We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek Hotel”
Review of ME by Melia London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ME by Melia London
Ranked #70 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Beautifully designed hotel by Norman Foster in an excellent location. Excellent service, and felt very welcome. State of the art rooms, with lovely baths. State of the art technology that on occasion did not work perfectly. In our suite the wifi did not seem to work in bedroom, only in sitting area. And the fancy lighting is sometimes difficult to figure out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank nitzantagansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear nitzantagansky thank you so much for your beautiful review. At the ME London we are thrilled to be surrounded by such an amazing aura, the cutting edge design of Sir Norman Foster is breath-taking, from the main entrance to the Atrium of the hotel and the room interiors. In your next visit we will make sure we explain to you how to operate the light panel. Thank you so much and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,863 - 1,869 of 2,800 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Arrived early in day and was off to meetings, I was very well attended too and off I went for meetings. When I can back nothing was to much trouble. Its very trendy and the Radio bar is fantastic. This will defiantly be my hotel of choice from now on. Well done to every single staff member for making my stay one of the BEST in London.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cozypubs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Cozypubs1, Many thanks for such an amazing review! We at the ME London we strive to provide an experience beyond accommodation and we are very happy when our guests get the feel. We are so looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Please contact the Aura team and we will be delighted to assist you during your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed for a few nights after the New Year, and enjoyed the stay, with a few points. The arrival experience is not ideal - I guess through no fault of the hotel, there is nowhere for a taxi to stop conveniently, and no doorman to welcome you and point you in the right direction. When travelling with 4 large suitcases this is slightly awkward, although as suitcases these days have wheels (much to every Concierge and Porter's ire, no doubt) it was not a major obstacle. Entering the lobby bar of the hotel is visually stunning, although I knew it would be before I even arrived, by the loud Lounge musak being played through outside speakers. No doubt it was some Buddha Bar style compilation, but it set the tone.

Having asked the barman how to get to Reception (in the lift, up to the first floor) we reached the Reception, which is a unique and quite bizarre design. The inside of the lobby is an enormous pyramid, reaching up the height of the building (8 floors or so) lined with some sort of marble. There is a central display piece, a small bar top for arrival drinks, the Reception desk and a curvy sofa. While visually stunning, it was also visually numbing, and I can't imagine working there, being devoid of windows, people, or anything really to cast your eyes on. It was literally like being inside a large, shiny pyramid. There is a light show in the afternoon when images are projected onto the pyramid walls, which would quite possibly cause flashbacks for anyone from the Flower Power generation!

As mentioned by others - the corridors are dark, the music follows you everywhere (although they do seem to change the mood and tempo depending on the time of day?) and there is a melon smell pumped throughout, or smells like there is. The rooms were fantastic though - dual rainforest shower-heads, twin sinks and good toiletries. I was perhaps mistaken when I saw they charged for the disposable slippers if you wanted to take them with you? If they charge, does this mean they are re-used from guest to guest? If so, my apologies to the next guest that gets mine - I just can't seem to fix this darn Athletes Foot infection, and the Verucas are a pain, but Boots should sell you a cream that will help. The TV system worked well, and had good speakers above the bed, but the IPTV was slightly buggy, and there was some jitter in the display from time to time.

Breakfast is served in the Italian restaurant of the hotel, and was very good. Service was efficient and friendly, and there is a type of hot buffet that is nicely served for you, which no doubt maintains the quality of the buffet better than letting the hungry hoards descend on it themselves. Overall the hotel stay was very good - it's a cool hotel, in a good location for many things in Central London, and I personally liked the area, as it was walking distance from everything I needed. Apparently there is a bar upstairs, but I was put off by the imposed exclusivity of the place. It's a bar. On a hotel roof. With a view. Get over yourselves please - other than that, a recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear AlexSW,
First of all, thank you for sharing a very detailed review. Here at the ME London, we aim to exceed our guests’ expectations; therefore a detailed experience is much appreciated!
We are terribly sorry to hear that our doormen missed you; they are lovely and very helpful. Our concierge team is eager to welcome you back and of course, to assist you with your luggage.
Thank you for your remarks on the Marconi Bar, which is stunning indeed, designed by the awesome Foster & Partners. We are very happy that you noticed the Aura of the hotel. The Scent of ME diffuses in the air, and the tempo and the style of music changes from early morning until late night to introduce our guests to the next period of the day.
Our Radio rooftop bar provides stunning views, spectacular cocktails and an electrifying vibe. Which is why it is always fully booked.
As a hotel guest, you have and always will have granted access, between opening hours of course.
We are glad you loved our merchandising! Obviously, the slippers are disposed after your stay
When you return to us please contact our Aura Team, who will be more than happy to assist with any request of yours!
The ME London team is hoping to seeing you on another occasion soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a new hotel and has great potential. The service upon check-in was great. We were escorted by the concierge to the check-in desk towards the back of the hotel. We requested a quiet room (club music is always blasting throughout the hotel) and were told that would not be a problem. Turns out it was a HUGE problem. We got a room on the second floor above the restaurant and around midnight the bass coming through the walls was unacceptable. We called the management and it took about 30 minutes to get the issue resolved.

With the noise problem aside, the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are lovely - spacious and clean.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor to avoid the noise issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angela24c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear angela24c, Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel rooms and you considered them spacious and clean. We are taking on board your feedback about the music and we are already on the case, at the end of the day we want all our guest to have a good night sleep. Thank you for sharing your experience with the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed Dec13 one night for theatre as location is superb. Building striking, reception atrium awesome. Had read about first floor reception, dark corridors and techno lifts so not surprised there. Twin room 8th floor was beautiful, excellent beds, luxurious toiletries and mini bar and extras. Very nice touch to have birthday messages on mirror and complimentary cake. Then...a terrace..in London!! Fabulous!!! However, this came back to bite us as you can hear the radio bar until it closes...ALL NIGHT until the early hours, absolutely ridiculous for a room tariff published at £400. Unfortunate incident when a radio bar (again) patron set off fire alarm at 1.30am. At checkout we were one of many that mentioned it to get a "sorry it was a very drunk man" but not really a sincere apology, felt sorry for business clients checking out who had to work that day. Expressed opinion that we could have stayed at a budget hen/stag party hotel for a quarter of cost with same shenanigans!! Another bug bear was with the crowds around doors at night for the bars and restaurants, good promotion for the hotel but paying guests struggle to enter!! Breakfast was nothing to write home about, had better in 5,4 and some 3 star hotels in London. I'm sure the pleasant staff would've obliged with whatever was requested but you had to go to them with questions or even tea/coffee refills. All in all, fab 5star experience for a young outlook crowd!!

Room Tip: Below 5th floor if you want to sleep before 2am!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hello Tina J,

We can’t stress just how thankful we are for your honest review.

It’s absolutely disheartening to read that your overall experience was marred due to the noise levels originating from the Radio Rooftop Bar especially after you've mentioned where we went right such as our hotel’s striking design features, luxurious toiletries and the extra touches we did to personalize your stay.

We understand that for the price being paid for our rooms, expectations should be met if not exceeded and we could have accommodated you in an alternative room on a lower floor. In doing so however you would have lost that desirable balcony that is provided solely on our 8th and 9th floors.

We want you to rest assured that we are poised to redeem ourselves should you ever decide to return to ME London and as you rightly said we can accommodate you on a lower floor should you choose.

We would like to thank you again for taking the take to express your views with us so we can constantly improve our service. We genuinely hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Spent our first week in London before Christmas in the happening, new beautiful ME London. Cool, comfortable, crisp and clean best describes our beautiful suite. Loved the bed, pillows, linens, luscious products, fresh flowers and well stocked not-so-mini bar including a much appreciated Nespresso machine. Our return visit in January was to a slightly upgraded room from standard and it did not disappoint. Mostly same amenities just less space but still more than adequate. Great breakfasts - something for all tastes, hot and cold. Stunning views from rooftop Radio bar and judging from traffic in and out of STK restaurant, a must go night spot. Spa services available but did not experience so no comment. Service excellent throughout - found the front door staff especially attentive. Walked everywhere from here - close to theaters, Soho and around the corner from Covent Garden. Would return to this hotel in a heartbeat and hope to do so sooner than later.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mmloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hello mmloves2travel,

We’re anticipating your return as well!

Being so centrally located makes us a perfect choice for visitors as most of London’s sites are literally just outside the doors and we trust that you've used this to your advantage during your experience with us.

We’re ever so pleased that you found that our bedding was to your liking and we urge you to opt into one of our In-Room Spa Experiences the next time you visit to help you relax and unwind in the privacy and comfort of your own room.

Whenever you do decide to walk back through our doors why not give us a call in advance so we can personalise your next stay with us to make you feel more at home.

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is phenomonal. The decor, staff and cuisine were the best I have experienced in London, and although the place was obviously 5 star, we were always made to feel relaxed and that we belonged!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Lynsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hello Lynsey H,

It’s our duty to make you feel a sense of belonging because at ME London we like to say that “ME becomes YOU”. YOU are unique and we never aim to give any of our guests a ‘cookie cutter’ experience.

Thanks for your lovely feedback; we want you to feel welcome at any time in the future so we further exceed your expectations.

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#42 of 1,076 in London
2,181 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,076 in London
4,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#332 of 1,076 in London
4,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME by Melia London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME by Melia London

Address: 336 - 337 Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £223 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ME by Melia London 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the action and near the city’s main theatres, exclusive boutiques, fashionable hot spots and trendy night clubs, ME London is one of the leading hotels in the centre of London. It is contemporary and cutting edge in style and located in one of the most important tourist destinations in the world. Designed by the world famous architects Foster + Partners, amongst its fantastic services and facilities, ME London provides 157 exquisitely designed, modern guestrooms including 16 suites, New York restaurant STK London, Radio Rooftop Bar with outdoor terrace and spectacular panoramic views of London (London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Tower Bridge, Covent Garden) and Marconi Lounge, 7 meeting rooms measuring 500 m2 with capacity for up to 300 people and a separate reception area; a modern, fully equipped gym, open 24 hours a day and complimentary high speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ME by Melia London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing