than just a hotel stay, but a whole experience. So I replied, with a request for a room in quiet are of the hotel, and asking for a reservation for an afternoon drink in the Radio roof top bar. I received no response at all- further disappointment!

Upon arrival at 3pm, we were escorted from the entrance to the 1st floor reception by a member of staff who barely managed a smile and mumbled a few words under his breath about the hotel whilst in the lift. At check in, we were informed that despite it being past the hotel's check in time, our room was not ready, so we were given a offered a glass of champagne which the concierge suggested we enjoy in the rooftop bar. He accompanied us to the lift which goes to the roof top bar. The lift was (quite literally) being "guarded" by two doormen. I can understand that a hotel might look for a certain level of clientele, but we are a professional couple in our 30s and were smartly dressed. The concierge proceeded to have an augment with them about whether or not we were "allowed" into the rooftop bar. Once the doorman had given us a good look up and down, he eventually decided that we could go up, if we agreed to a £100 minimum spend per person!!!!

Looking at other reviews, it seems that our disappointment and issues with the Radio Bar are shared by many - it is not operated by the hotel and despite the hotel's responses to these reviews, it is clear that hotel guests are not welcome. Setting a £100 minimum spend per person in the middle of the afternoon is completely ridiculous and means that it is not accessible for any guest wanting anything less than to drink themselves under the table! If it is run as a separate concern, fine, but Melia need to remove the Radio Bar from their website, because they are offering something which is not available to the majority of guests.

The hotel itself is quite spectacular - the room was great (apart from the fact that there is only a shower and no bath in the Aura rooms). We were on the 2nd floor looking onto the Strand and could hear no noise at all, from the road or from the bars.

However, the attitude of the staff left me with the overwhelming feeling of being unwelcome in a hotel which we had paid in excess of £300 per night for. We enjoyed a lovely meal over the road at One Aldwych and will be opting to stay there next time.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank babyhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review babyhoopper! We are pleased you enjoyed the fantastic design of the Aura rooms in the second floor at the ME London Hotel. In regards of the Melia Rewards benefits, due to the terms and condition some of the F&B benefits are not available, what it comes to early check in and late check out, depends on the availability but they are offered like in any other hotel of Melia Hotels International. We have implemented a new procedure that prioritises the guests of the hotel to access Radio. However depends on the day of the week there is still a minimum spent on tables. Babyhoopper, please get in touch with the Aura or Experience Manager when you book your room again, we will make sure that we offer you the real ME London Experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary total disaster, first impression was brilliant the appearance and architecture was amazing. But our story goes like this, after having a shower I got a knock on the door hotel staff telling me the shower was leaking into the room below. Reception asked us to move rooms I reluctantly agreed to this as we had thearte tickets for 7.30 pm the time was now about 7pm .explained this would be a massive inconvenience and did nt want to be late for the theatre, reception said don't worry we will move your belongings for you and we will give you the card for the room now so I could get to the thearte on time (which we still didn't thanks to this). Agreed with my wife we would forget about this and just try and carry on with our weekend. Returned to the our new room after our night out , we realised our room was better than our room before and our bags were there what was brilliant . Until I tried turning the lights on which were controlled by a touch screen panel on the wall . Which were really un user freindly and complicated to use ( I'm a electrician of 10 years of experience ) the lights would not stop flashing in the hall way ,rang reception maintenance came they could nt fix it and said it would need an engineer to come who be at least an hour!!! Time is now 2am suggested we wait in reception WTF! No rooms were available to move to so I demanded a taxi home (oxford)which they agreed to. Got home at 5am , when we unpacked in the morning it came clear that my work I phone was not in my bag, I left it in our original room rang the hotel to see if it was found in our 2nd room which it was not. When trying to get our belongings together which was made impossible because the lights wouldn't work in the bedroom I asked for a torch, the hotels answer was two candle lanterns to see in the dark. My phone is still missing lost or possibly stolen when our belongings were moved rooms? A really upsetting experience

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We’re truly devastated to read that you had such an appalling – and very rare – experience. We hope to see you back soon. We will make sure this time you enjoy the fabulous and exciting experience that Me London strives to provide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#40 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#41 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#344 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME London Hotel

Property: ME London Hotel
Address: 336 - 337 Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — ME London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the action and near the city’s main theatres, exclusive boutiques, fashionable hot spots and trendy night clubs, ME London is one of the leading hotels in the centre of London. It is contemporary and cutting edge in style and located in one of the most important tourist destinations in the world. Designed by the world famous architects Foster + Partners, amongst its fantastic services and facilities, ME London provides 157 exquisitely designed, modern guestrooms including 16 suites, New York restaurant STK London, Radio Rooftop Bar with outdoor terrace and spectacular panoramic views of London (London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Tower Bridge, Covent Garden) and Marconi Lounge, 7 meeting rooms measuring 500 m2 with capacity for up to 300 people and a separate reception area; a modern, fully equipped gym, open 24 hours a day and complimentary high speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your ME London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing