We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stop with family and in-laws”
Review of ME London Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ME London Hotel
Ranked #68 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend stop with family and in-laws”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Perfect location for most attractions in London
Covent Garden and Theatre land within 5 minutes walk.

Hotel was very modern and rooms very well thought out.
His and Hers shower room was loved by all

Rooftop bar is a must too , but again you must reserve a table . Fabulous views of London from the bar and outdoor patio.
One tip though , if you have under 18's they are not allowed there after 5pm.


STK Restaurant within the hotel is a must , but ensure you pre-book and have a bulging wallet.

Would definitely stay here again albeit a little pricey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickw1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello nickw1968,

Firstly, thanks for choosing to stay at ME London for your recent visit to the capital and for writing us such a lovely review of your experience.

The Radio rooftop bar is indeed such a fantastic venue, especially for those who want to be surrounded with stunning views of the city’s skyline and riverside.

Do come back and see us again soon, as at ME London all of our guests requests are our pleasure to provide, regardless of whether it is a special occasion or not.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,924
    486
    161
    73
    57
See reviews for
372
1,345
102
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A hotel with the wow factor!!! As soon as you walk in the staff look after you. On arrival we were greeted by concierge and taken downstairs to reception to be given a glass of Prosecco..already this hotel was ticking all the boxes!
Great location, stunning interior, amazing artwork, peaceful rooms. Fantastic views from our room terrace on the 9th floor and even better from the rooftop bar
Cannot fault this hotel and would definitely recommend

Room Tip: 9th floor riverside have an amazing view, a little more pricey but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello Shelin,

ME London is all about the experience and we’re delighted that you picked up on our unique vibe and ambience. Our service is indeed welcoming and inclusive, but as 5* as you can get. We can’t wait to see you again!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Dark corridors, funky lighting, stunning atrium, plush modern ground floor lounge, great staff...friendly and efficient. Chose this hotel over others nearby as it looked pretty funky, we were going to the Lyceum over the road and were with my son and his partner visiting from Adelaide...felt the young uns might prefer this over say the Aldwych opposite.
They loved the funky touches...varied goodies in the room to play with massive array of lighting options etc (I think this varies according to the room type you select)
We were not told their suite adjoining ours was equipped for disabled clients and differed in layout to ours...bathroom bigger but with various aids (room 111).
The Italian restaurant was good, very accommodating friendly staff, excellent food...best fillet steak I have had in a while.
If you like funky and different you will love this

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello Ian D,

Our stunning hotel design has been compared to many things before; however, never Star Wars …. BUT WE LOVE IT! Thank you ever so much for leaving us suck a lovely review.

It’s simply marvellous that you were able to make the hotel work for you and your family and we would be more than happy to welcome you back again the future to further exceed your expectations.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

First time stayed at the ME London. Having a mini break over Easter with wife and 11 year old son. We have enjoyed our stay here so much that I have felt compelled to write this review on our last night.

The hotel is perfectly located, walking distance to many attractions including theatres, shops, Covent Garden, St Paul's, Trafalgar Square, Houses of Parliament, London Eye, Westminster Abbey etc. etc.

The design of the hotel is cutting edge but also very welcoming, the main reason being that all the staff genuinely want to give great service and genuinely care about the guest experience. The check-in area (hard to describe) is simply amazing and needs to be seen first hand to be fully appreciated.

Radio bar (roof top) has to be amongst the best views in London, my son must have taken 100 pics! We have also eaten at both ground floor restaurants and the food and service was excellent. In fact we have just tonight enjoyed a lovely meal at STK and special mention and thanks must go to Leo who was extremely knowledgable and went the extra mile to make sure we all enjoyed the experience, and nothing was too much trouble. He is a credit to the hotel.

We will definitely be returning to the ME and already looking forward to a Latte on the terrace at Radio, looking out over the heart of London, it doesn't get much better!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello Philip D,

Firstly we’d just like to thank you for sharing your experience with us all.

It’s great to read that you felt comfortable walking to all the sights around London with ease and that you appreciated just how much thought and effort went into choosing this wonderful location and designing such a striking structure.

It’s also lovely to read about your visits not only to STK London but to our breath-taking Radio Rooftop Bar with its stunning views of the city and riverside.

Why not give us a call ahead so we can personalize another stay just for you in the future.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in we felt we had finally found the perfect hotel in London. My sister and I were welcomed like old friends even though this was our first visit. Our concierge took our bags and directed us to reception where prosecco greeted us whilst the reception team processed our booking efficiently. We then headed to our room on 4th floor which was gorgeous. A friendly me consultant arrived to show us how to work our high tech/spec room (mood lighting was brilliant addition). The fit and feel of the room was luxurious despite this being a standard room - turn down service wonderful as was in-room dining.
We visited most of the hotel bars with fab service from team who could not do enough. the only disappointment was a muddle up with reservation (team did not confirm our request for booking so request was lost in translation) for radio roof bar which meant we were quickly dismissed to a corner of the back terrace with a rather hassled "greeter" who did not want or have the time to assist us despite us asking what we could do to get a table the following night. However this would not put us off rebooking as the rest of the hotel made up for a small miscommunication.
We had a stunning meal in cucina asallina great value for money and well worth a visit!

Fab find now just waiting on an excuse to revisit

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Redcroft27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello Redcroft27,

First impressions are lasting and we endeavour to immerse you into the ME London Experience from the get-go.

We are ever so sorry about the minor reservation mishap but we are delighted that it was dealt with hastily and posed no disruption during your stay.

We would love to welcome you back again soon to the hotel and why not try out STK London; offering up some of the best steaks and cocktails whilst enveloping you in an upbeat and trendy atmosphere.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for about a week while on business. Conveniently located on the Strand. Very modern interior. Rooftop bar and steakhouse on ground floor seemed popular with the Ultra-Chic. Very nice selection of dishes at the steakhouse and drinks were nice, if a bit pricey. Concierge was friendly and very helpful. Checking in and out is an experience as it requires going to a different floor from the entrance but at lease you are rewarded with an incredible view (Look up and you'll see ceiling to the lobby extend upwards like a cone to the rooftop bar. Quite impressive. There was only one person at the check-inn counter which required a little waiting. The rooms require a magnetized stripe card which was not easy to use as it would repeatedly fail in both the elevator and the door to the room. The room itself was, again, very modern. Sadly it was too small and the desk area cramped. The bed was comfortable at least. It is not suitable for business travel but there are 'amenities' in the room which would keep couples and bachelors entertained. Not recommended for families. Entire place was very darkly lit, as if in an attempt to create mood but ended up being a strain on the eyes.

Room Tip: Try and get the largest room possible. Higher the better as it is on the Strand and has traffic on e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjtr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear tjtr80,
Thanks for such a lovely review, we feel very happy you enjoyed STK and Radio.
Definitely the trendiest places in town to be seen! Our concierge team is always a delight, they will make sure your wishes and desires become a reality! We call the check in area The Atrium, as you mentioned, the architecture of Sir Norman Foster is astonishing, I hope you had time to see the lightshow hosted in the atrium at 20h. The key cards are sometimes demagnetised if they are kept next to the phone we are sorry if this caused you any inconvenience. All the rooms are fully equipped for business and leisure guest as we understand that every guest is different, next time you come, I suggest you to try one of our chic suites, with enough space to organise you meetings or parties if you prefer. Thank you again for sharing your review with the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times since it opened and it really is a stunning and unique property. Everyone is warm, friendly and welcoming but unfortunately I did not feel valued as a loyalty card member because it was not noted on my booking that I was entitled to a 2pm check-out. I understand that these things happen but what was unforgivable was the fact that a member of the housekeeping staff entered my room in the morning WITHOUT KNOCKING FIRST! Luckily I was decent but I really wasn't happy! That being said, I would definitely stay there again as, from experience, the hotel team are committed to resolving issues...even if a quick response is not always forthcoming!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Ama W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hello Ama W,

Thank you ever so much for writing your feedback for us to read.

Although we are delighted to see that your roverall stay with us was a positive one we are always disappointed whenever we just fall shy of that 100% mark.

It's a perk of our loyalty program to have the option to check out at a later time and we are investigating as to why it was not the case in this instance.

We are overjoyed that our service was able to win you over in the end and we ask you to please drop us an email at melondon@melia.com should you wish to go into further detail.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you once again through our doors hopefully sooner than later.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#41 of 1,069 in London
2,141 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#37 of 1,069 in London
4,663 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME London Hotel

Property: ME London Hotel
Address: 336 - 337 Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — ME London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the action and near the city’s main theatres, exclusive boutiques, fashionable hot spots and trendy night clubs, ME London is one of the leading hotels in the centre of London. It is contemporary and cutting edge in style and located in one of the most important tourist destinations in the world. Designed by the world famous architects Foster + Partners, amongst its fantastic services and facilities, ME London provides 157 exquisitely designed, modern guestrooms including 16 suites, New York restaurant STK London, Radio Rooftop Bar with outdoor terrace and spectacular panoramic views of London (London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Tower Bridge, Covent Garden) and Marconi Lounge, 7 meeting rooms measuring 500 m2 with capacity for up to 300 people and a separate reception area; a modern, fully equipped gym, open 24 hours a day and complimentary high speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ME London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing